We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
247 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Skip!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A website that has very few pictures on it of the actual rooms should tell you something. The majority of their pictures consist of sunsets and the buildings. It's the kind of place where you don't want to touch anything because you're not quite sure how good it actually gets cleaned. Rooms were small; the bathroom door rubs against the toilet when you try to open/shut it. We were very glad to leave the next day; guess the only perk is the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langreckd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

While passing through St. Ignace this week, we had the pleasure of staying at the BAY VIEW MOTEL. The rustic little rows of rooms are located right on Lake Huron and conveniently next door to a lively Mini Golf Course. The fantastic view of the water and quiet sandy beach made this stop unforgettable.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by proprietors Bob and Karen who took great pains to help us find all of the local hot spots and the hidden gems in the area. Loaded down with lots of coupons, discount tickets and even Casino tokens we were told exactly where to go and what to see! The room rates are also the fairest prices in town!
After a day of exploring the quaint little town, we were pleased to find many of the motel travelers gathered together trading stories at the nightly bonfire down on the beach.
I have to say that I was pleased to find the rooms spotless and the snow white sheets smelled CLEAN AND FRESH! It is not often that I will sleep in a motel bed without being clothed from head to toe. I must say I slept like a baby that night.
All in all, I have to recommend this place to anyone visiting St. Ignace in the near future. I only wish that we could have stayed a few more days. LOVED the BAY VIEW and will definitely stay there the next time we head to the UP. Thank you Bob and Karen your superb service and gracious hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a great weekend and what a great place to stay!!! The rooms are clean, the beach is wonderful, and the fire at night brings to end a wonderful day. We cooked out using their grill for 11 of us, more than helpful in everything you need. Thank you Karen (Bob was gone) she did a wonderful job. Very biker friendly.... Next time on our Harley trip up north we will stay there again....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrawmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we took our bike up there for 5 days and stayed for 8. Its awesome there. Bob and Karen are your host and they are great. Bon fires every nite. They have a gas grill so you dont have to eat out every night. The minature golf course is great. You can see the Mackinaw island from the great view from our room. Its a must place to go. We already have reservations for 2 weeks next year. Cant wait to get back there. We also met some great people at the Bay View.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I along with a couple of friends decided to go on vacation together this year. We decided to try Michigan and drove up the coast of Lake Michigan and then on to the UP. We stayed in hotels all along the way that left a lot to be desired but the best experience by far was at the Bay View in St. Ignace. The manager Bob was so kind and helpful to us. His wife was every bit as nice and went out of her way to give us "tourist" helpful and needed information about the area. We felt right at home as soon as we got out of the car. Other guest of the hotel greeted us on arrival and we all sat around the fire Bob made each night talking about our days adventures. No one was a stranger which was such a great change from most of my vacation experiences.

Our room was a surprise as it was so clean. There was not a lot of frills, such as fridge, ironing board, microwave. But they were not missed by us. For the price we paid not having those items was never an issue. The beach area was nice and we sat down by the water and watched as the sun set each night. We had reserved 2 nights but loved the place so much we extended our stay for a third night. And wished we had the time to add a few more.

I know that we will book at this place again next year. We are telling our family all about it and hope to stage a reunion there. If you you want the best in friendly service, a great location, a beach that is foot steps away, and a "make you feel at home attitude" you must stay at the Bay View. Thanks Bob and Karen for a wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were very happy with the wonderful managers, beautiful beach, clean room, and cozy campfire every night where we met nice friendly people from all over. The beach was great for our kids (ages 16 & 11). We didn't want to leave and are already planning our trip there for next year.

Room Tip: make reservations early for lakeview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 515SueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Bob and Karen Sparks know how to take care of their guests. Our rooms were clean and coffee was always percolating early each day. The way the motel rooms are positioned creates a real sense of neighborhood. We met great people (Karen W, Jim and Jan) and throughly enjoyed our two night stay. The view is incredible and swimming in Lake Huron was refreshing. Real slice of "Pure Michigan!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
K Royale Lakefront Inn
K Royale Lakefront Inn
#22 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Property: Bay View Motel
Address: 1133 N State St, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1012
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
come visit our place located on lake huron with a sandy beach and nitely bonfires, our rooms in the main court are done in notty pine so you get that up north feeling , also we have rooms on the beach . no matter which room you are in you get a wonderful view , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing