We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We decided last minute to take a long weekend to the great U.P. of Michigan. We drove into St Ignace and found the Budget Host Inn. We found the staff helpful and friendly. They gave us directions to the casino and some advice on where to have dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable and quite reasonable. The free breakfast was plentiful and delicous. We ended up staying another night and will now always stay there. A perfect 10.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for giving us a perfect "10". We are glad that you found us and will continue to stay with us and thank you for writing a review of our award winning property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

I normally wouldn't write a review however I am doing it for two reasons. I read reviews before we went on our trip and felt it was helpful in making a choice on a Hotel and second our experience at this Hotel was a perfect . Starting with a competent American Staff that spoke English (no offense), Very Clean Rooms, I noticed walking pass their on site laundry they actually wash their bed spreads ( you know a lot of chains do not!!!! yukkkk.... ) I don't know what they use for insulation however this place is really quite, no banging down the hallways, no thumping noises, we slept like a dream on a very soft bed. Did I mention the Balcony facing the bay, offering a perfect view of the Fireworks on Saturday night. It made you feel like you were really in the U.P. not in a typical chain. We had lots of fun in the Pool (very warm water) and the Hot Tub was welcomed after a day on the Island. The hours of the Pool were very liberal as well I think it closed at 10:00pm for kids and 11:00 for adults. The morning breakfast was decent, certainly not outstanding, however very nice done and you can't beat the price (free). They also have a computer to access the Web, which was useful in printing coupons for attractions. Hope this review helps you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotwagner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your experience was "perfect". That is what we aim for. Our hope is that you will stay with us again when in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Golden Anchor-Budget Host with our two dogs for a couple of nights in July. What a great find. Good value and accommodating for our dogs. We had a front facing room with a small deck on the ground floor. The room was very clean, comfortable and roomy. This is an older style hotel that has been renovated but they also have recent additions that include suites. The front desk was very helpful with dinning recommendations and directions to the nearby ferry docks for Mackinac Island. A couple of things that needed attention were the bathroom fan that was on its last legs and the awful heat in the corridor and pool area. It was almost like the heat was on. Another odd thing was the discovery of incontinence pads on the beds. What was that about? While mostly quiet, there was some noise from kids running in the corridor. The free breakfast was good but the typical feeding frenzy where normally well behaved adults become rude and crazed when faced with all the free food choices. Seating was lacking forcing us to to sit in the too hot pool area one morning that we could not bear the next and took our trays back to our room. The highlight was being able to watch the local fireworks over the bay from our deck and being able to see the Mackinac Island fireworks at the same time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was probably our 8th or so stay here and we will return. We spent 2 nights here last weekend. The hotel was close to full due to hockey players and lots of snow mobile people. We appreciate this hotel for the cleaniness, quietness, great pool and huge hot tub, and our nice suite. This was our second stay in a second floor suite. 2 separate bedrooms each with a queen bed. Huge livingroom/kitchen area and huge bathroom. Beds are not pillow top and are a bit "hard" but the pillows were wonderful.
We love the Budget Host and would recommend it to anyone. It accepts all size pets and we love seeing both cats and dogs in the hallways with their owners.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

We are happy that you continue to stay with us. Most of our beds are now the "pillow top" type and will all be by the Spring of 2012. We thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Great value place in St. Ignace. Hotel is clean with very helpful staff. Free wireless internet was fast and easy to step. I would say again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaspices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you so much for that comment. We appreciate each and everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Although we usually research and reserve rooms before traveling, late one October night we were approaching St. Ignace without plans or reservations. We simply wanted a room for an overnight stop that served a hot breakfast so we could be on our way again early the next morning. I had found Budget Host in a directory and when I called, I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the quoted $53 rate included a hot breakfast. I don't think that was the regular rate, but I had asked for the "best available" rate.

When we arrived, the woman at the front desk who greeted us was just as courteous in person as she had been on the phone. The motel was clean and modern looking, I assume either new or recently renovated, and our room was cozy, quiet and comfortable with a good supply of shampoo and other amenities. While we were disappointed that we could not open the window for a little fresh air as we often do when traveling (hence the "4" rating), we both slept very well.

Breakfast in the morning was very good. The breakfast bar included a substantial and tasty assortment of hot and cold foods and beverages.

We certainly will stay here again if our travel plans take us to or through St. Ignace in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for writing that review of us. We appreciate your comments and although we were not made aware of a window not opening, please come to us in the future if there is the slightest issue and we will rectify it for you. We want you to have the optimal stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here last week for 3 nights while we made day trips around the area. We felt very comfortable and safe in our large double room with patio area. The staff are extremely nice, easy to talk to and make you feel at home. They take the time to answer any questions about the area, etc.
This is not a posh hotel with fancy decor, but it is quiet, clean, neat and has comfortable beds. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNwaterbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for recognizing the value we offer to our guests. Our staff is very friendly and helpful indeed. We want you to have the best stay possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing