We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K Royale Lakefront Inn
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We rented a dog-friendly room on the ground floor for three nights. The room was quite large and was very clean and comfortable. We were able to use WiFi and had a decent sized television, refrigerator and a microwave oven. While the outside of the hotel looks very vintage (which I loved!), the inside was updated with nice pictures and colors. Loved watching the sunrise over the lake and the peace of the afternoons and early mornings. I only have two suggestions: a greater variety of cereals and other breakfast foods would be nice and if it were possible to put separate blinds on the door itself that would be b&g rear. It was hard to shut the curtains all the way while closing the door. This motel was very reasonably priced and close to several restaurants....especially loved Java Joes and the awesome pasty place nearby. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammypio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great lakefront room with beautiful sunrises every morning. Not a swimming beach but a beautiful rocky shoreline. Breakfast wasn't good for me as I need to eat gluten free and everything was cereal, donuts, muffins, etc. However The Hillside Restaurant is directly across the road and has awesome meals. There is a smaller older TV but who stays in the room anyway in such a beautiful location! Room was spotless and kept that way but an attentive housekeeping staff. Price was very reasonable. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the price and reviews here on Tripadvidor. Because we were only passing through I didn't want to spend too much on a room, yet I wanted a lake view. The room was clean, but if you are looking for a modern, quiet room this probably isn't the place for you. Pool was OK; looks better in the photo posted on this site than it does in person. The hot tub was tiny and HOT. Continental breakfast was average. To wrap it up, I thought I was getting a good deal on a good hotel, which turned out to be so-so. Will definitely try a different one next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal310419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let's start with the 3-star rating I've given this hotel. In absolute terms, it probably only deserves 2, but the value-packed price and waterfront location redeemed it. The rooms are something right out of the 50's or 60's. I'm sure it must be the original wallpaper, acoustic ceiling tiles, tile in the bathroom, and room furnishings. It borders on retro, but not by design. The mirrors in the room had silver worn away, so they really showed their age. The hunter green toilet seat was well-worn from years of use, with a third of the finish worn off. The desk chairs in the room showed every greasy hand that ever touched them. But, despite the dirt on the chairs, the room otherwise smelled and looked clean. The only updated item in the room is the flatscreen TV, although that looses points because it has a 1970's lineup to available stations! Also of note, this is not the quietest hotel room you'll ever stay in. You can hear your neighbor's TV and you'll hear evert time someone near you opens or closes their sliding doors.

So let's put it all in perspective. Don't go here hoping for a fabulous resort destination getaway. But for its bargain price, it's a good enough place to stay. In season… on the water… and half the price of many hotels in the area, the price was the attraction. If budget is your primary object, you probably will be pleasantly satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are pet friendly. If you have allergies, better to choose the 2nd or 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GR260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just recently stayed at the K Royale for the second time. For $89 a night, we got a family room - one room with a double bed and a twin and the other room had two doubles. The rooms have been clean both times we stayed. There is a nice pool and hot tub. All the rooms face the lake for fantastic view. The sunrise over Lake Huron is fantastic! All the rooms (except the ground floor, which have "patios") have balconies.
The motel has dated fixtures, but really who cares? The beds are comfortable and everything is clean and maintained.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake, so no problem with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngaMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel and we were simply blown away by how clean, well maintained and nice the property was. We always stayed on the other side of the bridge at the higher priced hotels where because of the water, bugs and spiders are everywhere. Not here ! There were no bugs and everything was clean. One of my complaints just about everywhere we go is the noise from the air conditioner/ heater. At K-Royal the units are quiet, mattresses are comfortable, lighting is adequate and everything is clean. The TV's are older style 20" picture tube or older lcds but they work and no one picks a hotel to watch TV in. The pool/hot tub area is in a separate enclosed glass building but is nice. We and another couple go up north about three times a year and this hotel will be our only place to stay from now on. Did I mention how clean everything was ? The continental breakfast doesn't have waffles or eggs just the standard fare of donuts, toast several varieties, cereal, muffins, juice, milk, coffee and tea. The only thing negative I can say about the place is how many Japanese, Korean or European vehicles were in the parking lot. I assumed that people who were not smart enough to care about America it's workers or Michigan would stay in some other place.

Room Tip: All units have a water view, none have A/C noise. Those closer to the office are closer to the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriVadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews here I decided to give it a try for one night because the price was right. I was quite satisfied. We were on a top floor room with two queens. It was clean and quiet. The view from the balcony overlooking Lake Huron was beautiful and I made a point to get up early and see the sunrise. The beds have seen better days but were ok. Microwave and refrigerator in room. My only real complaint is that the tv is old with a poor picture and a very limited number of channels. I would stay again. Note that this property is at least a mile from downtown St. Ignace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
217 reviews
1.8 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#16 of 29 in Saint Ignace
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Royale Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Royale Lakefront Inn

Address: 1037 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K Royale Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KRoyale Lakefront Inn nestled on 700ft of shoreline, all rooms facing Lake Huron, view of Mackinac Island. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves & hairdryers. Some rooms have balconies, other ones walk out to the lakefront. We have play area for children with swings. A fire pit, picnic table and grills. Free shuttles to Mackinac Island boat ferries and casino. Restaurant within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your K Royale Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k-Royale Motor Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing