We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience at Budget Host Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Spruce, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good experience at Budget Host Inn!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Budget Host Inn as a couple and with family and business associates many times over the past 2 years and have been in a variety of room styles both upstairs and down. Using the elevator as needed, we have stayed in rooms from a handicap 2-room suite, or a 3-room suite, to 2 double beds, 2 queens or one king bed single rooms. The beds are nicely dressed with a variety of pillows for individual needs. We usually have our best night's sleep here! Every room has been very clean with well-appointed bathrooms having soaps, shampoo, and lotion, plenty of linens and enjoyable shower heads, also, coffee maker, coffee and water cups and related items. The TV's are large and have full cable service. Internet is easily available, but may require a password, which the staff cheerfully offers. There are also room phones. The FREE continental breakfast which ends at 10 a.m., includes eggs, fruit, cereals (hot and cold), biscuits, sausage gravy, sausage, potatoes, toast, cinnamon toast, milk, juices, teas, and excellent coffee (regular and decaf). Donuts and muffins round out the whole offering. The coffee is available 24-7. The breakfast area is recently enlarged, and with the pool and hot tub adjoining it, breakfast can be taken pool-side as well. The indoor pool is kept at a comfortably warm temperature, and the hot-tub is a huge double-heart shaped relaxing environment with TV viewing in that area. Extra towels in the area help those of us who might forget them. There is an exercise room, a game room, and vending machines available. We enjoy the balcony or exterior rooms, but the interior rooms have plenty of light from large windows. There is an upstairs (or use the elevator) large outdoor balcony overlooking the bay. The views across the street are lovely! Several good restaurants are within walking distance, and several take-out establishments will deliver. The ferry boats for Mackinac Island dock within walking distance. Casino shuttles service the Budget Host Inn with a simple request at the front desk. The Budget Host Inn is on the best side of town for it is a short distance if you wish to drive yourself to Kewadin Odawa Casino. The Inn's staff is absolutely delightful, and some of the most helpful we have experienced. The owners continually keep a schedule of updating and upgrading the Inn such that it never is left in need of repairs or cosmetic attention. If any problem arises, the staff and management do all that they can to remedy the difficulty as quickly as possible. One of the best things for us is the pet-friendly accommodations, both inside and out. A small fee may be charged for the pet, but it is certainly reasonable. Overall, the Budget Host Inn has quality and friendliness beyond what the room costs would suggest, we feel we receive more value for our money when staying here compared to any other. We appreciate having this quality when we are away from home!

Room Tip: Easier access to the Casino since you do not have to go through town. All balcony rooms offer a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sis003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value our guests comments as they enable us to continuously improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    90
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
134
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

For the price these rooms are hard to beat. The view from the front of the hotel is well worth the price of the stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accept large dogs. Good breakfast, pool and game room.

The carpet felt like it could use a little cleaning or all around replacement. Not dirty just very worn and thin. And due to having doors on both sides of the room it was a little loud.

Overall though, great stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Inn is top to bottom very clean. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished, everything looked new & there was even a large flat screen TV with full cable selection. The front desk staff was extremely accommodating and they serve the best continental breakfast I've ever had. Other larger chain hotel/inns in the area are not nearly as nice. I will be going back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaraway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Budget Host Inn in St. Ignace on way to Mackinac Island. The place was very clean and front desk cheerful and courteous. Price was very reasonable. They have a pool (indoor) and a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I were traveling through northern Michigan and decided to visit the local area including Mackinac Island. The Budget Host seemed to be perfect for a two day stop over. We found it clean and comfortable, close to good restraunts, and the staff was courteous and helpful. We would most certainly stay there again...

Room Tip: It pays to check out places to stay in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this at the end of our color tour. We found it very clean and within walking distance to the water and grocery store. The place was quiet and even though we had neighbors who smoked outside their rooms we did not smell the smoke-which we appreciated. The places excepting dogs is limited around the bridge but this was a great find and reasonably priced. The breakfast in the morning was sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubrava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for that review. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose to stay at the Budget Host Inn, in St Ignace because previous trips had been so comfortable. Family bought us the first time, but we returned because of the quality and the staff. Inn is located close to downtown, ferries, grocery and restaurants. Open the door and the lake is right across the street. The hot tub and pool were enjoyable and the rooms were clean and orderly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Public Relations Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We appreciate our guest's reviews enormously. Many of our guests return throughout the seasons and through the years. It's fun watching those who used to visit as children, now bringing their children. We look forward to continue serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#16 of 29 in Saint Ignace
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 29 in Saint Ignace
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing