We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Place to Stay & Glad I Picked it for a 4 night stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of America's Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
London, England
Level Contributor
399 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place to Stay & Glad I Picked it for a 4 night stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had intended to stay in Mackinaw City but the prices were way too high, so I settled on St Ignace and the ABVI, which, whilst it was not on the lakeside, offered the best value and it turned out to be a good choice. My room was at the end of the second floor with outside walkway with a handily placed chair from which I could see through the opposite buildings to the lake. The current owner also owns the opposite property and I was encouraged to use their lakeside facility.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and my only criticism would be the size of the Breakfast Room which was inadequate for the number of guests.
My room was very quiet, clean & comfortable, all I could have asked for.
Unlike one of the previous reviewers I enjoyed playing with Rosie (the black lab) each morning when I used the business centre.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A room facing the road will afford a view of Lake Huron
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    22
    14
    2
See reviews for
37
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The room wasn't the greatest, it needed some fresh mattresses (one box spring was really stained). The bathroom needed some fresh paint. The room smelled musty but that usually is the case in small motels. The staff was excellent, friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights. The breakfast was ok, if you don't mind mini everything. I would recommend that they offer a larger coffee cup for one thing. Maybe a few more tables outside the breakfast area as it was cramped in the small building. I really enjoyed the dog behind the desk- she was friendly and cute. The price was very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Took a weekend trip to the UP and stayed at this place when the highest ratest Tripadvisor places were booked. The room was spacious and clean. Free breakfast more than adequate. There's a good mexican restaurant across the street. It's 1 1/2 miles into the downtown from the motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomdibling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I walked into the office to see a sign that says no pets, but yet the girl at the desk is playing with a black lab behin the desk that just run out from behind it and jumps on guest.. What if people are allergic? My daughter is and that dog jumped on her and the girl didn't say anything. Everythig else was great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Decent lodging, and the front desk saved us $25 by giving us a coupon for 2 for 1 on the Arnold Line ferry to Mackinac Island. Beds were firm but I'm ok with that. It IS across the street from Lake Huron, but there are many places ON the lake if that's your bag. As others have said, their continental breakfast is minimal so head for McDonalds that's what we did....I gotta have a substantial breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room so ya don't have to lug yer stuff upstairs,eh?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Not the cleanest or most comfortable place to stay but affordable for the area.
The room was very musty/moldy smelling. Couldnt put anything in the drawers due to them smelling like dirty wet clothes were left in them!! Gross. The whole family was congested and sneezing whenever we were in the room. Walls are thin. Beds basic. Pool was questionable. Foggy appearance with white foam floating on top. Walked into the breakfast bar & walked right back out.
Coffee pots nasty and dirty.
I would pay the extra amount for comfort and better amenities.

Room Tip: SPLURGE! if you choose to stay then get on the second level. Like I said if you just need a quick pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sincerely_yours_2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very basic clean room. They say they have "extra's" but not, it's just the basic's. Very light breakfast,NOT a FULL breakfast, cold cereal, mini muffins/bagels, boiled eggs, coffee, juice. But there was no coffee ay 930am. Price line $52 a night.

Room Tip: if u just need a room to sleep and shower. It will work for u.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baraboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Property: America's Best Value Inn
Address: 1074 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America's Best Value Inn of St. Ignace, offering spacious and comfortable hotel rooms at very affordable rates. All rooms have queen or king size beds, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, hair dryers, and cable TV. Some rooms also have whirlpool spas. A full kitchen suite is also available and guests must call direct to reserve. Guests can enjoy a free breakfast bar, high speed wireless Internet, as well as other amenities such as indoor pool, whirlpool spa, sundeck, and coin laundry. Close to shopping, local attractions, and restaurants, with complimentary shuttles to nearby Mackinac Island ferry docks and Kewadin Shores Casino. In addition to the casino and ferry dock shuttle services, we also offer ferry discounts, and the popular Mackinaw Money Bag. Inquire at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing