We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place! Stay, eat & lounge! Great Location!--laura t” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn of Saint Ignace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Inn of Saint Ignace
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Maple Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Awesome place! Stay, eat & lounge! Great Location!--laura t”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with 2 teenage boys. Air worked amazing! Not that we needed it! Cools down beautifully at night on the Bay. We had a balcony suite! Highly recommend it! GREAT VIEW! Staff spoiled the teenagers. Joyce Rocks!!! Switched her TV so the boys could play X-Box and watch movies at night when they weren't people watching for young ladies on the Boardwalk or the Pier right across the road : ) Food is also great! Get the brushetta! Visited the restaurant and lounge previously also! The staff really takes care of you, they are personable, friendly and go way out of their way to make your stay great!! Highly recommend joining the staff for shift drink at 10 pm! Lots of fun! GREAT LOCATION!! Can walk to anything you want! And you can see the fireworks on Saturdays from the balcony! Parasailing across the road and ferry! Wow miss it already! Cannot wait to go back and stay longer!!!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a great view! But the other rooms are great too previewed them on a previous tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeangel, Manager at Village Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to make every guests stay enjoyable as possible. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    31
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

we didnt stay at hotel, but ate there. Excellent food and service. Best whitefish ever. Hubby got olive burger and onion rings which were great too. nice place! Waitress was super nice as was hostess.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msshakepeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, they should CAGE fight the the bugs here, they are big, its a better bar than anything else and the ac in the motel room didn't work, hmmmmm well discount here? Uhh NOPE and the shower had lots of inhabitants the next night we went to the moran bay much better there nd cheaper!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zombytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeangel, Manager at Village Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Village Inn. I have spoken with my staff and it does not seem like anyone approached them about an air conditioner that did not work or ask for a discount. Our air conditioner/heaters must be adjusted a certain way or the a/c compressor will not work. We would like to offer you another stay at the Village Inn if you contact us personally. Thank you for your review. Joyce 906-643-3364
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

hi--
great location if you are going to use a ferry to get to mackinac. also, VERY clean and friendly staff. great, hot fresh muffins (though wish they were there earlier) for breakfast. It is quaint and reasonably priced. It really is an "inn" -not a motel or hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the lake... and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeangel, Manager at Village Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We always strive to do our best for each guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Village Inn is like the hotels of yesteryear. You can't make a reservation online, you must call. I called and talked to Joyce to book the room. She told me they only have 15 rooms and asked if I wanted a balcony. I told her I did. She asked if I would be going to Mackinac Island and I told her we were; she gave me some good tips.

One tip when you arrive, go all the way around to the back. The restaurant is in the front. When we arrived it was around 10 am and Joyce was there. Our room wasn't ready yet but Joyce gave us a key to get in when we got back from our visit to the island. She also kept our motorcycle helmets and called the ferry shuttle to pick us up. Now, the key is the old mechanical kind so when you put it in the door you have to leave it in when you turn the knob.

Later, when we got back, Joyce was still there. She said that she put the helmets in our room for us. The Village only has 4 balcony rooms in the front of the hotel so we were lucky to get one of these. I believe they also have a Jacuzzi room or two as well.

Our room was clean but was not modernized at all. It still had the small TV, no flat screen but I didn't really care, it was like a blast from the past and I went with it. One interesting thing was the toiletries in the bathroom...there was a nice body scrub that I put on my hands, nice! By the way, there is no ice maker. You must go down to the bar to get ice. There is a door that leads right to the bar! They are nice there and will help you.

The best part of the room was the balcony. It was big enough for two and contained two plastic Adirondack chairs. We set out there after our dinner. We had seen signs about fireworks on Saturday nights during the summer. We just sat out there drinking wine and watched the fireworks over the lake. Then we watched as the cars came by after the fireworks and we didn't even have to leave our room!

But the best part about the balcony was the next morning when we went out there to see the sunrise. Oh my goodness, it was a beautiful red orange and came up right next to the lighthouse! We captured the whole thing on camera right from our room.

At 8:00 they serve nice blueberry muffins in a little area with a coffee maker and microwave. The muffins were good. The only problem is, if you run the microwave, which I did to make hot tea, it will shut off the power to the microwave and the coffee pot. I had to keep flipping the switch. The lady in the bar showed me how to do this.

I really liked the quaintness and hospitality and as the title implies, Joyce is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrpamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgeangel, Manager at Village Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We strive to give each individual the best service we can offer daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

When booking the room, i wasn't sure above a bar would be ok. Surprise it wasn't loud and was a great place to stay. I will stay again. The food was great , get the maui chicken, yum. The rooms were nice and big. They only had colored tv which is common for the u.p. the customer service was wonderful. Only suggestion i have is a early drop off location for keys, we left around 7am. I slide my keys under the door, but wished for a drop box.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Must try the fried green beans!! && check out all the awesome pictures they have through out the place! Very close to ferry lines like all bar in st.ignace but rooms are right upstairs! If you want a peaceful atmosphere go to the v.i!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyfoodlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#10 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#15 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn of Saint Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Saint Ignace

Property: Village Inn of Saint Ignace
Address: 250 S State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1620
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to serve Mackinac Island visitors, Auto/Truck Show revelers, outdoor sports enthusiasts and local patrons alike, we offer a friendly atmosphere for you to relax and enjoy your time here in Michigan's beautiful and historic Upper Peninsula! Great spot for snowmobilers, we are located near the main UP trail. Offering great facilities for dining, drinking and meeting with your friends, family and colleagues. Our restaurant serves a wide variety of regional cuisine, and is home to the famous "Planked Whitefish." Come Check us out! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing