We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here mid march for the first time and enjoyed it. The rooms are small and basic, but they have a restaurant with great lunch specials and also a sports bar that has good food and specials. It is within walking distance and right near downtown. Some of the staff wasn't the nicest but everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We really appreciate your patronage. Thank you so much for stopping here to stay with us, we are always glad to host our guests during their vacation to the Upper Peninsula. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. We apologize if you feel that some of our staff was not as friendly as they could have been during your stay. We are always striving to provide the best customer service possible, and we encourage our staff regularly to give their best effort to making our guests feel welcome here. Thank you so much for your business, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
49
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
traverse city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This motel was a good deal for the money. However there was no other lock on the door and the blinds did not shut so there was little privacy. We also found some food on the floor from the previous guest so I'm not sure how clean it was. The sports bar and restaurant attached to the motel was not worth the money. We paid $12.99 for a few pieces of fried fish, french fries and nothing else. The wi fi was password encrypted so we had to go to the front desk and get that.

Room Tip: This is a very expensive area so this is a great way to stay cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We really appreciate your patronage, and are so glad you were able to stay with us during your visit to the U.P. We apologize if you were unhappy with your room, it is always our goal to provide every one of our guests with the nicest room, and best customer service as possible. We do, and will continue to make it our priority that every guest's stay here is enjoyable, including in the restaurant and sports bar. We apologize if you felt that your meal experience was not as nice as it could have been. We hope to see you again really soon. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I arrived here on a Tuesday evening (off season) and was told I could have a dog and that the restaurant was open till 9 pm but the bar till 12:30. I had driven from WI so my time was off and when I came back to eat I realized they were closing soon, but they still sat me on the restaurant side. Service was average but the food was delicious. Some of the staff in the evening were rude and treated me and several others like we were bothers and made some statements that were uncalled for. The next day I talked to the owner/manager and she listened and we straightened things out and things were handled accordingly. Room was nice and included a mini fridge, pet friendly and liked that there was a restaurant/bar several steps away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_elf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your patronage, we really appreciate it. We apologize if you feel you were not treated as you should have been during your evening meal. It is our goal to ensure that every customer recieves the friendliest customer service as possible, so we do apologize for any experience you had that would suggest otherwise. We are glad that we were able to resolve the issue to your satisfaction, as that is our goal, customer satisfaction. Thank you so much for your business, and we hope to see you again really soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I arrived here late on a Friday night, late check in was not an issue. The staff was pleasant in bar, motel& restaurant. Rooms were clean& they are definietily pet friendly. Small rooms but great value especially for a quick stay. In the restaurant the waitress I had (Roxanne) was wonderful& the next week when I stopped in again she remembered my daughter from previous week. Great service:-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for you patronage, it is very much appreciated. It is always nice to hear from our customers, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We strive to provide every customer with the best experience possible, both in the motel, and in the restaurant. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience this firsthand. Once again thank you so much for being our guest. Hope to see you again really soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband I stayed at the Driftwood Hotel last week. We were on our motorcycle, so were looking for a place that had restaurants and bars close so we could walk. The hotel was very clean. There is an excellent bar and restaurant on site. There is a small park across the street with a nice clean beach area. A very nice choice for our stay in the U.P.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvdawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your patronage, it is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here during your visit to the straits area. It is always our goal to provide every customer with the best experience possible, and we are glad you enjoyed your time here. We are pleased to hear that you also enjoyed the restaurant and sports bar, as well as some of the other fun things to check out within walking distance. Thank you so much for being our guest, and we hope to see you again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

When my husband and I are heading to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan for our annual camping trip, we usually stop in St. Ignace for the night before continuing on. When we do, we usually stay at the Driftwood. It's so convenient to be able to park the car and then have dinner and drinks at the attached sports bar and just walk on back to our room. During our most recent stay, I ordered the fish taco (yum!) and my husband ordered an old favorite - the mushroom swiss burger (on the menu it's called the Ohio State burger, but I hate to say that out loud). The rooms are clean and the price is not too bad. Nothing fancy, but reliable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_MJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, MI, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Not by any means a luxury motel/hotel, however for a basic clean well maintained motel, this is the one. Rooms are older smaller in size, however very clean with direct access to your car in front of each room as well as a great reasonable quality restaurant on site and separate sports bar. Is located directly across from two of the three ferry lines that run to Mackinac Island. The staff is very warm and helpful. They offer a $3 discount on each ferry ticket at the front desk just for the asking. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 122 and 123 are probably the best rooms, both have two beds for up to four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichTravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing