We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding views of Mackinac Bridge! Greaet hotel.”
Review of Super 8 St. Ignace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 St. Ignace
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was such a cool hotel. The rooms are nice sized, the pool is indoor and warm(loved that), and breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You are close to town and the bridge from this hotel. The ferries are a short distance to the Island. It is cheaper to stay on this side of the bridge, than to stay in Mackinaw city. And this hotel is worth coming over the bridge to and enjoy a different view. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying at the bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25YearCelebraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 589 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Be sure to pay the extra few dollars for a room facing the Mackinaw Bridge. The views are excellent, except there are 2 rooms that have the view blocked by trees. If you can't see the bridge, go next door to the gift shop & climb the stairs to the roof for an unobstructed view.

The price was right. The view was great, but the beds were hard as rocks. I had a hard time sleeping due to the uncomfortable beds. They had an OK breakfast in the morning - bagels, donuts, cereal. They didn't offer anything hot. Also, there were only 3 tables in the breakfast area & there is nowhere else to eat, so we struggled with all of our breakfast stuff and took it up to the room.

Room Tip: Pay the few extra dollars & get a room facing the Mackinac Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkyj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Once again I didn't know how far I would get driving before I got tired and passed this and thought this would be a nice place to refresh. I guess I was wrong. I wanted to pass the Mackinac Bridge at first light. I paid $125 with tax for 2 people in a 2 bed room. The price is my main point in the negativity towards this place. Very basic room the TV sucked. The channel numerous is the most confusing thing ever 81.1 - 85.???. Very small room!! NO FRIDGE! NO MIC! BASIC! Then why charge so damn much! RIP OFF!! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRamblinMan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Booked a room here because it advertised "The best view of the bridge". Should have said in small writing "If you are Superman & can see through the trees".
Couldn't get any ice from the ice machine.
Had only shampoo, no conditioner.
No lotion at all.
When morning came, only had one packet of regular coffee for the single cup coffee maker. There was a second packet, but it was decaf.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dar334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We started our trip by staying at the Super 8 on Friday night, with two rooms booked, one with a Bridge View and the other parking lot. It was wonderful to see the bridge from the balcony both during the day and evening. It was worth the extra $10 a night for this. We left Saturday morning after having breakfast in the breakfast room at the motel (which there was enough to choose from with milk, yogurt, cereals, breads, muffins, donuts, juice and coffee) and caught the 10 AM Shepler ferry over to the island. This ferry time gave us a tour of the Mackinac Bridge from the water too. We had pre purchased our tickets for the ferry, carriage tour, and fort Mackinac online through Shelplers.com.
Our room was clean when we returned from our day on the island, but they did not refresh the room with soap, coffee, or shampoo. Neighboring rooms were noisy and the guests did not bother trying to keep quiet with their doors slamming and loud conversations well into the early morning hours. Hard to get a good nights sleep.
The indoor pool was nice for the children to play in and get rid of their excess energy. The hot tub looked undesireable though with it foaming a lot when the jets were going.

Room Tip: Book a Bridge View room for at least one room of your group so that you can see the amazing bridge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Super 8 in St. Ignace was a great Hotel. Our room was very clean and we had a great view of the bridge. The staff were friendly and very helpful. If we would have known how great of time we were going to of had we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI53115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was surprised by the negative reviews seen here. We didn't check ahead of time and were traveling by the seat of our pants using our Entertainment Book to phone the Wyndham rewards number to discount our room charges. My wife and I paid $75.99 for a King/non smoking room. It didn't overlook the lake, but was quaintly set off of the upstairs exit over the lobby area, and was absolutely massive, and very clean. From the reviews it appears we were perhaps lucky we didn't have any issues in the room so things went very good in that regard. We didn't use the pool area so can't comment on that. Ours was a simple one night stay, that went extremely well with no interaction with the staff. If you want a real hell hole Super 8, try Kalamazoo's. That place should be torn down as it is the pit of God's earth.

Room Tip: Ask for the king bed, non smoking room outside the second floor exit. Use an Entertainment book to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knr5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
2.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
#22 of 29 in Saint Ignace
164 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. Ignace

Address: 923 US Highway 2 W, I-75 & Hwy. 2 Exit 344B, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-9660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $75 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. Ignace 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 (Million Dollar View!) The only Hotel in St.Ignace with a fantastic view of Mackinac Bridge and or Straits of Mackinac from your private balcony. Jacuzzi suits, indoor pool & spa, sundeck, phones, cable / HBO, Free W/Fi, in room coffee, guest laundry, and elevator.Shuttle available to Casino and Mackinac Island Ferries. Minutes from area attractions. Adjacent to public golf course restaurants, gas stations, convenience stores one mile from downtown where you can park, shop, stroll the Board walk along the water front, or catch a ferry to Mackinac Island, outdoor enthusiasts kayak, cannoning, mile of hiking & biking trails ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Super 8 Saint Ignace
Super Eight Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Super 8
Saint Ignace Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing