We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Clean,Clean,But”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We reserved a two bedroom suite and was told that the room faced the water. Got to the room and it was in the back of the hotel. Went to the front desk and asked for another room, was told no and only thing they could do was to give me my money back and go somewere else. wow,, we stayed and the next day i went to the front desk to ask for another room. A very nice gentleman looked and found us a room with a view and a balcony. They didnt even bother to look the first time we asked to be moved. besides that, it is very very clean, most motels could take a lesson from the cleaning staff !!!!!! And my other negative was that they allow smoking on the balconies, if your a non smoker, you have to inhale second hand smoke, while you are trying to enjoy sitting on your balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlatesky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We are pleased that you found us and enjoyed your stay. We are a 100% non-smoking property and are sorry that you experienced someone smoking on the property. We hope you will be back and allow us to provide you with our award winning service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Budget Host Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 355 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were in need of an economical, yet clean and comfortable place to stay for two nights. We found it at the Budget Host. The room was nothing terribly fancy, but large. It had recently been painted and recarpeted. The bathroom was large with updated fixtures. Our only real complaint was that the "delicious" breakfast was little more than fast food. Weak coffee with no half & half, same offerings every day, and not a piece of fruit to be found.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kathysommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for posting your review here. We value our guest's comments and ideas in our quest for continual improvement and hope that your travels find you with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

With school around the corner and my husband being able to get 2 days off during the middle of the week we decided to take the kids up to Mackinaw again in hopes of going to the island for a day to take advantage of the Mackinac Associate's Pass we bought so we could get into the fort free.

We booked a 2 bedroom suite and while we didn't get to face the water that was ok with us since the rooms were nice, big & very clean!

The following morning we ate breakfast and decided to see if we could book another night so we wouldn't have to make the 4 hr drive home after doing the island for the day. Unfortunately we couldn't get the same room as it was booked, but we were able to get another room. That room was on the 2nd floor this time, but still faced the back and once again was everthing we expected. After a day at the island we came back and the kids really enjoyed the pool before heading to castle rock.

Pro's ~ Value, Big rooms (at least the 2 bedroom suites are) VERY clean, walking distance to the ferries in case you are going to go on them, warm pool, swingset for the kids, friendly staff, great location.

Con's (and even then it's not a big con) ~ I wish they would of had some frest fruit (banana's or apple's) at breakfast and maybe some extra pillows in the room in case someone (like my husband) likes a taller pillow. I'm sure had we of asked the would of brought us up one though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kksmom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

That was a nice review and we appreciate it. Cleanliness is a priority for us and our guests do notice and make a point to tell us It helps us to maintain the standards that we have set for ourselves. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Budget Host Inn on our last night in the Upper Peninsula before crossing the bridge back to "The Mitten".
The hotel is nicely situated, even though on a main road.
We got a room overlooking the lake (across the road and a few buildings) which was nice.
Staff were efficient and friendly.
The room was spacious and clean.
All in all it was a nice stay even though there was nothing outstanding or especially mamorable about it.
It was a good choice and served its purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room on the second floor - Get some view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of our award winning property. We very much appreciate it and hope that you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel more than lived up to the reviews, it was excellent! The staff was extemely helpful with places to eat etc.The room was clean and comfortable, enjoyed our two night stay. This is close to everything we wanted to do without being to busy.

Room Tip: Kins spa room with balcony, lake view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for posting this review. We are pleased that we lived up to our reviews for you. The next time you find yourself in our area, we would be happy to have you stay with us again. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this lovely little hotel while we visited Mackinac Island. We liked it so much that we stayed an extra day!
The hotel is very clean and well placed in the town. The staff was helpful and very courtious. The rooms were spotless and priced right. I would highly recommend this hotel. The parking was also very good for the hotel. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are GREAT!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. We're happy too, that you stayed an extra day with us and we look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

An average hotel for the night before something bigger – in our case, a day at Mackinac Island. One design feature that was memorable was the user of vinyl siding inside the building and hallways. We weren’t sure what the local fire department would have thought of that. The bathrooms were the annoying two-part style with the toilet and tub in one room and the sink and mirror outside in the hallway. I don’t get it. The A/C units were loud too which was a shame because the night we were there, we would have liked to have the sliding door open but the machine next door blaring away made that impossible. This hotel had the usual free breakfast but I’m starting to not rank these meals anymore because they are free and typically awful or mediocre at best. The one here was no exception. It was horrible. Better to go into town to a restaurant. On the plus side, the kids loved the pool and spacious hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $104 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing