We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable experience within our "Budget"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable experience within our "Budget"”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We were up-graded to a spa suite because non-smoking rooms were full.
Pets were allowed. Sassy had a blast.
Glen Erin Pipe Band was there practicing Sat evening 2 hrs for appearance at Lilac Parade Sunday on Island.
The competent staff: Barb, Katie, & Lynne were friendly & eager to assist us in any way.
We were there 4 days.
Our stay was wonderful!!!!!
Kay & Dave Reglin (Sassy)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaybaby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for those kind words about us. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    90
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
131
134
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is our second stay at the Budget Host Inn. We enjoyed our first stay and the second stay was better than we remembered. The motel is clean, the staff friendly and the price right. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and happy that you returned to stay again with an even better experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2007

My husband & I chose this motel after reading Tripadvisor reviews for hotels & motels in Mackinaw City & St. Ignace. We needed a place to stay as a stopover before traveling through the U.P. that allowed our pets (including an 80 lb. Labrador Retriever) to stay as well.

The bottom line is that this place was a steal. For $65 we stayed in a clean, well-maintained room with 2 queen beds. If we had called and been told this price without reading the reviews, I fear we would have passed on this place, believing it to be unseemly. Amazingly, there was no surcharge for our pets.

Our room was on the second floor and although the elevator was a ways away, there was a wide-passage stairway nearby, making it easy for us to bring our luggage in. The room was remarkably clean. The linens appeared in good shape and the towels were reasonably thick and soft. There were multiple in-room perks including a reasonably-sized t.v. with cable, a clock-radio, a hairdryer, a small coffee maker, a kitchen table with chairs and a luggage rack. There was a sliding door to a small balcony overlooking the parking lot. The motel is located away from I-75 (unlike many of the hotels & motels in the area) & very close to the piers to catch the ferry to Mackinac Is.

Downsides to our visit:
1. The door between our room and the adjoining room was NOT sound-proof. We could hear the normal-voiced conversation of our neighbors quite clearly. Ask for an empty adjoining room if possible.
2. We woke to a dog in one of the neighboring houses (not in the motel) barking regularly.
3. The free breakfast offered in the common room in the a.m. was sparse. But, at this price we do not hold it against them especially as the receptionist recommended a fabulous coffee/breakfast place down the street called Java Joe's.
4. The bathroom sink counter was very small making it difficult to store toiletries for 2 people.

Despite these drawbacks, we would gladly stay again with or without our pets. For a similar room, we have paid 2-3 times this price in other cities.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hard0142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for posting your review with Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found us to be clean and comfortable. We would like you to spend some time with us in the future and see how we have expanded our breakfast incredibly to include even eggs, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy and rosemary roasted redskin potatoes. You will be pleased. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I needed two two-room suites to accommodate my family for an upcoming weekend. I personally drove to several hotels in St. Ignace a month before (while on another trip) and found this hotel to be among the cleanest and largest suite-wise. From the outside, I'm not sure I would have chosen the hotel, only because the brown sign and the 'on the road' location doesn't seem like it would be a great hotel but I was very impressed! They serve a full breakfast, including eggs and sausage. We were very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank feenfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for that review and for choosing us. We appreciate it and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed here one night. The room was very cozy and was about the cleanest I have ever seen. We had a ground floor room on the lake side. All the rooms on the lake side have cute little balconies with plastic chairs and nautical railings. Parking is right along the building.

We did not use the pool or game room facilities, but we did take advantage of the free hot breakfast. We arrived for breakfast just as it opened for the morning in a little room off the pool. There were pre-made egg patties, sausage, biscuits, gravy, and cereal, as well as bread for toast, English muffins, and some kind of roll. I made myself an egg and sausage breakfast sandwich and it was pretty good. There was also a bowl of fruit cubes which was excellent; the fruit was mango, papaya, pear, and pineapple (not your usual canned cheap fruit in heavy syrup). We did not drink the milk, coffee, or fruit juice offerings, but there seemed to be a lot of choice.

This hotel is right on the main road through town and an easy walk to many attractions and restaurants. It was quiet and all the staff were friendly and cheerful. We were there before the start of the summer rush, of course. I would definitely stay there again. The price could not be beat.

  • Liked — The room was so clean and comfortable, I felt perfectly at home there.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We couldn't be more pleased that you enjoyed such a happy experience with us. Our hope is that all of our guests do as well and we feel that we are doing a great job here. Thank you for those helpful comments. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Stayed here overnight on our way up to the rest of the UP.

The hotel exterior and lobby are pretty basic, but the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is provided in a room near the pool and was also fairly straightforward - coffee, cereal and milk, sausage patties and scrambled egg patties, and bread/biscuits.

The room itself was absolutely the cleanest that I've ever seen for a roadside motel, EVER, and the jacuzzi tub in the room was wonderful! This had to be the best deal for our money on a room ever. Definitely recommended.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, jacuzzi tub, value, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Basic accommodations
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We spent one night here last week - we selected St. Ignace for our jumping off point to visit Mackinac Island. I checked reviews on several other sites and got a mixed bag but figured it would be fine for one night. I was pleasantly surprised. It's located near the end of the strip, so it's pretty quiet - a nice spot.

The reservations went smoothly, and there was a very nice lady at the desk when we checked in. Some of the sites cautioned they're not very flexible about changes... we didn't have any problems so I can't speak to that. As we checked in, she gave us the rundown on breakfast, etc.

The room was basic but very clean and comfortable, and larger than I expected. We had a room with 2 queen beds; they were comfortable and linens in good shape. We had a balcony with a view of town and the water. Most of the rooms are accessed through a hallway, and there is an elevator available.

Breakfast was standard continental breakfast fare - sausage gravy and biscuits, doughnuts/pastries, fruit, cereal, juice & coffee.

We thought St. Ignace was a great little town with a nice boardwalk along the water... perfect for our jumping-off point. One word of caution for late arrivals - doesn't appear to be much in the way of food open late... bring it with you or stop along the way.

We would definitely stay here again -

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank meglenn108b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#19 of 29 in Saint Ignace
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#7 of 29 in Saint Ignace
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing