We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not good feeling”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were traveling UP last month and stayed in different places.we were staying there recently,had to choose it because we were traveling with pet. Its kinda pricy for what you get. Our room smell as limewhiting..maybe its because indoor pool. bed was not comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigraKate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnik1414, Owner at Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
47
43
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Based on other travelers reviews, we stayed at this inn. It was very pet friendly and accommdating. For our stay for a friday night we paid $140.00. This price included a $10.00 pet fee per dog for our two dogs. We were placed in the little annex building beside the inn. Other travelers complained about not having a microwave, however we did and a ref with a small freezer. The beds were very comfortable and clean. Overall the room was satisfactory. Breakfast was great and enjoyable. The only things we were unhappy with were there was no phone in our room, and the room when we first entered it smelled musty and not used in awhile. The smell did go away after we turned on the ac, which worked well.
Again based on other travelers reviews we thought we would get a much better price than we had. I realize that we did stay on a friday night in the summer, but for the price we paid I would have gone to a newer inn, motel, or hotel for the same money. Before writing this review I discovered if you go to this inn's website and click on coupons, they have a pet coupon for only $5.00 a night for your pet. They also have other discounts. With that being said our stay would have been much cheaper and we would have been happier with the price of the room. So I would encouarge you to check out their website before getting a room for their coupons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenjn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnik1414, Owner at Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We have many discounts thru our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great priced hotel in St Ignace, MI. If you are looking for luxury, go somewhere else. If looking for clean, great price hotel Look no farther. Close to the Highway for easy on and off. A few hours away from Major Northern attractions, But not far from boat shuttle to the Mackinaw Island. The Bridge view is awesome in the Straits State Park right across from hotel, we walked to it.
The best part is having the ever smiling Jodi, manning the hotel, Loved her! The vending machine was out of water, when Jodi went out of her way, to give my SIL a huge glass of ice water. Jodi was on top of every issue that arise! AWESOME EMPLOYEE you have there! The hotel had an outside patio facing U.S.2. We got to see TONS of Mini Coopers drive back and forth, while enjoying the outdoors with a beer and cigarette. They do need an ashtray out there though. It irritates me that another smoker was throwing her cigarettes on the ground. No elevator, didn't partake in the continental breakfast, although lots did. They also had coffee day and night. And they make popcorn every night. We were to full to eat it from our fabulous dinners. We will stay again, BONUS IF the Friendly Jodi is working :)

Room Tip: We were by the pool, I didn't hear a thing, although my hubby said he did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnik1414, Owner at Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Looking forward to hot tub. The pool water was cloudy. Hot tub did not look in operation. There were no tables, chairs etc. in the pool room. I think they were trying but..... I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2gogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnik1414, Owner at Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Sorry you had a bad experience with our pool area, we do plan on getting all new furniture, It just wasn't in our budget because we upgraded out beds and TV's this Spring. Thank you for pointing out my next upgrade...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Owosso, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for family vacation the past week.

Pros: Nightly popcorn, pool was clean, beds were comfortable, room was clean, maid service was good. Lots of channels on tv.

Cons: No supervision in pool, lots of kids unattended, ruined it for little kids. Kind of pricey for what you get, no microwave or fridge in room, A/C didn't really get the room as cool as we would have liked. WiFi only works when it wants to.

We got a stay 2 nights, get 1 night 1/2 off discount, which is why we chose this hotel. For the amenities you get and it not being near the water, I probably wouldn't have paid over $100 a night for the room, but it was good enough to sleep in (which is all we needed). The hotel has WiFi, but be advised, it only works when it wants to. Not reliable for people that need to work or have school online.

We would probably have stayed again, accept for this morning when we were leaving. We were having breakfast in the lobby (waffles, donut holes, bagels, cereal, fruit were available). An elderly woman, in her late 60's, early 70's came to get her bill. She spoke with Glen at the front desk and expressed her dissatisfaction. She said the beds were uncomfortable and squeaked every time you moved and there was hair on the bathroom floor. At first, Glen seemed concerned and apologized, asking what he could do to make it better. The woman replied that she wasn't sure, but they wouldn't be staying in the hotel again on their next trip to the area. Glen at the desk then said "Well I asked what I could do to make it better...and this is after you've used the room. If you had told me last night I could have moved you." (He doesn't work the desk at night, only in the morning). She told him that they didn't discover the beds were bad until they went to go to bed and it would have been too late to move. Mind you, she hadn't asked him to do anything, like a discount or anything. He then said, in a sarcastic, snarky tone.."Well I could buy new beds, would that make you happy? Is that want you want me to do?" There were about 12 people in the lobby at the time and another customer walked by him, shook his head and said "wow..."

For this incident we will not stay here again. I don't know if Glen is the owner or just the manager, but there was a better way to handle this situation than to get nasty with her. The woman just walked away. They have now lost her as a customer and myself. Our extended family travels that way quite a bit and I've expressed to my friends and family not to stay here if this is the way customers are treated. Poor customer service after you've taken someone's money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton County, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked online. Pet friendly guided us to them. Don't usually travel with the pets. Didn't realize they charged extra for pets ($10) per pet per night. And is not included when booking online. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Not a new place like most places up north. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were traveling thru the area and decided we needed to stop for the night (Saturday, July 6th). Unfortunately we had our pet with us..so wasn't sure if we'd be able to find a place. After stopping at the first place we saw and asking about their pet policy, they directed us to the Voyager Inn. They did have a room for us and our pet for an extra small fee. The staff were extremely nice and courteous. Free popcorn which the kids loved. Our room was very nice, we were pleasantly surprised for a small inn and also one that allows pets. I have allergies to many animals and was worried that I would have trouble. However, I had a great experience and not one problem! Breakfast was very good too..bagels, cereal, toast, English muffins, donut holes (really good and fresh!), fresh fruit, milk, oj and coffee. Although we don't travel much with our dog, we would definitely stay here again without her!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnik1414, Owner at Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your business and your review, we appreciate your input and will do our best to make your next stay even better. Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#7 of 29 in Saint Ignace
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#20 of 29 in Saint Ignace
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
2.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace

Property: Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Address: 750 US Highway 2 W, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with two stories, elevator, indoor pool, hot tub, free popcorn nightly, tanning salon, and atv & snowmobile rentals.Very friendly staffs, clean rooms, free casino tokens, and discount Mackinac ferry tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Inn Of Saint Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing