We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 years and going strong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K Royale Lakefront Inn
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been staying at this same motel for 25 years. Every time we have stayed there the service has been excellent. The rooms are a typical motel room with cable TV, microwave, refrigerator and blow dryer. The main part of the motel is right on Lake Huron. They have sliding glass doors with a balcony with 2 chairs on them so you can sit and look at the beautiful water. I have never had a bad experience and that includes all the years that we have taken our three children with us. The only drawback was that because we went before Memorial Day the pool was not open yet but they were painting it getting it ready for the big holiday. The staff was very friendly and helpful about anything we asked for including where to eat and other things in the local area to see. They do serve a continental breakfast, which could be improved, as it is limited but still it was sufficient. I highly recommend this motel and I have stayed in others in the area when I have gone with someone other than my husband. They could not compare. I have also stayed in motels in other parts of the country and my favorite place so far is K Royale in St. Ignace, MI.

Room Tip: I prefer the main part of the motel since the back of the rooms face the lake. It's very calmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have been staying here for over 20 years. No problems. Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Nice view of the water. Can't complain about the price. We usually stay for about 5 days at a time. We come here at least 3 times during the summer and always come in the fall. We really like it here. Like that there is a refrig and microwave in the rooms. Tv could have more stations. A few years ago it was a different cable company and there were lots of channels.

Room Tip: We usually stay on the main street level. Can't go up and down the stairs. Only problem is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was above what we expected for the money. Room was of average to above average size with 2 queen beds, microwave and refrig. Rooms were clean and quiet, no smells of must/mold and no bugs. View is beautiful. We have stayed in Mack. City yearly for at least 10 years and have paid double what this room cost and are not nearly as nice. We usually travel with a pet and like clean, quiet rooms with a view of the water and bridge or island and on the water. The only minus if that is pets are always put on lake level walk out rooms- not ground or upper floor with balcony and a better view. I will reccommend this to all friends and tour buses. They also need to improve on their breakfast, but for the price we could easily go out and order what we wanted or fix in room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ssobinindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

As always just as expected. Nice clean room, beachfront. NO sand but beautiful grass beach. Been here many times before and going again next month. This is a mom and pop run business with no frills, just a clean room, nice pool , hot tub and small breakfast. Lost our room key and they took care of the problem immediately. What more can you ask for? If you are expecting a 5 star go on to another hotel.

Room Tip: best dicount room in saint ignace in the south wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krissywmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a nice place to stay if you want to save a little money but still be on the water with a nice view. The water is pretty but its not a beach, it is rocky, but the kids loved the warm pool., We spent the day in the U.P. going to all the tourist spots like the Deer Ranch, the kids love it there. On us. 2 is a really nice sandy beach (about 15 or 20 minutes away) it was free because we just parked on the road and walk 25ft and was in the water beautiful sand by the way. nice waves for the kids to play in for hours!

the staff here was great! the breakfast was your typical continental breakfast. They give you a coupon for free tokens at the casino too.

So if your on a trip not to spend time in the hotel but to get out and enjoy life, I recommend this place for sure. we have been staying here every summer for about 13 years now.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerzieskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This is an old style motel that stirs memories of travel up north to Michigan and Canada, when all the hotels were family owned. Just because a motel is not new doesn't mean it is not clean. The front desk and employees are friendly and kind to guests. We enjoy the view of the water, the island and the sunrise from the guest room balcony.
We always buy smoked fish, cheese and wine to enjoy on the balcony. There isn't a beach for swimming, and we don't use the pool. There is a refrigerator in the room and we provide our own meals. With the sliding door open and the sound of the water I have always slept soundly there. If you want the cookie cutter Disney type experience go to Mackinaw city or stay on the island. Because this is your parents type of hotel and we love it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

The WORST hotel in MICHIGAN. The bed was at least 40 years old. "Breakfast" was minature refrigerated store bought doughnuts. I can only hope the black paint that was floating in the pool wasn't lead based. NO windows and couldn't have the patio door open because the lock was broken and the people next door were smoking so it would've blown in our room anyway. It smelled like someone died in it in 2009 and the body was discovered September 6,2010.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank firebirdninety8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Royale Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Royale Lakefront Inn

Address: 1037 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $71 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K Royale Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KRoyale Lakefront Inn nestled on 700ft of shoreline, all rooms facing Lake Huron, view of Mackinac Island. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves & hairdryers. Some rooms have balconies, other ones walk out to the lakefront. We have play area for children with swings. A fire pit, picnic table and grills. Free shuttles to Mackinac Island boat ferries and casino. Restaurant within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your K Royale Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k-Royale Motor Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing