We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay for 5 adults, 1 child, and 1 infant”
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay for 5 adults, 1 child, and 1 infant”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bay View Motel. Although the decor is dated, the motel is charming, clean and comfortable. The motel has a small beach where I swam with my 5 year old niece. I also dipped my 4 month old daughter's toes in Lake Huron for the 1st time. The lake view is beautiful. The price was great - we had two rooms, each under $60!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
happycamper1956
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2009

My husband and I had been there before, and just found it the best quaint small but has everything you could want for the perfect getaway on beautiful Lake Huron. We decided to come back and get married on the beach! It was just the most wonderful wedding ever! Thanks to Paula who manages the motel, to make everything simply perfect!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We spent one night here on our way to Mackinac Island. It is an older facility-with a newer addtion to one side of it. It meets my criteria: Cleanliness,location and value and met my husband's criteria of WIFI!
We had room 19 (with large picture window overlooking the beach. it was glorious to watch the sun rise over the lake from our room in the morning. Read earlier reviews about rooms-they say it all. Our bathroom was SMALL (as in a cruise ship), but other rooms have larger bathrooms.The proprietors are to be commended for the upkeep on the property and for their willingness to please their customers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at the Bay View for one night. While it was a tight squeeze, 2 adults, 2 boys and a dog, it was just fine for us. The room was older but charming and completely spotless. The owner was very friendly and helpful (brought us additional towels without even a request from us and refunded us $2 after a mistake when we checked in.) Our boys enjoyed swimming in the lake, although it's really just a little slip of a beach. If you're looking for great value on your trip up north, I would not hesitate to recommend the Bay View.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband and I came to St. Ignace with our two sons for one of the boys to participate in a wrestling tournament. Bay View's affordable price made it possible for us to stay a few extra days to enjoy some of the Upper Peninsula's sights. The rooms aren't fancy but very clean (I'm picky), and beds are comfortable. Our bedding and towels were replaced each day and our room was spotless. Paula was extremely friendly to us and our boys and even provided marshmallows for a beach bonfire. We really enjoyed our time at this mom & pop style of place. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauaibride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, MI
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My Family and I (husband, 4yr old and 90 pd Lab) made a quick trip to the U.P. over the 4th.
My search started out for a pet friendly place and what I found was a cozy little motel right on the water.
It is a Mom & Pop kinda place. Had the basics; beds, bathroom and T.V.
The staff friendly, the rooms clean, beds comfortable and there's complementary coffee in the office along with cookies. There's no little bottles of shampoo or hairdryers but the towels are still white and even soft. There are no phones in the room nor alarm clocks unless you ask for one.
We spent the evening with others guests sitting infront of the fire pit near the beach, eating smores and watching the fire works off in the distance.
Paula the owner was very personable and had the low down of the area.
All in all it made our list of places to stay while in St. Ignace.
TIP ** if you can, request room #9. Its an end unit with its outdoor chairs and table overlooking the water.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

First off, if you're expecting 4/5 star accommodations, stop reading now. This is an old "mom-n-pop" style motel, with a newer two-story addition on the south side. It's right on the water, and the rooms are your typical "Up north Michigan" sort of affairs. That's not to say it's bad... far from it. I love this place. We consider this one of two fave places to stay while in the St. Ignace area. (The other being the wonderful little "Melody Motel", just a little north of here on the same road.) No room phones, but you'll have TV. (Who needs a phone on vacation?) There's a pay phone at the office, but they'll usually let you use the office phone. The place is always clean (we've stayed there at least six times), and always peaceful. If you can, get one of the rooms at the water end of the motel. (It's in two lines) Those have the most windows and the best view. While there, eat at the North Bay Inn, just up the road. You can't beat their buffet deals, and you can watch planes coming/going at the little airport next door. (If there's any) I prefer the "older" part of the motel to the newer addition, but both are fine.

Beware the driveway. It immediately slopes down, and you could bottom out your car if you don't hit it at an angle.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
K Royale Lakefront Inn
K Royale Lakefront Inn
#21 of 29 in Saint Ignace
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Property: Bay View Motel
Address: 1133 N State St, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1012
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Visit Our Place Located On Lake Huron With A Sandy Beach And Nitely Bonfires, Our Rooms In The Main Court Are Done In Notty Pine So You Get That Up North Feeling , Also We Have Rooms On The Beach . No Matter Which Room You Are In You Get A Wonderful View , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing