We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bless you Joe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Java Joe's Cafe

Java Joe's Cafe
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Saint Ignace
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
grand rapids
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bless you Joe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My biggest fear about going up North is the crummy food. It tends to be either touristy stuffy overpriced places, or chain-style food that is overpriced. I mean really, chicken wings again? Ohh I simply must try the deep fried fish...
The owner has two places in St. Ignace, this one and Joses Cantina. They are both a refreshing break from the expected. Try the coconut french toast!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank haggis9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    102
    43
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I loved it. Great selection of food. Unique, fun atmosphere. We will definitely go back. They have a great collection of teapots displayed so children should be well behaved.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tkdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummmmmmmmo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

LOVED this cute little place. Good food, great coffee, attentive service, friendly staff .... what more could one ask for???

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kschm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wont be back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

When we got to this small cafe there were only two tables occupied, one family was done eating and waiting for the bill, the other was being served dessert. There were two girls working and after waiting 10 minutes for someone to take our order we walked out. There was no obvious reason for this as our waitress kept walking by us and only acknowledged us when we first got our water, after that we were invisible. I was very disappointed as I had read some good reviews for this place. There should always be a responsible adult around to make sure customers are taken care of, none was in site.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There is a reason they are rated the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

From friendly service to fabulous food...this is how all restaurants should be! We went several times for breakfast -after the first visit there was no question of trying anywhere else. We had the crepes and omelettes - both were fantastic. Coffee was very good too. Joe is an extremely energetic person with joie de vivre that is contagious; he definitely enjoys his work, and everyone else there was also very nice. The decor is kind of a 60's-ish beach theme with funky bright colors, parrots and ocean memorobilia on the walls (and lots of teapots), and a retro van out front. You can buy old-time candy, crepe mix and roasted coffee, and I think all the teapots were for sale too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaskiaTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Joe's Cafe also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Java Joe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing