We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, quiet, good value”
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Saint Ignace B&B and Inns
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean, quiet, good value”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Three of use shared a room in early July. We were very pleased with the room: it was clean and quiet, a nice contrast after a visit to very congested Mackinac Island. Great value. The boardwalk is about a block from a grocery store and 10 minute walk to Shepler's dock.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side of the building so received afternoon and early evening sun, necessita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was a very nice and cozy B & B. It was very clean and rustic. They have many antiques in the lobby, which is very cool. We stayed in the Sunrise Room which had air conditioning. The owners were very nice and the ferry to Mackinac Island is just across the street! They have a continental breakfast and/or the restaurant across the street as well.
Also, this B & B is one-third the price of ANY B & B on Mackinac Island !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackburn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Boardwalk Inn for several years on the weekend of the St. Ignace Car Show. Jim and Kayla offer a friendly greeting which makes me happy to return. The rooms are always clean and ready. They great us with all of the latest news about other annual guests and tell us of any changes made in the hotel. The location downtown is excellent.

It is particularly important to me that this is not a chain or run by uninterested individuals. If there is anything which you need, Jim and Kayla are quick to see that it is provided. The rooms are well decorated for the atmosphere of the hotel. Come to relax. There are not flashing lights, bright colors, loud music or roudy guests. The size of the hotel allows Jim and Kayla to know all of their guests. They understand that one goes to a bed and breakfast of this antique design and style to enjoy a peaceful stay.

Yes, they accept children. This is a plus for all of the guests. Yes, they provide parking. The breakfast is good. The food is always fresh. The coffee, tea and hot chocolate are always available because the dining area is always open and you can go there to relax, visit, play games, or read. The lobby is warm and inviting.



C. Jacobs, Holt, Michigan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

For Christmas we received a gift certificate for a three night stay at the Boardwalk Inn. This was a gift from our three children. We were so looking foward to our trip and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We stayed in the Bayview room. Room was very clean and comfortable. We could view the bay from our window. Very charming atmosphere. Quiet at night. We were able to walk to many places to eat, shop or just look around. We enjoyed everything about our trip. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Would love to stay again at your lovely Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handsewnbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed in the La Petite the night before our two nights in the Grand Hotel. The Grand could take a lesson in cleaning, pride and hosting form Jim. Our room was Petite but well caredd for and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings more than adequate for our needs. The building is old but very well maintained and the interiors make you feel you are in the early 1900's - victorian and romantic.
The location is perfect - right in the middle of town just across the street from the bay.
Jim is an attentive and gracious host who makes sure you are comfortable and taken care of. The breakfast room is warm and charming. The continental breakfast is enough to get you started for the day - good coffee and choice of bagels, english muffin, cereal. Not a huge bounty but certainly in line with the price of a room.
If you are going to Makinac Island this would be a place to stay versus on the Island.
If you check the price here - even adding the round trip boat fare - it is a better value than many spots on the island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Boardwalk Inn. The place was so clean and full of charm.
Jim and Kayla were very friendly and so helpful, ready to do what was needed to make our stay grand. They were able to answer questions and were full of information. The room we stayed in, The Vallier, over looked the water and was very clean, comfortable and charming. And may we add there were NO BUGS anywhere to be found. Don't know what the other guys was talking about. Maybe just looking for a free night.
The breakfast was a great way to start our day. We will stay at the Boardwalk Inn on our next trip to the U.P. And we can't forget the hotel greeter TBone .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMusicMan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Every August for the last 12 years I have enjoyed the Goldwing Road Riders Midnight Ride to Mackinaw. But I had a hard time settling on a motel to stay at each year and kept changing locations. Each year before I left to go home I would look at several other places to stay. Then I found the Boardwalk and stopped looking.
The location is very good. You are right in the middle of the town within very short walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the ferry to Mackinaw Island
The owners are great. They greet me by name as a friend each year and I look forward to staying there. Each room is unique. The rates are very reasonable during high season, and especially more so in the off season.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WingNut75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.6 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 316 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1425
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing