We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy pastie!”

Bessie's Homemade Pasties
Ranked #11 of 42 Restaurants in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ph (906)643-8487
Lake City, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy pastie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped by here for pasties, really good pastie and had homemade cookies too. Reasonable prices and friendly local service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gotta try them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful pasties and wonderful people. We were first-timers and had one beef and one veggie. Both were excellent. Absolutely a place that should be visited during your time in the U.P.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank trol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gave one a try and was pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My mom wanted to stop and try one for lunch. I was skeptical but we all ordered one with gravy and cole slaw. 2 of us had the beef and one the chicken. All were full of vegetable and tender lean chunks of meat. Very delicious! Very nicely seasoned. The service was also very fast, good and friendly. Sparse but nice, clean small dining room. I would stop there again if I'm ever that way!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdtripmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Pasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped here for a quick dinner. We had the pasty plate, which included gravy and coleslaw. The pasty was fair, lots of potatoes, carrots and beef. Not the best pasty I've had, but not the worst either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gizmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
721 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“A Yummy Local Dish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had to try these before heading out of Michigan and this was right across from our room. The locals are friendly, hardworking people who are proud of their family recipe for these hearty pastry pies. I tried the "original" which is the one with chopped steak, diced potato, sweet onion and shredded carrot with a little cut corn inside. The pastry is hand made and the fillings are prepared kind of like a brothless stew inside. They also come in chicken and vegetarian. One was enough for me because I found it just a little dry. You can get gravy with these but I didn't want it. They also have coleslaw, ice cream, shakes, and subs there, as well as local soft drinks. Hubby tried one called Verner's which tasted like tangy cream soda to me. Well worth trying!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bessie's Homemade Pasties also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Bessie's Homemade Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing