We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything was perfect. The people that work for driftwood are all very helpful and professional. The attached bar and restaurant are both convenient and serve good food. The view from the rooms are fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbowlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your patronage. We are very happy to hear you had a nice stay here with us. It is always our goal to provide every guest with the best customer service as possible, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer from the motel and restaurant. Thank you so much for your business, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mu husband and I decided to travel to Michigan for our summer vacation. Diving to Petoskey from Northern Ontario was a beautiful drive. On our way to Petskey we decided to have lunch in St. Ignace, we both knew at that point we would stay a night on our way home. On our way home we stopped to shop before crossing over into St Ignace we met a nice lady who was the sales person that took care of us she was from St. Ignace and with advice we carried on to the Driftwood, now with no reservation and being peak season we really did not think we would get a room. Pulled in at lunch and we were able to get a room and not mention we were able to get in the room rather quickly. Room was completley renovated with a huge closet type room with mirror and plug in. The bed was extremley comfortable the shower had great pressure, and the washroom was quite big The only problem we had was the blind it was a light coloured blind so needless to say we were up when the sun was up, maybe a darker blind or curtain would help this minor issue The thing we enjoyed the most was that we can drive to our room door no stairs to climb. The other really nice thing was everyone respected everyone else no doors slamming in the morning very quiet. The food was great and the sports bar was good at night. the shuttle to the casino picks you up and returns you on demand. our first time in UP Michigan and we are already planning our next vacation and the driftwood will definatley be one place we will stay. thank you driftwood for the great service on last night of our vacation we will be back. You will not find a nicer, cleaner place for $62.00 a night, and the view of the lake are truly amazing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafflinaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for stopping here to stay with us during your vacation, we really appreciate your patronage. It is always nice to hear that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay here. We are very dedicated to providing every guest with a warm, friendly and pleasant experience, with customer service being our number 1 priority. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the beautiful straits area, and we hope to have you back really soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here when a family member was briefly hospitalized in St. Ignace. Based on some quick searching, it was the best off season deal. The room was clean and quiet and our dog was welcome. Staff in the restaurant were accommodating with some special needs for our ill son. The in room fridge and coffee maker were appreciated but we had to go into the bar to get ice. I specifically asked about the WIFI connection and we were supposedly put in a room that would best foster it, but it was still difficult to get a connection. Lobby staff was not as warm and friendly as we are used to in the U.P., but got the job done.

Room Tip: They have recently updated some rooms and are working on others. You need to ask for a newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your patronage, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience during your stay. We apologize if you felt that the motel desk staff was not as friendly and helpful as they could have been, we are always looking to provide every customer with the best and friendliest customer service as possible. We have recently put in new WIFI to remedy any connection issues, and apologize if it gave you any difficulty. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

The first night I stayed in the annex, it was clean but only had a stand up shower, small bathroom, older mattress.
Second night I stayed in the main section of motel, it was great! Big beautiful room, new mattress, huge bathroom, log style furniture. Wifi is a challenge to get onto.
Highly recommend eating in the bar or restaurant, fish taco is amazing along with the widow maker ale!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishrwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for stopping to stay with us, we really appreciate your patronage. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and were able to try some of the menu choices from the bar and restaurant. We hope that you come back and stay with us again, so that you can enjoy some more of the spectacular views that the straits area has to offer. Some, right from your hotel room. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here mid march for the first time and enjoyed it. The rooms are small and basic, but they have a restaurant with great lunch specials and also a sports bar that has good food and specials. It is within walking distance and right near downtown. Some of the staff wasn't the nicest but everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We really appreciate your patronage. Thank you so much for stopping here to stay with us, we are always glad to host our guests during their vacation to the Upper Peninsula. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. We apologize if you feel that some of our staff was not as friendly as they could have been during your stay. We are always striving to provide the best customer service possible, and we encourage our staff regularly to give their best effort to making our guests feel welcome here. Thank you so much for your business, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This motel was a good deal for the money. However there was no other lock on the door and the blinds did not shut so there was little privacy. We also found some food on the floor from the previous guest so I'm not sure how clean it was. The sports bar and restaurant attached to the motel was not worth the money. We paid $12.99 for a few pieces of fried fish, french fries and nothing else. The wi fi was password encrypted so we had to go to the front desk and get that.

Room Tip: This is a very expensive area so this is a great way to stay cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We really appreciate your patronage, and are so glad you were able to stay with us during your visit to the U.P. We apologize if you were unhappy with your room, it is always our goal to provide every one of our guests with the nicest room, and best customer service as possible. We do, and will continue to make it our priority that every guest's stay here is enjoyable, including in the restaurant and sports bar. We apologize if you felt that your meal experience was not as nice as it could have been. We hope to see you again really soon. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I arrived here on a Tuesday evening (off season) and was told I could have a dog and that the restaurant was open till 9 pm but the bar till 12:30. I had driven from WI so my time was off and when I came back to eat I realized they were closing soon, but they still sat me on the restaurant side. Service was average but the food was delicious. Some of the staff in the evening were rude and treated me and several others like we were bothers and made some statements that were uncalled for. The next day I talked to the owner/manager and she listened and we straightened things out and things were handled accordingly. Room was nice and included a mini fridge, pet friendly and liked that there was a restaurant/bar several steps away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_elf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your patronage, we really appreciate it. We apologize if you feel you were not treated as you should have been during your evening meal. It is our goal to ensure that every customer recieves the friendliest customer service as possible, so we do apologize for any experience you had that would suggest otherwise. We are glad that we were able to resolve the issue to your satisfaction, as that is our goal, customer satisfaction. Thank you so much for your business, and we hope to see you again really soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing