We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harley Weekend in St. Ignace, MI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Harley Weekend in St. Ignace, MI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a great weekend and what a great place to stay!!! The rooms are clean, the beach is wonderful, and the fire at night brings to end a wonderful day. We cooked out using their grill for 11 of us, more than helpful in everything you need. Thank you Karen (Bob was gone) she did a wonderful job. Very biker friendly.... Next time on our Harley trip up north we will stay there again....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrawmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    20
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we took our bike up there for 5 days and stayed for 8. Its awesome there. Bob and Karen are your host and they are great. Bon fires every nite. They have a gas grill so you dont have to eat out every night. The minature golf course is great. You can see the Mackinaw island from the great view from our room. Its a must place to go. We already have reservations for 2 weeks next year. Cant wait to get back there. We also met some great people at the Bay View.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I along with a couple of friends decided to go on vacation together this year. We decided to try Michigan and drove up the coast of Lake Michigan and then on to the UP. We stayed in hotels all along the way that left a lot to be desired but the best experience by far was at the Bay View in St. Ignace. The manager Bob was so kind and helpful to us. His wife was every bit as nice and went out of her way to give us "tourist" helpful and needed information about the area. We felt right at home as soon as we got out of the car. Other guest of the hotel greeted us on arrival and we all sat around the fire Bob made each night talking about our days adventures. No one was a stranger which was such a great change from most of my vacation experiences.

Our room was a surprise as it was so clean. There was not a lot of frills, such as fridge, ironing board, microwave. But they were not missed by us. For the price we paid not having those items was never an issue. The beach area was nice and we sat down by the water and watched as the sun set each night. We had reserved 2 nights but loved the place so much we extended our stay for a third night. And wished we had the time to add a few more.

I know that we will book at this place again next year. We are telling our family all about it and hope to stage a reunion there. If you you want the best in friendly service, a great location, a beach that is foot steps away, and a "make you feel at home attitude" you must stay at the Bay View. Thanks Bob and Karen for a wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were very happy with the wonderful managers, beautiful beach, clean room, and cozy campfire every night where we met nice friendly people from all over. The beach was great for our kids (ages 16 & 11). We didn't want to leave and are already planning our trip there for next year.

Room Tip: make reservations early for lakeview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 515SueB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Bob and Karen Sparks know how to take care of their guests. Our rooms were clean and coffee was always percolating early each day. The way the motel rooms are positioned creates a real sense of neighborhood. We met great people (Karen W, Jim and Jan) and throughly enjoyed our two night stay. The view is incredible and swimming in Lake Huron was refreshing. Real slice of "Pure Michigan!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, and were very happy with the Motel. They had a nice beach area with chairs, and a fire pit. The owner was very friendly and offered to start fires each night. There is a cute Mini-Golf course right next door. The Motel is far enough away from downtown to be quiet - but close enough that you get there in one minute if you drive. Gorgeous view of the lake. Air conditioner worked great. Wood paneled room. Nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyLaw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked this based off of the reviews from Tripadvisor, and I was pretty skeptical.. but it's such an adorable little place! The rooms are like a small little private cottage, and the view is gorgeous! not to mention the sandy beach and campfire down by the water. The owner is a fellow Jimmie Johnson and Nascar fan, and started a campfire for people at 8pm. Not a whole lot to the place, but it's clean and quaint, and all you need! Only cost us $59 a night, which is a steal! Haven't slept in the beds yet, but from testing them out they seem quite comfortable. We even have an air conditioner in the window! A stand up shower in the very small bathroom, but there's nothing else we could need. Definitely recommend here!
The town is also very nice and pretty, with flowers down the streets and neat and tidy store fromts. We asked the owner, Bob, for a suggestion on where to go for supper, and wow, was the Galley ever DELICIOUS, and huuugggeee portions!
Wish we could stay longer here, everyone is so friendly!

Room Tip: Our room, 19, and also room 9 have gorgeous views of the water, and from room 19 Im able to connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Property: Bay View Motel
Address: 1133 N State St, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1012
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
come visit our place located on lake huron with a sandy beach and nitely bonfires, our rooms in the main court are done in notty pine so you get that up north feeling , also we have rooms on the beach . no matter which room you are in you get a wonderful view , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing