We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Happy With Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
MI
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Extremely Happy With Our Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

After a previous visit that did not go well for 2 reasons, we decided to give our favorite Budget Host another try. We spent 3 nights there in a 3 room suite. 2 bedrooms with a queen bed in each. The livingroom included a sofa, table & chairs, wet bar, micro & frig, 2 comfortable chairs & a flat screen TV. The bathroom is large with seperate bathtub/shower & commode.
The staff we encoutered was friendly & helpful. Special thanks to Jack for all his help Housekeeping did a fine job each day, this place sparkles. I had to move the bedside table in one of the bedrooms and there was no dust or dirt anywhere. The beds are firm but not uncomfortable. Our suite had a nice selection of different types of pillows in the room.
We loved the pool and large hottub. Its nice to be able to watch TV while soaking the sore muscles. Wifi worked fine, and there is a computer in the lobby as well.
The breakfasts are pretty standard. Premade round egg patties, sausage patties, precut potatoes, biscuits&gravy, and the usual breads & cereals. Fruit is offered but its a canned blend.
This facility is very convenient to walking the main shopping area of St Ignace. We also love the boardwalk that follows the lake. We walked past all 3 ferry companies that go the the Island. There is a very nice grocery store located only a short walk away. This motel is located on the main road but is also in a residential area, so there are lots of safe streets to walk your pets.
We have recommended this lodging facility to friends & family, and will certainly return on our next visit to the U.P.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for the kind words of recommendation. Word of mouth is a valuable asset to our property and we fully appreciate you writing this review. Customer satisfaction is our main goal and it is guests such as you that make our jobs even more enjoyable. Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness...our Housekeeping staff does a superb job and your remarks validate that. Thank you again. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    89
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
127
132
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

At least two types of rooms available: on lake side, with porch and view; or suites away from lake side, with two bedrooms. Convenient to all the ferries to Mackinac Island. Very good restaurant two blocks away, and others in downtown area, within a mile. We stay here every time we are in St. Ignace - several times a year. Always clean, with a friendly staff. Microwave and fridge available at least in suites (don't remember about lake-side rooms).

Room Tip: Request either smaller room with view, or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for writing a review about us. We always appreciate the comments of frequent guests. They are always the best recommendations. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was in an auto accident after midnight on my way home from the rifle deer season. The car was un-drivable, and I needed a place to stay. The nightime staff was friendly when I checked in, and the rooms were newly remodeled and clean, so much so I was extremely surprised. The next day Jack, who handles the hotels marketing, allowed me to stay in the room way past checkout (3 hours) time, while I waited for a ride downstate. The hotel, and especially Jack, turned the tailend of my disaster into a pleasant experience. Usually you have to pay top dollar for a hotel with such service. But this little gem is simple on the outside, yet down to earth class and warmth inside.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmartymindanao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for posting this review. It is always a special pleasure to go out of our way to assist guests and contribute to their overall satisfaction. We were happy to do it and hope that you will be staying with us again in the future. Thanks you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisoon Township
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We have been going there for about 7 years. We love the town, walkways by the water and the most friendly people. This motel was recommened by the Harbor Point Motel because Harbor Point does not take pets. This budget Host motel is so clean that you never worry about who stayed in your room before you. The people who run the motel really do care about service. I have recommended this motel to our neighbor and he feels the same way about it. You can leave your car and walk to restraunts, shopping or marinas.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbydog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for sitting down and writing a review about us. We, at Budget Host Inn & Suites of St. Ignace do care very much about service and providing a great value and a comfortable stay for all of our guests. We're happy and grateful that you continues to stay with us and send your friends our way as well. We appreciate your remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I am so impressed with the amenities found at this Budget Host Inn. It was so much more than the name implies. The rooms were immaculate with fluffy pillows and bright white sheets . The bathrooms were spacious with soft large towels. The pool and jacuzzi area was spotless with constant attention given by the courteous front desk staff. I can't describe the array of breakfast items (hot and cold), nor the constant refilling and refreshing by the attendant. The maid service was right on the rooms in the morning. There was always fresh towels and the trash was emptied everyday. I will recommend this facility to all of my friends and my family. It might be a budget host, but nothing else about it could be considered budget or low quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for that glowing endorsement. We appreciate that our guests take the time out of their busy day to write a review about us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

My Granddaughter and I stay at the Budget Host of St. Ignace for a week every summer. The people there are so caring, helpful and fun to be around. The rooms and view of Lake Superior are GREAT.They treat us like family, which I feel we have become. Breakfast is SUPER. Thanks everyone there..

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. It is not difficult to make our guests feel at home with us as we have some incredible guests, many of whom feel like family to us as they return year after year. We have a lively and fun staff and are happy that you found them fun as well. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

I stay at this hotel when I visit my family in town. They have excellent rooms that are clean and spacious for my family. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. This has many ammentinies to suit my family. I also love the fact that this hotel offers wi-fi and cable. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family visiting the wonderful town of St.Ignace, Michigan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammyandnstrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. We host many guests who come to visit their families here and it is always a joy to have our old friends come home and stay with us. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to accommodating you in the furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Inn And Suites
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing