We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Lakefront(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
America's Best Value Inn(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 St. Ignace(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Hill Lodge(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
40
39
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
39
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was delicioussitting roomisland view roomday bedceiling fanmackinac islanda wonderful stayrooms are clean and comfortablewonderful vieweach morningice machinequeen bedno elevatoroff seasonsausageporchfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 95 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here with a family member, and it was a wonderful place to stay. We had the Island View room, which had a beautiful overlook onto the bay towards Mackinac Island.

If you are heading towards Mackinac Island, the location is superb: it is right across the street from the Arnold Ferry dock, and within easy walking distance of the Shepler ferry.

The best part about the place was the staff. We found them extremely helpful and friendly and accommodating. Chris has all the information you could want about local attractions and interests.

A word of advice: if possible, stay in the Bed and Breakfast instead of the motel. The motel looks good, but doesn't have the breakfast and therefore the informative and interesting interactions.

Room Tip: The Island View room has an excellent view towards the bay.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Colonial House Inn at least once a year for the last 4 years. We love the veranda room! Our stay has always been pleasant and the view is great. Yes, the outside does need a little work but the interior is beautiful! Thank you for many enjoyable weekends!

Ken and Melissa Gibbons

Room Tip: The veranda is on the main floor, has a fire place and a sitting area.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel1254fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were really surprised at how welcoming,cozy and clean the motel was! We did not stay in the B&B because we had our son with us, but it was very lovely and quaint. I plan to stay there again if we go back next year! We were able to watch the fireworks from our patio and enjoyed the breezes from the water in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Booked Room #11 in the motel part of Colonial after reading Trip Advisor reviews and were so glad we did! (If you can't climb stairs, however, this room is not for you). Reasonably priced, LARGE room (think it was two rooms put together) with tv, cable, refrigerator, remote-control fireplace, and lots of space to move around. Yes, it needs a little upkeep outside and the decorations are very 90s but it was clean and didn't smell!

Right across the street from the ferry, so we walked over and headed to Mackinac Island. Convenient parking, and walked next door to the "diner" for breakfast and LOVED it!!!!

Will definitely recommend to anyone traveling to St. Ignace/Mackinac.

Room Tip: Room #11 is big!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingingKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were a group of 18 bikers who stayed Fri & Sat nite. The place is in need of some upkeep on the outside but the inside is veery quaint and clean. We stayed in room 8. The hosts were so helpful and tried their best to accomodate our large group. Our friends in the B&B had really great rooms. Location was right downtown so we could walk wherever we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank absolutemudslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews