We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2010

What makes this hotel great? Simply put, VALUE. My wife and I arrived in St. Ignace with no hotel reservations. Once in town, we stopped at 4 hotels searching for a place to stay for the night. The front desk at Budget Host was exceptionally interested in our business. She was competent, caring, and convincing. We decided to stay. We payed about $65 for the room. Now, I am a Marriott platinum member (I stay in a LOT of Marriott hotels throughout the year). Why does that matter? Because this Budge Host was cleaner than any Marriott property I've ever stayed at! The bathroom was fresh, the carpet was clean, and there was no dust where usually there is dust in a room! The TV worked great. The hot tub and pool, also VERY clean, were the perfect temperature. We arrived late, and the pool area closed at 11 (keep in mind, most other hotels closed their pool area at 10). But, the front desk said it would be o.k. to stay in the hot tub past 11 (we didn't end up staying in the hot tub that long, but what a nice gesture on the staff's part). The next morning, my bill was CORRECT, and checkout was fast. A+ at this property. Stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for giving us an A+. We have a very friendly staff who are here to help in any way we can with your comfort and your overall experience. Thank you for noting our cleanliness and our willingness to go over and beyond for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

Room was very nice, clean and an exxcellent value. staff is very courteous and friendly. shuttle to and from the casino. our room had a private balcony with an awesome view of the water, the pool, whirpool & fireworks on saturday was a pleasant bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonnaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your review. We never tire of hearing that we are getting it "right". Thanks and we hope to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at the Budget Host Inn for three nights in early August. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. We stayed in a two room, two queen suite which far exceeded our expectations.

When we checked in, Lynann, the manager, was extremely busy with other guests checking in and people calling to make reservations. She took care of everyone with a smile and took the time to tell us about special things that were going on in the area, including a sunset cruise that Star Line Ferry puts on Monday nights (which we did and it was a great time, even with the cloudy conditions).

As mentioned above, the room far exceeded our expectations. The suite was spacious, with a queen bed in the first room along with a sofa, chair, television, and table and chairs. There was a very long double vanity across from the separate tub and toilet. In the back of the suite was a separate room with queen bed, desk, and another television. A fridge and microwave rounded out the large suite.

Other accommodations were superb. The pool was nice sized and not overly cold, just right in my opinion. A wall separated the whirlpool from the pool, and a television was mounted in the corner for those relaxing in the warm water. The best part of the pool ara was that the windows opened, so if it was too hot in the pool area, you could get a nice fresh breeze. Breakfast was very good. Standard fare along with hot egg and sausage patties, sausage gravy, and potatoes. If the breakfast room got too crowded, you could go into the large pool area and dine poolside. That was very nice. My only suggestions would be to add options of fresh fruit and yogurt and possibly make-your-own waffles. They had a computer in the lobby for guest use as well. We had problems getting the wireless to work on the laptop we had with us, but that could have had something to do with our computer settings.

The service we received was top-notch. Kudos to Lynann and the rest of the staff. They were always ready with restaurant recommendations, local info, and a "hello" and a warm smile if you passed them in the hallways.

I have to mirror previous reviews and say that the property is sparkling. The rooms and common areas were always clean. We will definitely stay here whenever we're in the St. Ignace area again. This was by far the best hotel of our trip. Thank you for a wonderful stay Budget Host!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chappie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for that wonderful review. We aim to provide quality accommodations and a comfortable stay for all of our guests. We have a variety of room options so we are pleased that you enjoyed the 2 room suite. They work wonderfully for families traveling. Thank you once more and we hope that you will return to Budget Host Inn & Suites of St. Ignace in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We have been driving through and staying in St. Ignace/Mackinaw City for the past five years. In each instance it would mean two stays (once going up, and once coming down). We have stayed at many hotels in the area, and with no hesitation, I would say that the Budget Host Inn has provided the best value, and most comfortable stay we have had. The rooms were very spacious and clean, as was the pool area which was very enjoyable for the kids. The breakfast was on par with any of the better breakfasts from chain hotels. The customer service is excellent, and they will do whatever possible to make your stay a pleasant one. We will be continuing to travel this way on our summer vacations, and will now most likely continue to stay at the Budget Host hotel instead of trying out other various hotels. It was a great place to stay with our family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hockeyfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for those remarks. We are pleased that your stay was a great one and that our customer service is excellant. We take it very seriously and wouldn't expect anything less from ourselves. Thank you and we hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My family and I just returned home from one night at the Budget Host Inn. We checked in after our day excursion on Mackinac Island. We booked the hotel via their website, got a very decent rate for the area and also comparable to online booking websites (orbitz, expedia). The lady at the check in was very nice. Our room was very clean and spacious. The grounds, lobby, hallways, breakfast area and pool are all very clean and well maintained. The indoor pool area is nice and even though it's a cholrine pool, it's not overwhelming. There was very minimal noise from the adjacent rooms, so much that we slept in quite late. Breakfast was ok, typical complimentary breakfast with eggs, sausage, doughnuts, muffins, cereal, coffee and juice.
We were very much satisfied with our stay. It was a relief to walk in the hotel and realize that all the positive review are true. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and they do accept pets (you would never know that unless you saw one, never heard a bark and again, its spotless). In fact at check out, the lady at the front desk told another customer pets are permitted and that's why they go out of their way to clean more than usual. One review said they saw the bedspreads being washed and so did I, that was impressive!!
Thanks for a great stay in St. Ignace!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank gypsi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for posting your remarks here. We value all guests comments as it helps us to be continually improving. Thanks again and we hope to have you as a gugest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We decided last minute to take a long weekend to the great U.P. of Michigan. We drove into St Ignace and found the Budget Host Inn. We found the staff helpful and friendly. They gave us directions to the casino and some advice on where to have dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable and quite reasonable. The free breakfast was plentiful and delicous. We ended up staying another night and will now always stay there. A perfect 10.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for giving us a perfect "10". We are glad that you found us and will continue to stay with us and thank you for writing a review of our award winning property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I normally wouldn't write a review however I am doing it for two reasons. I read reviews before we went on our trip and felt it was helpful in making a choice on a Hotel and second our experience at this Hotel was a perfect . Starting with a competent American Staff that spoke English (no offense), Very Clean Rooms, I noticed walking pass their on site laundry they actually wash their bed spreads ( you know a lot of chains do not!!!! yukkkk.... ) I don't know what they use for insulation however this place is really quite, no banging down the hallways, no thumping noises, we slept like a dream on a very soft bed. Did I mention the Balcony facing the bay, offering a perfect view of the Fireworks on Saturday night. It made you feel like you were really in the U.P. not in a typical chain. We had lots of fun in the Pool (very warm water) and the Hot Tub was welcomed after a day on the Island. The hours of the Pool were very liberal as well I think it closed at 10:00pm for kids and 11:00 for adults. The morning breakfast was decent, certainly not outstanding, however very nice done and you can't beat the price (free). They also have a computer to access the Web, which was useful in printing coupons for attractions. Hope this review helps you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotwagner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your experience was "perfect". That is what we aim for. Our hope is that you will stay with us again when in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $99 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn And Suites
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing