We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint - Not a Chain Hotel experience”
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Saint Ignace B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2008

The Boardwalk Inn was built in the 1920's and was renovated into a bed and breakfast type hotel. The owners operate the hotel and are very friendly and helpful. The small hotel rooms were combined into multiples during the renovation to make spacious modern rooms. Our room had been two rooms. The suites are larger. The furniture is wooden, and antique. There is a common room on the 2nd floor that is used for coffee, breakfast, and lounging. This is not a chain hotel experience. There are no phones in the rooms (use your cell phone), but there is wi-fi. There are small tv's. We liked its central location. We were able to walk to many things, which we like. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jayne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2008

We stayed here while snowmobiling and it was fantastic, Jim and Kayla are the best, very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and functional. This is a great value and a great place to stay wile vacationing in the UP.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cr737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We enjoyed the Boardwalk Inn. It is not like staying in brand new hotel, but is a nice change from the usual hotel. Rooms were cutely decorated and clean. It was quiet and restful.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmsportsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We just spent two nights at the Boardwalk Inn in St. Ignace, MI. I believe it is the oldest still operating inn in St. Ignace. It dates back to the 1920s, and is decorated appropriately. It was wonderful! The lobby was quaint and comfotrable. There were beautiful antiques scattered throughout the house. Our party took up three rooms. My sister will write her own review, I'm sure, of The St. Anthony Suite which was a two-room suite. The other two rooms we used were The Heartland Room and The Homestead Room. Each room has its own window air conditioner, although we certainly didn't need it. The period decorating was very charming. I never met Jim but Kayla was certainly very nice and helpful. I would love to go back and stay longer there. It is within walking distance to the boat docks to catch a ferry to Mackinac Island, and right on the main road for walking and souvenier shopping. Kayla gave us recommendations for restaurants, and I loved having the wi-fi hookup for my laptop. I just can't recommend it high enough. For anyone who likes old-fashioned, laid-back atmosphere, this is for them.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Catservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2005

My husband and I love the Boardwalk Inn. We first stayed here several years ago when it was under different ownership, and have returned three times under the current ownership - Jim and Kayla.

It is a lovely alternative to the cookie-cutter chain motels in the Mackinac area, with an excellent value for your money and none of the attitude you might find at some of the other area hotels.

The rooms are individually decorated and spacious, the hosts as friendly as you could ask for, the resident dog - T-bone - is a sweetie, and the continental breakfasts get your day started right.

Their prices are excellent, both in- and off- season, and it is the only place we stay when we're in the Straits area.

10  Thank StreamGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2.4 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Address: 316 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1425
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $87 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing