We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Everyone at this Inn are very pleasant. The rooms are clean. The pool is very nice, and it is heated. They have a Whirlpool right next to the pool, very nice, warm and relaxing. They serve a continental breakfast with a bit more things, such as biscuits and gravy! (my big down fall!) lots to choose from in there. We have come up here for the last 4 years and every stay was very pleasant!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for the nice review. It's wonderful to see you every year for the car show. See you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 130 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August of 2013 for a 2 day trip to Mackinac Island. It's not the fanciest hotel, but we booked it for a good deal online. The staff at the front desk were very nice and accomodating, and the room we booked had 2 queen beds (although this was unnecessary). When we travel, we're simply looking for a clean, safe place to sleep for the night, and that's what this hotel provided. Parking was easy, and it was just a short distance to each of the ferry lines to Mackinac Island. After we settled in late the first night, we headed to the casino (very easy to find) and had free play money from the hotel. Breakfast was simple but a decent selection, I'd recommend if the hotel is busy though getting a plate and going to your room as the dining area is fairly small. The only complaint I do have is that the beds were pretty rock solid-not the most comfortable place to sleep if you've been hiking on the island all day. Like I said though-our requirement is safe and clean, and this hotel excels at both. I'd recommend buying the deal bag that they offer at the front desk-you get BOGO ferry tickets and can save a good deal of money, plus a few other useful deals. It pays itself off in one ferry ticket. I would stay here again if we took another trip to the area.

Room Tip: It might be best to get one on the upper floor-we could hear our upstairs neighbors stomping around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you found our motel to be a clean, safe place to stay. You're right, the Mackinac Money Bag is a great deal for our guests, especially if they are planning a trip to Mackinac Island. Everyone has their own personal preference when it comes to beds, I'm sorry you thought ours were a bit too hard. We hope to see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my way through this area. I was traveling with two pets, and they accommodated them for a nominal fee - which was appreciated. The rooms are large, beds are reasonably comfortable and amenities all work. My only complaint is that you can hear everything that is happening in the neighbouring rooms, above & below. Seems to be a place where workers are staying during the week - therefore, they are up early and so are you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runnechic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came through Saint Ignace on our way from Wisconsin to New York. We decided to stay at America's Best Value Inn for the night on our way through. The hotel seemed extremely overpriced for the condition of the room. We paid over $120. Everything seemed out of date and not that clean. I expected more for the price. Breakfast was in a separate building and the eating area only had about 6 tables. I thought this was very strange since it appeared that there was about 100 rooms at this property. Once we got to New York, we staying in a Best Western hotel for only $70 a night and looked and felt brand new. On a more positive not, I was happy with the check-in process. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsME43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed two nights @ the Inn while on vacation. From check-in to check out staff was very friendly. Enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hot tub and pool we enjoyable, the rooms were clean and orderly. We are planning on returning again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights on our vacation. From the call that I made to make reservations to the check out process everything was fantastic. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a pet friendly hotel that treated our four legged family member as a part of our family. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were up during the tractor show so the hotel was a little noisy the first night but that is to be expected on a very busy weekend. The next night was really quiet. This Inn is on the North side of town so it gets you away from the very busy town. You can walk across the street and enjoy the water, so you do not have to pay waterfront rates to enjoy the waterfront. We definitely will stay again because of the reasonable rates at a fantastic Inn. Staff definitely deserves a thumbs up for making this property the great property that it is. Keep up the great service-from front desk to housekeeping and breakfast bar attendant(everyone).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review and staying with us. I'm happy you found everyone so helpful and you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the inn over labor day weekend because we were doing the "Walk the Bridge" and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean, the beds were a little too hard but that can be expected. The breakfast was good and diverse, however the breakfast room was very small. I guess everyone came down at once when it opened at 7. The breakfast hours could have been a little earlier, because the walk started at 7, but the breakfast lady told us we could come earlier that they didn't want her to start until 6:30 at the earliest. However the room was opened earlier, but we had to heat everything ourselves. The front desk lady was super nice and even let me call home on her cellphone because our service provider didn't work up there. All and all, when we come back next year I would stay there again, unless I find an earlier breakfast room offering. The pool and hot tub very clean. The Ac did act a little funky
and the other hotel guests kind of partied outside our room, but definitely not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. I'm sorry about the breakfast hours, we will be changing that for next season. I'm so happy to hear that you found our rooms to be very clean, comfortable and our staff so friendly. That is exactly what we love to hear! We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
2 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 1074 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1011
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $80 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America's Best Value Inn of St. Ignace, offering spacious and comfortable hotel rooms at very affordable rates. All rooms have queen or king size beds, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, hair dryers, and cable TV. Some rooms also have whirlpool spas. A full kitchen suite is also available and guests must call direct to reserve. Guests can enjoy a free breakfast bar, high speed wireless Internet, as well as other amenities such as indoor pool, whirlpool spa, sundeck, and coin laundry. Close to shopping, local attractions, and restaurants, with complimentary shuttles to nearby Mackinac Island ferry docks and Kewadin Shores Casino. In addition to the casino and ferry dock shuttle services, we also offer ferry discounts, and the popular Mackinaw Money Bag. Inquire at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing