We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELL Was Based on This HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K Royale Lakefront Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
okemos,mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HELL Was Based on This HOTEL”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The WORST hotel in MICHIGAN. The bed was at least 40 years old. "Breakfast" was minature refrigerated store bought doughnuts. I can only hope the black paint that was floating in the pool wasn't lead based. NO windows and couldn't have the patio door open because the lock was broken and the people next door were smoking so it would've blown in our room anyway. It smelled like someone died in it in 2009 and the body was discovered September 6,2010.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank firebirdninety8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    29
    15
    17
See reviews for
61
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

On August 19, 2010, my husband and I stayed the night at the K-Royale Mote Inn. I forgot my orthopedic pillow for my neck on the bed. When we got to our destination, I called and told them I left my pillow in the room that we stayed in. They said no one found a pillow in that room. I know I left it on the bed. One of the employees stole it. Guess they don't know one of the 10 commandments, "Thou shalt not steal." The Lord will punish them for stealing. Also, the room smelled really musty, it didn't have a clock/radio in the room, I tried to call the office, and there was no answer. The continental breakfast was not very good, and the toaster did not work. We will not be staying here ever again. Also, if you leave something in the room, you will not get it back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlm004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Bellevue, MI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

On August 21st my family and I rented a room for a night at the K Royale Motor inn. Because of the latest bed bug problem in many of the states before bringing my items into the room we pulled back the sheets on the bed to find little spots of blood all over, We picked up the bed and between it in the box springs was blood stains and holes, It was dirty and we went back to the counter to get are money back when we told the female at the desk about the issue she didn't deny the fact of bed bugs in there hotel, It totally creeped me out and as many have pointed out in reviews online the female who works at the front desk is completely rude and unfriendly I wouldn't stay at this hotel if they paid me to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebeccamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol0722, Manager at K Royale Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
In your regards to bed bugs. When your husband purchased the room we were very busy at the time. When we have someone that goes to the room for 5 minutes and comes back to complain we usually give there money back, because obviously they don't want to stay in the room in the first place and they will keep complaining about things or they want a free room.
After you left we went to said room and remade that bed that you tore up and cleaned the bathroom again that was used and rented the room. Actually the people stayed for a week and never complained once. It makes you wonder sometimes.
Thanks
Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights, and it was terrible. First the room smelled like a dirty basement, very musky odor..! We setteled in to watch a little TV when my boyfriend noticed that they only had about 10 cahnnels on the 19 inch TV!! He asked the RUDE girl that was working at the front desk where ESPN was, and she told him a channel number that wasn't even close to ESPN! We had to go to a local bar to watch any type of TV!! The beach was non-existent, it was a mucky, rock filled shore!! I found a drink bottle from the previous guest under one of the beds!! We paid for the "Penthouse" room, but it had NO microwave!! We had to go to the lobby for anything that we wanted to warm up in their microwave!! The game room that they descibe is 3 games from the 1970's, in a dark dirty room!! The FREE breakfast was 2 loaves of bread set up next to a dirty toaster!! On our nightstand there was an envelope for us to leave a tip for the housekeeprs, but why would I leave a tip when I DID the cleaning from the previoes guest!!!! I didnt expect a ton of frills for the price we paid, but i always expect a clean room!! The brochure pictures and descriptions must be of another hotel, because it wasn't where I was at!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tltb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol0722, Manager at K Royale Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Seems funny that you would stay in a room that you didn't like for 2 nights! Must be the $42 rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ignace, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Motel was great, beautiful sunrise and sunset, indoor pool and hot tub. Playground for younger children. Reasonable rates. New management was very nice and pleasant. Had room with new mattress.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I was shocked when I arrived to find my "beach side" room was actually a "parking lot side" room, with no windows. I also noticed on the brochure they describe having 600 feet of "sandy beach" WHAT? There is no beach, and no place to swim at all. There is however a swamp, full of weeds rocks and various other items. I found the brochure itself rather fraudulent....so forget the beach because your not getting one here. The continental breakfast consisted of a old gas station doughnut, toast and no beverages other then coffee. Since I dont drink coffee, trying to choke down a old doughnut was a bit of a problem. The service however was nice and the people very attentive. Other then the hot tub and the personnel, the hotel was poor. If your looking for a motel on a budget I would suggest several others in the area which were cheaper and dont tell you they have a beach when they dont.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laqudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My family and I have stayed here for many years and we have had only the BEST experience each and every time. I have no idea why some have been unhappy to each their own I say but SERIOUSLY this is a nice place to stay. I have work in the cleaning business so those who say its dirty well shame on you!!! I have for years and years over never experienced this with my family. And plan to spend every night we stay in that area right at this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#15 of 29 in Saint Ignace
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Royale Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Royale Lakefront Inn

Property: K Royale Lakefront Inn
Address: 1037 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — K Royale Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KRoyale Lakefront Inn nestled on 700ft of shoreline, all rooms facing Lake Huron, view of Mackinac Island. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves & hairdryers. Some rooms have balconies, other ones walk out to the lakefront. We have play area for children with swings. A fire pit, picnic table and grills. Free shuttles to Mackinac Island boat ferries and casino. Restaurant within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your K Royale Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k-Royale Motor Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing