We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Bay View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Motel
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This motel has its own sandy cove beach. Yesterday evening, some of the other guests and I sat around a campfire on the beach and watched the moon rise over Lake Huron, with the sky bright with stars. The campfire is close enough to the water's edge to hear the sound of water lapping gently on the shore. Earlier in the evening wild white swans and Canadian geese swam by. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the pictures on the wall are soothing. I have stayed in several places in St. Ignace. This is my favorite because you can have the comfort of a motel and the closeness to the beauty of nature of camping. The lake is right outside, the view from the chair I am sitting in is of a gorgeous lake and lake shore. Room is clean and comfortable. It was so enjoyable to sit around the campfire with the other guests last night, listening to the water, watching the moon.

Room Tip: Room 21 is the perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azalea0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Rustic, clean, and great economical place to stay. The two end rooms are the best. One has a queen bed and high ceilings with a fan which is nice. The other had two beds, a lower ceiling and you have to look over some parked cars to see the lake. The lake shore fire was very nice. I would definitely stay again. Be sure to eat at JavaJoe's.

Room Tip: Write down your quoted rate. I called 3 times over a period of 3 weeks and was given 3 rates. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a great little place! The rooms are great in the older buildings, knotty pine, truly a quaint little place. Very clean and everybody there, guests and staff, are so friendly. There's a nice little beach for guests to use as well as a fire pit close to the beach. If you are on a motorcycle, be aware that the driveway is a bit of a surprise getting back out if you are not a seasoned rider! Go at it sideways when you exit....I learned my lesson there!

We are looking forward to going back with our rider friends, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keely01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed at Bay View Motel for one night 7-28-2011 as my husband was at the Mackinac Straits Hospital across the street and WOW was I impressed and would come back again just to get away from it all and enjoy peace and quiet and the serene beach and view of the water with Mackinac Island in the background. It was truly awesome. The room was neat and tidy, and Paula the manager was very efficient and pleasant. My 3-year old Golden Retriever Sunrise sure enjoyed the sunrise we were blessed with the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeribaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The stay was great! We called when we were an hour away and you can't beat the price. The view is awesome. Paulette or Pauline...I can't remember her name was awesome. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a deal! Clean & great little beach area. Good value for a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaradelL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a beautiful get away... we thought it was a secret ..... but I think it is out! We have our fondest memories staying with the folks who run this place they are kind and friendly, we are going on our 7th year of spending all our time in St Ignace staying with them, we are never dissapointed ! The rooms are exceptionaly clean the location is just far enough away... but close to everything! The cost is reasonable.. we could pay more.. but would never have as beautiful memories! Thanks guys you are awesome...Wendy and Daniel Otremba <3

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otremba181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
1 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
1 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2.2 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 St. Ignace
Super 8 St. Ignace
#3 of 29 in Saint Ignace
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Motel

Address: 1133 N State St, on Lake Huron, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1012
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $49 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Visit Our Place Located On Lake Huron With A Sandy Beach And Nitely Bonfires, Our Rooms In The Main Court Are Done In Notty Pine So You Get That Up North Feeling , Also We Have Rooms On The Beach . No Matter Which Room You Are In You Get A Wonderful View , ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing