We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here several times. The most recent was for a snowmobile trip. It was ideal because the trail is right next to the hotel. The room was very clean, the breakfast bar had alot to offer, free shuttle to the casino, and the staff were very pleasant people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We do have the BEST guests! Thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    89
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
128
133
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here with our two little kids.. Got a decent price on the room.. But should have checked out immediately upon going into the room. It reeked if stale cigarette smoke.. It was nasty.. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grape_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We apologize to you for that. All of our rooms are non-smoking and have been for a couple of years and those who violate our policy are charged an additional cleaning fee if discovered. In the future, we might suggest that you inform our Front Desk Associate of any issue immediately to allow us the opportunity to effciently rectify it. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is no 5 star resort by any means but it is a nice clean little hotel is this small tourist town. I would say it is probably the best kept secret in the area. They offer a great continental breakfast each morning and have the warmest swimming pool and hot tub of any place I have ever stayed. Rates are reasonable during the off season and comparable to other hotels in the area during peak season. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for those wonderful comments. Sounds like you enjoy "our best kept secret in the area". We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
186 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and size of the rooms. They have a game room for the kids, a pool for everybody and a modest continental breakfast. Based on the room layouts and locations of the pool it appears that this facility must have had several expansions over the years. And, for people like me, who need ample parking for vehicles with trailers, parking is a bit of a challenge. But, with that said, the staff was very professional and accommodating. We even witnessed an impromptu birthday party for one of the visiting families. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Access doors to building and rooms use a "key". I would suggest a first floor room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We thank you for that review and glad that you found us. We look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

On a tip from a friend my wife Carole and I decided to attend a music festival in St. Ignace on the first weekend of August last summer. We chose to stay at the Budget Host looking for the best deal for our money. We were hugely rewarded with not only an extremely well maintained facility,and helpful staff, but also an excellent location where we were able to walk to a place, (I believe the name was the Harbor Pub) where the food was excellent the music was exceptional, and we were able to walk back to the motel. I honestly believe this is the cleanest room we have ever stayed in.Thanks to the owners and staff for an excellent weekend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you.for that wonderful review. Cleanliness is a top priority of ours and it's rewarding to hear that it was the cleanest room you've ever stayed in. That is a very high compliment and we appreciate it. We hope you will stay again when your travels bring you to the beautiful St. Ignace area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walhalla
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our second year staying at the Budget Host Inn. We Stayed June 8 thru 10, 2012 we booked 2 rooms this year and brought our son, daughter in law and grandbaby. we love this Hotel. The staff here are very friendly and give you a coupon for $3.00 off the ferry to Mackinaw Island. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is plentyful and hot. We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub after walking all day on the Island. We always try to stay here at The Budget Host Inn when we vacation in the U.P

Well worth every penny, Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are so happy that you found us and continue to make us your home away from home. Thank you for that nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the Budget Inn the first week of October 2012. Spent several days visiting with our son, who lives in Frankenmuth, and took us to the UP to see Makinaw Island. This hotel is very well run. Every good thing you read in the reviews is true. It is really nice to see a hotel thriving in this crazy economy. The hotel is really dated. But is this situation it's not a bad thing, because everything is so well maintained. And clean, clean, clean. We ate at a fantastic diner on the main drag, can't think of what the name is, but just ask the lady at the front desk. She also works at the diner, and her friendliness at both the hotel and the diner made us love the hotel even more. We would definitely stay at this place again. There is one thing that I hate to mention about this hotel, that I didn't like. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke when we arrived. Fortunately we were able to open the balcony door and air it out. Every time we stepped out of our room we smelled cigarettes, and saw more than one person smoking on their balcony. There was so much cigarette smoke I feel it needs to be mentioned in this review. We are not smokers, so are not used to smoke. This a very nice hotel in a great location. If the smoking issue were resolved it would be a perfect place to stay for a visit in beautiful St Ignace.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us. We're pleased that you found us well maintained and clean, clean, clean. That is very important to us. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing