We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights on our vacation. From the call that I made to make reservations to the check out process everything was fantastic. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a pet friendly hotel that treated our four legged family member as a part of our family. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were up during the tractor show so the hotel was a little noisy the first night but that is to be expected on a very busy weekend. The next night was really quiet. This Inn is on the North side of town so it gets you away from the very busy town. You can walk across the street and enjoy the water, so you do not have to pay waterfront rates to enjoy the waterfront. We definitely will stay again because of the reasonable rates at a fantastic Inn. Staff definitely deserves a thumbs up for making this property the great property that it is. Keep up the great service-from front desk to housekeeping and breakfast bar attendant(everyone).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review and staying with us. I'm happy you found everyone so helpful and you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for America's Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the inn over labor day weekend because we were doing the "Walk the Bridge" and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean, the beds were a little too hard but that can be expected. The breakfast was good and diverse, however the breakfast room was very small. I guess everyone came down at once when it opened at 7. The breakfast hours could have been a little earlier, because the walk started at 7, but the breakfast lady told us we could come earlier that they didn't want her to start until 6:30 at the earliest. However the room was opened earlier, but we had to heat everything ourselves. The front desk lady was super nice and even let me call home on her cellphone because our service provider didn't work up there. All and all, when we come back next year I would stay there again, unless I find an earlier breakfast room offering. The pool and hot tub very clean. The Ac did act a little funky
and the other hotel guests kind of partied outside our room, but definitely not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review. I'm sorry about the breakfast hours, we will be changing that for next season. I'm so happy to hear that you found our rooms to be very clean, comfortable and our staff so friendly. That is exactly what we love to hear! We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at America's Best Value Inn in St. Ignace MI on a holiday weekend. The rooms were very clean. The kids and my husband & I liked the pool and hot tub. It is a very family oriented hotel. Breakfast in the morning; picnic tables outside to eat on. Nice!! I was impressed because it was all of the above and at a reasonable price. We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm glad you found everything very clean and affordable. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Inn was perfect for our vacation to Mackinac Island! Very clean and comfortable rooms and offers a nice continental breakfast . Not far from town and ferries, quiet and right across the street from the lake with a beautiful view. We liked the location. Staff was very friendly and accomadating. Did I mention the indoor pool with hot tub? Was never too crowded either!! St Ignace offers a lot with less traffic!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review and for staying with us. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The A/C in the room would stop working sometimes,the bathtub was dirty and not clean.As soon as we walked in,we noticed a "funk" smell in the room and the spiders going around in the bathroom was a turn off as well.We could have spent the same amount of money at a SUPER 8 but it wasn't pet friendly in st. ignace.The beds were super hard and the old school blurry TV needed to be thrown in the trash.We gave up on the room at 3am and left to go home and we will not be coming back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wawadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am very sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay. Our property is serviced monthly to manage insects and spiders. They are attracted to light and really isn't much that can be done about nature's little pests swarming around outside lights. I'm sorry that your room was not as clean as you would have liked. We've taken care of that problem. I hope you can try us again sometime. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews of this property my wife booked us a room atthe America's Best Value Inn in St. Ignace for $126.00 (that included taxes and fees. It's summertime in Northern Michagan, so I was ok with the price. There are way more expensive places to stay in St. Ignace, but we were hoping our choice would be amazing. I'm pretty sure we could've made a better choice.

Like one of the other reviewers noted, it's average at best...older decor, smallish rooms. I have a tendency to write only positive reviews, but at my social coordinator's behest, I submit another laundry list of downsides to this particular property. Read all the way to the bottom for what I thought worked out ok here....

1. Carpet was a but older, and the floor in our unit (229) had a divot just off the bathroom side bed (under the carpet) that lead for a bit of speculation as to whether or not we might visit the guests below at some in-oppornute moment.

2. Hair on the shower drain. According to the bathroom inspector, not hers. She doesn't make this kind of thing up.

3. Hard bed. I have to concur with her on this one. For $126 I'm hoping for a pretty awesome bed. This did not bode well for a great night of sleep.

4.. AlC not so great at night. Complaints included not cool enough when set at high.

Nothing enough to complain to the owners/management about, though. If you're in the business you know what keeps 'em coming back, and it seems like this place appeals to a lot of folks. Probably just not a good fit for us.

Ok, on a happier note - (now we'll see who reads all the way to the end) The hot tub at this place is one of the hottest hot tubs I've ever been in - had to be running 115+ The front desk lady said she's turn it down - good service at the front desk, for sure (as many others have mentioned)
Check inn was a breeze...young man who took care of us made sure we were informed that after 11pm any service calls would be handled by the staff who are across the street (they own that property too)
The social atmosphere at this place was cool. There were a lot of bikers there and everyone seemed to be having a good time sitting outside their rooms and generally enjoying the awesome summer weather and themselves.
I'm not sure what happened with the Air Conditioner...it was cool outside and I managed to not freeze...just wanted to get my two cents in here. Everyone's got their own level of comfort when it comes to A/C.... I like it very cold.

Everyone has their own standard for the price paid....that being said, I didn't feel like I got what I paid for here. The sign at the front desk clearly stated that they charge 10-15 dollars more than competing properties and that the extra amenities are worth it.

Harleys are loud when they start up. Sleeping through that can be arduous, but it's summer time in northern michigan, so se la vie!! It's a good sound...:-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troutdogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I wish you had a more pleasant stay . Our air conditioners are controlled with a thermostat and come on and off to stay at a controlled temperature. Everyone has a different preference when it comes to bed comfort, that is why sleep number beds are so popular. I'm glad our staff was friendly and helpful to you. Thanks again for staying with us. I hope you can try us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

August 2013 - one night stay -on a motorcycle trip. In the morning, the staff had a towel hanging on the motorcycle handlebar so we could wipe down the bike (wet from dew). What a treat to be taken care of. Granted, they didn't want use to use their white room towels, but to automatically have a towel right there was fantastic! The room was clean and comfortable, continental breakfast was good, and a indoor pool and hot-tub ..... and the price -- LESS THAN $95.00 for a Summer Rate.
If you haven't stayed there before, give them a try - - the STAFF is there for their Guests .... I WILL BE BACK THERE!!!

Room Tip: requested a room on ground floor so we could park the motorcycle in front and see it from the room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I'm very happy you were pleased with our staff. We strive to offer the best possible service to each and every guest. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
212 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 1074 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1011
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $74 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America's Best Value Inn of St. Ignace, offering spacious and comfortable hotel rooms at very affordable rates. All rooms have queen or king size beds, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, hair dryers, and cable TV. Some rooms also have whirlpool spas. A full kitchen suite is also available and guests must call direct to reserve. Guests can enjoy a free breakfast bar, high speed wireless Internet, as well as other amenities such as indoor pool, whirlpool spa, sundeck, and coin laundry. Close to shopping, local attractions, and restaurants, with complimentary shuttles to nearby Mackinac Island ferry docks and Kewadin Shores Casino. In addition to the casino and ferry dock shuttle services, we also offer ferry discounts, and the popular Mackinaw Money Bag. Inquire at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing