We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Tournament Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I visited St. Ignace to attend Ice Hockey tournaments at the Little Bear arena several times in the past few years. I always try and get the team to book at the Budget Host, it's the closest to the arena being only a couple of hundred yards away, it's clean, friendly, has a pool, good price, hot breakfast and very accommadating.
New this trip was brand new looking fitness room, a couple of treadmills, an elliptical and a weights machine.
The room I stayed in was spotless, and looked like it had just been refurbished.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for that review. We enjoy having our hockey teams with us and are glad you liked our new Fitness Center. We take our cleanliness very seriously, so thank you for noticing and we look forward to your team staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We love Budget Host! This is the hotel that we always stay at in St. Ignace. We love to stay in the 2 room suites. When our friends meet us there we try and reserve the adjoining two room suites! Great hot breakfast buffet the next morning. It is right across from Starline Ferry service. The front desk staff is helpful. We have always been given loyalty discount coupons for our next stay when we check out. Housekeeping is good! They also provide discount coupons for area attractions. One time the front desk staff even went online and found us discount ferry coupons and printed them off for us. Nice small town atmosphere and hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShawnD965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

...and we love our guests! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us. Our staff is dedicated to making our guest's experience the very best possible. We're a hotel where friends meet friends and strangers become friends. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although there are lots of places to stay in this town, this hotel seems to be the most popular spot and there are lots of reasons why.

- rooms are quiet, clean and spacious.
- ground floor have small attached balconies.
- an elevator is available to get to the second floor.
- lovely pool area
- ample but limited breakfast.

There are only about 6 rooms on the front with direct pull up access so book ahead if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for that review and for helping to make us such a popular place to stay. We hope to see you on a return visit to St. Ignace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had to stay in Saint Ignace for the first time ever due to being stranded by the closure of the Mackinac Bridge, the rooms were nice and clean and the staff was helpful and best of all it is pet friendly. I really appreciated the outdoor access and view of the lake from the balcony as did my pet he enjoyed seeing the birds and the fresh air blowing in from the lake. It was an overall good distraction from the annoyance of being unable to complete the trip home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spirtfan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We're pleased that you found us after being stranded in St. Ignace due to the bridge closure. The winds were incredibly high that evening and we're happy that you and your pet had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for that review and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic, super clean, beautiful rooms. When booking I chose to get connecting rooms, one for the "moms" and one for us "daughters" worked out perfect-and the view from the balcony couldn't have been better. Location was good also, close to town and all things we did during our stay, already planning our return trip next year. The staff were great too. I can't say enough good things. See you next September!!

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosco_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. You ladies were great and we enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to your return next September. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hard to get connecting rooms nowadays, but this inn offered a better arrangement: a LARGE 2BR suite with the bedrooms separated by a door, rather than an alcove or archway. So, the privacy of two units, but not the cost! This inn has expanded significantly over the years; unfortunately, the size of the parking lot has not kept pace. The Breakfast Room is small, but well equipped. Luggage carts are a nice touch. Our third visit since it was THE BELLE ISLE; will return.

Room Tip: Suites do not face main street; quieter than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for writing about your experience with us. The suites are very comfortable for a family and afford privacy as well. We are continually updating and upgrading the hotel to give our guests a better value and added comfort. Thank you for the comments. We look forward to a return visit from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in four motels during our Lake Superior Circle Tour and this was the most clean, best breakfast, and great price of them all. Nice room and you could see Lake Superior out the balcony side of the motel. You can walk down the street to great restaurants and shops. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: I think this was recently renovated. Everything was so clean, new and the continental breakfast was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeo1653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thannk you. We are soi glad that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our great value. We have the best guests and are so gratedful for your kind words. They motivate us to continue doing what we're doing. Thanks again and please do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $98 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing