We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
45
39
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
39
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast breakfast was delicious island view room day bed ceiling fan mackinac island rooms are clean and comfortable next morning wonderful view ice machine sausage porch motel ferries plugs dock refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 100 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2015

As we completed our journey through the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, we looked for a B&B near the Mackinac Bridge. Colonial House Inn is in a great location - we walked around Saint Ignace quite a bit both the evening we arrived and the next morning, and took the ferry right across the street over to Mackinac Island. The exterior of this facility looks quite worn, but the inside was clean and our room was quite nice. Breakfast was good but not remarkable.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015

Don't let the exterior fool you. This inn is wonderful inside. The rooms are huge, well decorated, clean and inviting. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the Saturday night fireworks from the 2nd floor porch. A perfect viewing spot! We stopped here before going to Mackinaw Island. Great location and you can walk to everything.

Room Tip: Antique room had a lot of sunshine and great views especially for the fireworks.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakevilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Beautiful home located right in the middle of a busy town. My husband and I stayed here 1 night. I feel that the rooms are too expensive and too modernized. It's more like a motel than a B&B! Kind of disappointing, Gorgeous view of a Lake Huron though! Small breakfast nook. Food was ok.

Room Tip: Research rooms for best value. The Ivory room is an odd setup. Very small and has a stand up shower.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015

We stayed at the Colonial House Inn last week - this was the second time we stayed there. The location is great - convenient to walking around town. Wonderful view from the front yard. There are two parts to the Inn, motel and bed and breakfast. Both times we stayed in the motel part - nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank dotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

From the outside, I would not have checked into Colonial House, but we already had made the reservations. I certainly had "reservations" when I saw the Inn. The Inn is part Bed and Breakfast with an adjacent motel. The B & B and the motel looked tired and had seen better days, with the obvious need for some paint and repairs.

We stayed in the motel section, and were pleasantly surprised when we saw the room. The interior was clean, comfortable, functional, well-maintained and even color-coordinated. The innkeepers were pleasant and very friendly. Plus, the bargain rates were fantastic! Oh, and there was a lovely grassy area with flower gardens between the B & B and the motel section--with chairs and tables on the grass to enjoy sunsets on the lake.

So, considering the price, the location (main part of town with ferry stations close by) and the nicely-maintained interior of the room--I certainly feel comfortable giving this a 4 rating.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happytravelerusa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews