We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just your average campground”

St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just your average campground”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I've been camping a long time and KOA's used to be "above and beyond" when it came to amenities and the level at which a campground is run. It seems that the KOA level has slipped a bit for this campground. The sites were "ok", extremely close to one another, and limited availability for shaded sites. The bathrooms were up to standard, very clean and well supplied. There were no activities, which was good and bad, no loudspeaker blaring every 15 minutes. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brimley
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have spent an entire camping season at the Mackinac Island/St.Ignace KOA. The owner is nice and so is his staff. The cable tv hookup on the full service sites worked well. The internet was not perfect, but it was good enough to get by with. I really liked the swimming pool, and the park is nice place to walk with my dog Biscuit who became the unofficial KOA KampDog when we were there. I have gone back to this specific KOA many times. They even give my dog little milk bones when I walk him to the office. They treat us well there and we have gone off and on to this KOA for several years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yooper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped here for the night on our way to the Porcupine Mountains. I was great for a one night. I did have issue with that the pull thru sites were not level. I would expect full hook-up pull thru sites to be level. Also some of the utilities were not easily accessible. If I would have wanted to hook up to cable I would have needed a 50 foot cable which I didn't have. The office did lend us a 30 to 50 Amp adapter as we couldn't locate ours. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I didn't use any of the facilities so I cannot comment on them. I would stop here again but probably not for a long vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyprovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice campground. The bathrooms were a little out dated but they were always clean and stocked! The ground were had a little less grass than I would have liked but still ok. Over all I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paramedic927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This KOA is pretty nice, very woodsy, very much a "campground", not a giant parking lot for campers so much. The pool was clean, they have a very nice game room, children's play area, laundry facilities. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and well maintained. We stayed in a 2 room Kamping-Kabin, it was very nice, and clean. Situated way at the back of the campground (site K9), it really felt like we were camping alone in the woods. There was a family staying in the cabin next to us, we couldn't see each other and only knew the other was there when the Kabin door slammed, or we started the car to leave. The place was quiet, only an occasional car or truck driving by on the highway, which was about a 1/4 mile away, and barely audible. We stayed on a weekend, and the park was still quiet and not very crowded. A walk around the park takes a while, it's a big campground! Lots of very nice campsites, I may come back with the pop-up camper sometime. The staff was friendly (well, as friendly as Lions fans can be -go Packers!), the store was well stocked, although they didn't have coffee available that I could find. Wifi was slow and weak, that seems to be the norm though, and I don't really stay at a campground to surf the web, although my kids would state otherwise. My one gripe was that the firewood was pretty much useless! If I ever want to build a fireproof house, I'm going to buy my lumber there! The wood was green and wet and if you could get a piece of it to burn, it would hiss like a snake from all the sap/moisture boiling out. Buy your firewood down the road...

Room Tip: There are a couple of Kabins near the front of the campground, I would avoid those, the good ones ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington Mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We have a KOA card have been to many over the years. This one is terrible. No kids activities, sites are pure dirt. Spider galore. What a mess.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank theclinefamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We camped here in travel trailer and needed 6" on one side to get level. Our neighbors seemed to have same problem. Bring plenty of cord because the hookups are in funny places. Wifi slow but available. Easy access to town and ferry to the island. Nice showers, quiet at night, mostly trailers and big rigs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
252 reviews
2.7 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA

Property: St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA
Address: 1242 US Highway 2 W, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-9642
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing