We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Manitouwadge Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We chose our stay from all the good reviews on "trip advisor" and were certainly not disappointed in the least. We had an excellent stay -staff was very friendly and our room was great -super clean and newly renovated couldn't have asked for better. We had a ground floor room which suited us fine but may think about staying on the 2nd floor just for a better view. Breakfast was good -everything you needed to start your day. We will definitely be back -job well done to the owners you should be proud of your establishment !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the review. We all work very hard as a team to ensure a wonderful and memorable stay for our guests and we thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    80
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
119
115
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay we were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. The description makes it sound like it is on Lake Huron but it is across the street with lake views. All over great place to stay for the value. The Labrador retriever enjoyed his stay. Staff is very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place was great! I would definitely stay here again. The people working at the front desk were nice and helpful, and had suggestions for things to do in town. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable! We ended up staying here two different nights in two different rooms. Both were spacious with different layouts. Most of the rooms have a balcony spot (some private, some shared)

The hotel has a large pool and hot tub, both were spacious. We were the only ones in the pool area from about 3pm to 5pm on a Thursday afternoon, it was great!

They have a breakfast included in the morning. Traditional continental breakfast: biscuits and gravy, fruit, muffins, cereal, eggs/sausage and english muffins. It was pretty busy there but we were able to get a table.

The hotel gives you $5 of 'free play' at the Kewadin Casino for each person in your room each night you stay. If you want, I think they have a shuttle from the hotel to the casino.

The hotel is within walking distance of a bunch of restaurants and the ferry going to Mackinaw Island.

For what I thought it would be, this place exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for a great review. We love to exceed the expectations of our guests and so appreciate the kind words. We hope your travels will find you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the BUDGET HOST for 15 seasons. It is the best ever. Including private balcony, indoor hot tub, and pool. Game room laundry room (if needed) morning breakfast and the sweetest friendliest employees ever.
Thanks to all of yous and we'll see you next year
Sharon & Mandy

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nannymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you Sharon and Mandy. It has always been nice to see you through these many years and watching Mandy grow up before our eyes. Thank you for making us your "home away from home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The pictures I saw online of this hotel, were not updated, but the hotel certainly is! We were pleasantly surprised when checking in. They welcome pets and the room was newly refinished. We had a suite for our family of 5 and really enjoyed our stay! The indoor pool was nice, the kids loved swimming after dinner. The beds were comfortable and we had 2 flat screen televisions! It was a cool night so we left the windows open and I can say as a light sleeper the room was very quiet, from room to room and outside as well. This hotel is a real value and very nice! We will definitely stay again when heading to Mackinac Island and the UP!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We're happy to have new people discover our value every day and become return guests, as most of our guests are. Thank you for that review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited a little earlier than September. The hotel is great! Awesome pool, game room, 2 floors, computer room, it couldn't be better. They use metal keys rather than cards and for the side entrances you still have to use your key so I'm saying it is still secure. Friendly staff ever! No problems at all and it is pet friendly too but that doesn't mean it smells like dog everywhere. It is still a great hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We're glad that you found us "great" because we think we are too...and thank you for writing about us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Was originally going to stay one night, but the cost of a suite was $50 less then in Cheboygan or points south, so we muscled through the drive from Chicago via East Lansing in one day and stayed for two days. Very clean and spacious enough for 5. The complimentary breakfast was fine. Cereals and the usual juices and donuts/pastries expected from a hotel breakfast. Hot egg patties and sausage patties were good enough. Wi-fi was not cooperative, but wasn't worth interrupting vacation to figure it out and certainly not a dealbreaker. More detailed instructions were provided, so my guess is this is a known issue. Maybe we were too far from the front desk for a good signal. Across the street from Sheplers ferry to the island. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We're happy that you extended your stay with us and enjoyed your time here. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#7 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#17 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn And Suites
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing