We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place but book early!!!”
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you can get in - in the winter, this is the perfect snowmobiler's place to stay. You never have to move your vehicle and trailers the whole weekend and can park your snowmobile at the room. They have a great restaurant, seafood buffet on friday nights, a bar. The rooms are wonderfully renovated. They are pet-friendly. The wi-fi works wonderfully throughout the whole place which is more than I can say for some other hotels in the town. Located RIGHT on the trail. Big bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host again and again! Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Driftwood Motel still looks like an older roadside motel but the rooms are nicely updated. The rooms are small and two queen beds are a bit of a tight squeeze but the bathroom is actually pretty big with a newer sink, toilet and tub and very nice tile throughout. The furniture in the room was a bit dated. However, it, and the room in general, was very clean. The motel staff were very friendly. The restaurant attached to the motel was very nice also with good breakfast food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silentsnowkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding the Driftwood. We are happy that you were comfortable here and enjoyed your stay. Please come back to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our visit here was not planned initially, but it was one of the most adorable and clean motels we've stayed in in a long time! For the price, you CANNOT beat it! The front desk staff had a genuine smile and welcoming charm, and the rooms were spectacular! The beds were clean and comfortable and I can't get over how SUPER CUTE the pine furniture was!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LubirdKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We are so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and that the staff was so pleasant. We certainly hope that we have the opportunity to be your host again in the near future! Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stopped here by a stroke of luck this evening and found something noteworthy. Beautifully remodeled rooms with cedar furniture, good bed, huge handicapped-accessible bathroom, refrigerator, eco-friendly soaps, thick towels, pets welcome ($10/night), nice restaurant. I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and this motel is much nicer than many that cost twice as much and aren't worth the money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you very much for the nice review. We really enjoy hearing the compliments and would love the opportunity to be your host again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful stay in this sparkling clean remodeled Mom and Pop style motel. Great value with a super restaurant/sports bar attached with a good on tap beer selection and regional fish dishes. Highly recommend the whole experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you very much for the great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be your host again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The rooms are very nice and the attached restaurant has very good food. The prices are reasonable and the staff in both the restaurant and hotel are very friendly. It is also located directly across from the mackinaw island ferry.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickle761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Don't make the mistake of checking in around dinner time. I got there with a car full of damp, tired people and walked a distance in the rain because I couldn't park nearby. There were no signs about where to check in so I went to the busy lobby area of the restaurant and patiently commenced waiting in line to just ask the busy cashiers if this was the lobby for the motel. After about five minutes I got to the front of the line and they seemed dismayed I wanted to check in then. 'Could I wait until they take care of this lineup of customers?' "No" was my response and they took care of me without any further problem - although I didn't feel I could ask any questions.

We had one of the newer rooms and it was good for the price paid. Due to a dog, our companions had a room in the older section and it was a little less-okay. I didn't like the benches out front with people from other rooms (seemed like a construction crew was staying there) sitting on the bench near our one window. So I had to close the window, and close the blind. There was lots of commotion in the parking lot due to the restaurant / bar. I never bothered to check it out. We had a great dinner down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Driftwood Motel. July is a very busy time for us so I am sure we had a lot of guests in and around the lobby and I do apologize for the inconvenience of waiting in line. We strive to operate a clean, comfortable property for our guests and provide as many amenities for them as possible, which includes the benches, Adirondack chairs and patio sets we have placed around the property. I do apologize that some of the other guests disturbed you while they were enjoying these amenities, sometimes people are not aware they are disturbing others. I wish you would have tried our restaurant or sports bar instead of traveling to another dining establishment, I'm sure you would have really enjoyed our food and service. Thank you for your past patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing