We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, pleasant, make you feel like you're at home.”
Review of Vitek's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vitek's Motel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Vermontville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple, pleasant, make you feel like you're at home.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

No frills, but rooms are spotlessly clean, pleasant atmosphere, windows you can actually open and capture the nice lake breeze. Beds feel like new, cable TV included. She lets you check out the room before taking your credit card and makes sure everything is satisfactory. And yes, she offers to fill your cooler with ice on the way out. At these rates, we can afford to go on vacation there again.

Room Tip: They're all the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I've been making Vitek's my "home" in St. Ignace for a few years now, and why not?

On our last arrival (July 4th holiday), we got our "usual" room, were greeted with hugs, and made to feel like we were genuinely welcome. (Which we are.) What other motel is going to fill your cooler with ice while you're out, so your drinks don't get warm? We love Hildegard and Art. Warm folks, but enforce the peace too. While we were there, some younger folks (staying in the Cabins, not the motel proper) got their stereo a little loud, and Hildy was right there, gently enforcing the peace.

As always, inexpensive, clean, quiet (or else), and just a darn friendly and nice place to stay. Save some money (and spend it instead at the nearby casino or on some Mackinac fudge or even a pasty) and stay here. You won't regret it.

Did I mention they also have cabins? Yep... if you want a *real* "up north" experience, ask to see a cabin, which are complete throwbacks to late 40's/early 50's northern Michigan. They're quite nice, and very vintage!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Yet another trip to St. Ignace, and another stay at Vitek's. As always, the owner (and her husband) was so friendly and helpful, the room clean as a whistle, and my stay (this time for 2 days) completely enjoyable. I can't say enough good about this place. A real "Mom-n-Pop" operation, where you're a person, not just another guest.

Leave the cookie cutter chains behind, and the other overpriced lodging. Get back to travel the way it used to be and give this place a try. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

I also recommend "Java Joe's" directly across the street for breakfast. Really good food at reasonable prices, and only steps out your door.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Vitek's is a nice, old style "Mom-n-Pop" motel. The owner was very friendly, and she had no problem letting us check out a room prior to putting down the plastic. (If you encounter any motel owner that hesitates to do so, move on!)

This is no frills. No fridge, no microwave, just a clean room, clean bathroom, and a good bed. Cable TV, quiet as all heck at night, and a very reasonable rate.

If you're in St. Ignace and need a place to stay, or are visiting Mackinaw City and don't want to pay their inflated rates, you could do a lot worse than Vitek's. I know we'll be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.4 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
K Royale Lakefront Inn
K Royale Lakefront Inn
#21 of 29 in Saint Ignace
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitek's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitek's Motel

Property: Vitek's Motel
Address: 980 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1142
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing