We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Got Lucky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We Got Lucky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Our trip plans changed a little and we didn't have a reservation for one night in St Ignace. Every place in town had no vacancy signs. We walked I thinking we would hear no and they just had an opening as I walked through the door. The place was full but we didn't hear anyone. Very, very friendly front desk staff! Close to the casino. Clean and well kept.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pjcarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for the nice review! I'm glad you found our staff friendly, helpful and everything to be clean. I'm happy we had a place for you on a busy weekend. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
31
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Even though the front desk was very friendly and helpful, we felt very dissatisfied. As we pull up to our room the door was open as they were just cleaning it. Since it was on the first floor, a chipmunk ran into the room. Someone had to chase it out. That was unnerving right there.The beds were hard and uncomfortable. It had an old musty smell in room and my friend had to take an allergy pill. There were 3 bugs climbing on the wall that we had to kill. Then we were told we should have wi- fi in the rooms but there was none. We had to step outside and walk near the office to get wi- fi. A very disappointing stay. I would have asked for another room but was told they were sold out as was every other motel along the way. We will not stay there again. Way overpriced for such outdated rooms. Even the carpet was torn and wearing away. Couldn't wait to leave out of that room with bugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
I'm very sorry your were dissatisfied with your stay. We have a contract with a bug/pest control company that sprays monthly for nature's little nuisances, so we do try to stay on top of that issue. We are consistently making updates to our rooms to keep our guests happy and satisfied with their stay. I'm glad that our front desk staff was very helpful to you and I hope you give us another try someday. Thanks for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Rooms are nice and clean, continental breakfast was included in the reasonable rate. Even though we liked the room and the hotel's location, the breakfast room is far too small for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. I'm happy you found our motel to be very clean and reasonably priced. The breakfast room can seem small at times but we do have picnic tables outside for people to enjoy on nice days. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowlerville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here after reading other reviews and would stay here in the future. Good location with Lake Huron access across the street. Nice clean room priced reasonable. There are plenty of towels in the room along with hair dryer, iron, soap, and shampoo. The only thing we found missing is no conditioner with the shampoo. We found the beds nice and firm without being too hard. Their breakfast is very nice with hot and cold items. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are headed to the island, get the Mackinac Money Bag offered at the front desk. There is a two for one ferry coupon that more than pays for the bag along with several other coupons for food and attractions.

Room Tip: They have pet friendly room and no pet rooms which is good if your are allergic to pet dander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimK454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Mackinac Money Bag. It is a great deal if you are planning a trip to Mackinac Island. We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight recently. It is not the fanciest motel in St Ignace but your not paying for fancy either. Prices are reasonable, rooms are clean, location is great. Gounds were kept clean and they even have a small continental breakfast room. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dexter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and the nice review. You're right, we aren't the fanciest of motels but we strive to keep our guests happy with very clean rooms and a helpful staff. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Clean and very reasonable! The staff was quite pleasant. The hotel does offer an indoor heated pool which was good since being on the lake and chilly evenings. The outside was maintained as well as the rooms. They offer both a hot and cold breakfast bar. We would definitely choose this hotel again!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LORInPAT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our motel to be very clean. Thank you for the great review and I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have stayed here several times and have just booked again. This Hotel is awesome from those who work there to its' location! Always friendly and willing to help with all questions! Thanks for always making me feel at home :)
Angela H

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the repeat business and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.9 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#19 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Property: America's Best Value Inn
Address: 1074 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America's Best Value Inn of St. Ignace, offering spacious and comfortable hotel rooms at very affordable rates. All rooms have queen or king size beds, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, hair dryers, and cable TV. Some rooms also have whirlpool spas. A full kitchen suite is also available and guests must call direct to reserve. Guests can enjoy a free breakfast bar, high speed wireless Internet, as well as other amenities such as indoor pool, whirlpool spa, sundeck, and coin laundry. Close to shopping, local attractions, and restaurants, with complimentary shuttles to nearby Mackinac Island ferry docks and Kewadin Shores Casino. In addition to the casino and ferry dock shuttle services, we also offer ferry discounts, and the popular Mackinaw Money Bag. Inquire at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing