We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean”
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our way home from a trip to the UP. The lady we dealt with was very friendly and made it a point to call us by name. We had room #9, which had an amazing view of the lake. The room was spacious and very cozy. The location is close to restaurants and shops, as well as right on the beach. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmwum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was our first trip to St. Ignace and we were totally caught off guard with this Motel. Words can not express how beautiful it is. From the breath-taking sunsets/sunrises to the relaxing "camp like" feel of the bon-fire on the beach - an amazing place to let your hair down and enjoy the company of loved ones.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfriedt374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I did lots of research before booking this motel. I wasn't disappointed. While this is an older motel, it is immaculate. The location is wonderful. Paula goes out of her way to make everyone feel at home. We roasted marshmallows with some other travelers at a bon-fire on the beach. It was so cozy as the night was a bit cool. Can't imagine why anyone would want to pay the higher prices at most of the other hotels/motels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We loved it so much, we stayed again, on our way back.
Paula, the site manager was the heart of this motel.
Clean, quiet and scenic, this rare-find should be rated "5-star".
While the entire property rests on a quiet end of the shore, four rooms have picture windows that soak in the waves and sunrise.

If you pass-by, thinking that the Bay View Motel is "just another motel", you will have missed an opportunity to watch the sun rise, over Lake Huron and your own private beach, where your four-leggeds are welcome. Then again, if you pass-by and miss this, chances are better that "our room" will be available, when we come back, again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bay View Motel. Although the decor is dated, the motel is charming, clean and comfortable. The motel has a small beach where I swam with my 5 year old niece. I also dipped my 4 month old daughter's toes in Lake Huron for the 1st time. The lake view is beautiful. The price was great - we had two rooms, each under $60!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycamper1956
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2009

My husband and I had been there before, and just found it the best quaint small but has everything you could want for the perfect getaway on beautiful Lake Huron. We decided to come back and get married on the beach! It was just the most wonderful wedding ever! Thanks to Paula who manages the motel, to make everything simply perfect!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We spent one night here on our way to Mackinac Island. It is an older facility-with a newer addtion to one side of it. It meets my criteria: Cleanliness,location and value and met my husband's criteria of WIFI!
We had room 19 (with large picture window overlooking the beach. it was glorious to watch the sun rise over the lake from our room in the morning. Read earlier reviews about rooms-they say it all. Our bathroom was SMALL (as in a cruise ship), but other rooms have larger bathrooms.The proprietors are to be commended for the upkeep on the property and for their willingness to please their customers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
K Royale Lakefront Inn
K Royale Lakefront Inn
#21 of 29 in Saint Ignace
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Property: Bay View Motel
Address: 1133 N State St, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1012
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Visit Our Place Located On Lake Huron With A Sandy Beach And Nitely Bonfires, Our Rooms In The Main Court Are Done In Notty Pine So You Get That Up North Feeling , Also We Have Rooms On The Beach . No Matter Which Room You Are In You Get A Wonderful View , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing