We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second time there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Hill Lodge
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I originally picked this hotel because I was traveling with my dog and this place is under new ownership so we just tried it. It has great prices. Almost half price in some instances of other rooms in the area.

The first time there I brought my GSD. The room was dog friendly and there is a lot of room to play and go potty outside. Lots of grassy areas.

THERE IS NO WIFI. They said they were fixing it but still hadn't by the second time we stayed.

The rooms are fine. The bathrooms are tiny but that is found in a lot of places in the UP due to its history and the age of the buildings. We always end up with a double bed room and I would rather have one king but they don't seem to have many of those.

There are three buildings, we have stayed in 2 of them. Each have pros and cons. The con of Cedar (?) is a tiny window so there's not much view.

You have to go to the main lobby for a hair dryer, coffee pot, Internet.

I didn't try the breakfast but they have it in the main building.

We were the only ones in the pool. It's only 5 feet deep and as warm as a bathtub but it was fun nonetheless.

This is a great hotel for kids as they provide a lot of games like volleyball, tether ball, and frisbee.

The usually do a bonfire and everyone hangs out. It's nice because everyone is friendly up there so it's just a good way to end the day.

Room Tip: Get a ground level room in the Spruce building to walk out into the field and for more natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thanks for your positive review. The entire property does have Wifi -- but even better upgraded equipment is on its way from our contractor. Until it can be installed, we find that the best reception, especially at busy times when many guests are on the property, is in the main building. That issue is being addressed. We are happy to know you enjoyed the bonfire, and we are happy to have you as a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
70
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Overall I had a great experience, great location, clean, nice staff and pool was nice! They also had a bonfire pit, and fun games to enjoy outside.They had breakfast each day for us. Close to downtown St. Ignace and ferry docks to Mackinac Island!

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night during the Ironworkers festival. Very few hotels had rooms due to this. At the last minute (always happens), I called to Cedar Hills Lodge and they said they had a room for four of us. The staff was very nice and courteous on the phone and when we arrived at the hotel. When we got to the hotel, the room we had booked was given to the group that was staying there and decided to extend their stay. They found another room for us and we got it cheaper. The room was clean and nice. We were supposed to have 2 queen beds, but the room had a full size and a Queen. Not a problem for us. The bedding was clean, as was the towels. The thing I loved the most though was the pillows. We had some nice pillows! And we had more than one per person, which definitely was a plus, especially since we were unable to pack our own.. We got up in the morning and had a good breakfast. Much better than some of the hotels we stayed at in Mackinaw City. The staff kept up with keeping food fresh and stocked. This hotel also is pet friendly. I didn't know this when we left home, or I would have brought my dog. Because of that and the good experience that we had here, we'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixrising_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Yes, we put four plump, high quality pillows on every bed -- thank you for noticing! Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Check in fast/easy had room upgrade. People at desk were friendly/helpful. Breakfast was good. Nice owners. Kid and family games were available. We had a very wonderful time staying here. Would recommend to friends and family. Our four night stay was relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are happy to have you as our guest. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Reasonable price, very nice renovations make rooms fresh.

What they DO offer -
1. Clean rooms, not too musty.
2. A community fire pit with a nice glow well towards midnight.
3. A decent breakfast. Good pillows.
4. A really good shower.
5. Free high-quality wi-fi with multiple access points and a strong signal throughout property.
6. VERY NEAR THE FERRY BOAT PARKING LOT!

Challenges:
1. When I called they said they had queen beds in the rooms. When I arrived, the room had doubles (though the headboard and lampstand are SIZED to fit with queens). I did find out later that queens are in many rooms, the clerk had simply not been very communicative / complete in describing AVAILABILITY.
2. NO FRIDGE OR MICROWAVE....Management says they are transitioning the rest of the rooms and that most DO! I just ended up with doubles and no fridge/microwave though I had been told I had all the above.
4. No waffle maker.
5. Old school micro-sink
6. No plugins for my devices. I had to borrow a spot where a lamp had been plugged in. Most motels/hotels these days have a plug in the lamp base.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PathfinderMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very convenient location and friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable, but very basic. Air conditioner was old and ran poorly. Room was noisy. TV was nice, but no local or network stations. Price was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for noticing our friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms -- and thanks for sharing your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Most reviews focus on amenities and accommodations. This isn't one of those reviews.

When you book a hotel room, what do you really know about your innkeeper? Are they trustworthy? How do you know?

Staying at a hotel is a big deal; it's the cornerstone of an expensive family vacation, and is where you will spend the majority of your time--- albeit mostly sleeping. You have to be able to trust that if there is a problem--- even if it was outside of the owner's direct control, your innkeeper will make it right. We had a problem during our stay, and the owners made it right--- and quickly. In the end, that's all you can ask for.

So, I ask you again, what do you know about your innkeeper? I know that I can trust mine to do the right thing. And that's worth more than all the amenity/accommodation reviews in the world.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank wfm1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
To know that we have earned your trust is the highest compliment. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#19 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Hill Lodge

Property: Cedar Hill Lodge
Address: 680 West US Highway 2, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Hill Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Hill Lodge is on US-2 at the top of the hill leading into beautiful downtown Saint Ignace. Walking distance to restaurants, ferry lines to Mackinac Island, shops, and downtown attractions. Offering more than just a place to spend the night -- come relax with us and enjoy our amenities, including: Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Free Hot Breakfast, Wifi, Courtyard Garden with Views of Mackinac Island, Bonfires, Grills and Picnic Tables, Volleyball, Tetherball, Shuffleboard, Large Lawn with Lawn Games, Rooms with Private Balcony, Family Suites and Adjoining Rooms available. We are pet friendly, with designated pet-free rooms too. Conference room. Free parking. Parking space for trucks and trailers. Free shuttle to ferry lines and casino. Come relax with us at Cedar Hill Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing