We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Although we usually research and reserve rooms before traveling, late one October night we were approaching St. Ignace without plans or reservations. We simply wanted a room for an overnight stop that served a hot breakfast so we could be on our way again early the next morning. I had found Budget Host in a directory and when I called, I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the quoted $53 rate included a hot breakfast. I don't think that was the regular rate, but I had asked for the "best available" rate.

When we arrived, the woman at the front desk who greeted us was just as courteous in person as she had been on the phone. The motel was clean and modern looking, I assume either new or recently renovated, and our room was cozy, quiet and comfortable with a good supply of shampoo and other amenities. While we were disappointed that we could not open the window for a little fresh air as we often do when traveling (hence the "4" rating), we both slept very well.

Breakfast in the morning was very good. The breakfast bar included a substantial and tasty assortment of hot and cold foods and beverages.

We certainly will stay here again if our travel plans take us to or through St. Ignace in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for writing that review of us. We appreciate your comments and although we were not made aware of a window not opening, please come to us in the future if there is the slightest issue and we will rectify it for you. We want you to have the optimal stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here last week for 3 nights while we made day trips around the area. We felt very comfortable and safe in our large double room with patio area. The staff are extremely nice, easy to talk to and make you feel at home. They take the time to answer any questions about the area, etc.
This is not a posh hotel with fancy decor, but it is quiet, clean, neat and has comfortable beds. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNwaterbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for recognizing the value we offer to our guests. Our staff is very friendly and helpful indeed. We want you to have the best stay possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our second stay as we liked this Inn last year. Nice & helpful staff. Easy walking distance to two ferries. Restaurants are also in walking distance, plus they serve a continential breakfast which was well stocked at all times. Don't let the name "budget host" scare you, it's a very nice place to stay. If you like casinos, you can get $5 in free tokens (which can only be used on a few machines) and the casino will give you another $5 worth each day for minimum play. There is a free shuttle which runs from the casino to all local hotels/motels whenever they are called until 2am.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagolady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for writing that review. We appreciate that you took the time to write about us on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

My wife and I have nothing but good things to say about our stay at the St Ignace Budget Host Inn. We were pleasantly surprised & really liked our king bed, spa room.
What we liked most:
*The friendly front desk staff, when making reservations and checking in.
*The location and view - our lower level room offered a nice view of Mackinac Island and the Saturday night fireworks display. (other hotels would change extra for this!)
* The ease of parking, unloading our bags was a breeze-door location was just right.
* Included breakfast (eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, donuts, etc was great.
* Size of room & attached balcony allowed great airflow and room for our dachshund to play.
* Very clean facilities and recently updated rooms and features.
* WiFi access in room worked perfectly
* We received an room excellent rate!
We would definitely stay here again during a future visit to St Ignace.
Thanks for a pleasant lodging experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEROLINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Your review about us was "spot on" and we appreciate the time you took to write it. It will be very helpful to those looking for a great place to stay in our wonderful town. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We were up-graded to a spa suite because non-smoking rooms were full.
Pets were allowed. Sassy had a blast.
Glen Erin Pipe Band was there practicing Sat evening 2 hrs for appearance at Lilac Parade Sunday on Island.
The competent staff: Barb, Katie, & Lynne were friendly & eager to assist us in any way.
We were there 4 days.
Our stay was wonderful!!!!!
Kay & Dave Reglin (Sassy)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaybaby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for those kind words about us. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is our second stay at the Budget Host Inn. We enjoyed our first stay and the second stay was better than we remembered. The motel is clean, the staff friendly and the price right. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and happy that you returned to stay again with an even better experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

My husband & I chose this motel after reading Tripadvisor reviews for hotels & motels in Mackinaw City & St. Ignace. We needed a place to stay as a stopover before traveling through the U.P. that allowed our pets (including an 80 lb. Labrador Retriever) to stay as well.

The bottom line is that this place was a steal. For $65 we stayed in a clean, well-maintained room with 2 queen beds. If we had called and been told this price without reading the reviews, I fear we would have passed on this place, believing it to be unseemly. Amazingly, there was no surcharge for our pets.

Our room was on the second floor and although the elevator was a ways away, there was a wide-passage stairway nearby, making it easy for us to bring our luggage in. The room was remarkably clean. The linens appeared in good shape and the towels were reasonably thick and soft. There were multiple in-room perks including a reasonably-sized t.v. with cable, a clock-radio, a hairdryer, a small coffee maker, a kitchen table with chairs and a luggage rack. There was a sliding door to a small balcony overlooking the parking lot. The motel is located away from I-75 (unlike many of the hotels & motels in the area) & very close to the piers to catch the ferry to Mackinac Is.

Downsides to our visit:
1. The door between our room and the adjoining room was NOT sound-proof. We could hear the normal-voiced conversation of our neighbors quite clearly. Ask for an empty adjoining room if possible.
2. We woke to a dog in one of the neighboring houses (not in the motel) barking regularly.
3. The free breakfast offered in the common room in the a.m. was sparse. But, at this price we do not hold it against them especially as the receptionist recommended a fabulous coffee/breakfast place down the street called Java Joe's.
4. The bathroom sink counter was very small making it difficult to store toiletries for 2 people.

Despite these drawbacks, we would gladly stay again with or without our pets. For a similar room, we have paid 2-3 times this price in other cities.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hard0142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for posting your review with Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found us to be clean and comfortable. We would like you to spend some time with us in the future and see how we have expanded our breakfast incredibly to include even eggs, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy and rosemary roasted redskin potatoes. You will be pleased. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $99 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn And Suites
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing