We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zip Line!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mystery Spot

Mystery Spot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Macomb
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Zip Line!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My family had never zip lined before so we thought we would give it a try. It's a bit expensive at $17/person but what the heck you are on vacation. The workers were wonderful!! My one son was too scared to go and the were very nice to him. After he got down, he said he wanted to try again. They took the time to go back up there with him. Needless to say he chickened out again but the staff there was wonderful. That's one thing you can say about the UP, people are wonderful! The Mystery spot is something you have to so at least once in your life. Yes it's a cheesy presentation and all optical illusion but it's pretty cool especially for the kids. The maze and golf aren't worth your time unless you have time to waste

Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    111
    49
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid if Possible...or Check it Off Your Bucket List If You Must”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our kids were curious about the place for years, and I've seen the signs for decades. We had a few hours to spare on our way home and it was not that far away, so we decided to go. As far as the "mystery" goes, it really boils down to clever construction. I will say that the owners did invest in a new structure around the Mystery Spot, and the store and grounds are very clean and tidy, and the staff is friendly and pleasant. The store has Mystery Spot branded items and all the other to be expected tacky made in China touristy stuff you can get at any other shop anywhere in northern Michigan. Prices for that were reasonable I thought. The tour itself is highly scripted by affable summer college kids, who did a decent job keeping the younger kids engaged. We did not do the zip line or mini-golf, but did do the wood maze across the street, which was worth skipping. It was a lightning fast way to drop $40.00.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlsberg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great to be able say that you've been to...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We took our kids and they enjoyed it. It has been a few years since we went. I'd agree that the tour is a little cheesy but if the tour guide is good, he/she can make it worth the price. Most of it is an optical illusion. I'd say that they need to improve upon their training of employees to make it more fun. It's worth it either way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for smaller kids and kids at heart!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went with 2 adults and 2 kids 6 and 3. Took the tour, mini golf, and the maze....$10 ea for adults.....6 year old $8....and 5 and under FREE!!!

Good gift shop it has the usual stuff we grabbed a couple kids tshirts off the rack for $6 ea.

The tour was cheezy although the building has been improved since I have returned. My kids were really involved in the tour and tried a few of the tricks......they really liked it.

Mini golf was fun...a well maintained course......nothing spectacular but fun.

The maze was very simple and short....perfect for our kids.

We did not do the zip lines.

Overall a very fun time.......I can understand older kids not liking it.......I thought the value was good...i have played inferior putt putt golf for $6ea just the golf.......the maze is old and simple again good for little kids and not for older ones. And cant beat a Mystery Spot tshirt for $6!

If you have teenagers maybe try something else.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kozmonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Pretty much a tourist trap for you to spend money. There's two ziplines and mini golf but we just went for the Mystery Spot. You have to wait in groups for some young girls who memorized lines to walk you through a crooked building. They take you through rooms and due experiments to prove the Mystery but it truly feels like a hoax. For $8 a person, save your money and go see other better attractions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystery Spot also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mystery Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing