We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Sucked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Midland, Michigan
1 review
“Motel Sucked”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We got the last room of the night. Come to find out both beds were full of bugs. Two different kinds to be exact. Room was clean except for that. My mom was sleeping under her covers and was bothered by something bitting her in her neck. She pulled the covers back and there was bugs all over the place under the covers. Then we said what the hell lets check the other bed and sure enough the were bugs under the covers there also. She was bit 8 times. We got out of there in a heartbeat. That was enough to make u sick. I will never stay at another Comfort in ever again And i wouldnt recomd this plase to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    105
    79
    41
    36
See reviews for
148
131
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Road Warrior
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and while its very basic, overall I still enjoy it. Yes, its overpriced for what you get but everything in Mackinaw/St. Ignace is, that's what you get in a touristy area.

My room was clean and reasonably comfortable. Realistically, the hotel probably hasn't seen a single upgrade since Regan was President but its not exactly a dump either. It's just a nice, clean, basic Comfort Inn. If it wasn't in a tourist spot you'd probably pay around $59 a night for it as that is what its worth.

One minor inconvenience is that the hotel has an odd layout and due to stairs many of the rooms are not accessible when using the luggage cart. There is an elevator but once you get to the floor itself there are also stairs so the cart is somewhat useless to take all the way to your room. It's really no biggie just a kind of stupid design.

The best part of the room is the balcony and lake view. They have a small section of beach in back of the hotel but it's never been very busy any time I've ever been there so it's kind of peaceful to sit out on the balcony and look at the lake. Getting up early in the AM to watch the sunrise, the swans, geese and sea gulls on the lake is really enjoyable and makes any other shortcomings of the hotel seem insignificant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Staff were friendly. Room was clean but facility needs to be updated. Screen door to balcony had been ripped and not repaired...saw nearby room had door "repaired" with tape. Continental breakfast was very limited in choices with limited seating. Coffee not good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hoosiervalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Ithaca, Mi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I have mixed feelings about the Comfort Inn Beachside.

On a positive note, our daily rate was average for the area, the check-in and check-out staff were very welcoming, the pool and whirlpool were clean, we were shuttled to the Kewadin Casino free of charge, and the free continental breakfast was more than adequate with waffles, cereals, juices, pastries, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc.

On the downside, the shuttle was offered through the Casino not the hotel. This means that when you're ready to return from either dinner or gambling at Kewadin Casino, you may have to wait for the shuttle to return from Mackinaw City, which could take awhile if it had just left the casino. Also, the hotel's breakfast area was quite small in ratio to the number of guests the hotel could hold, many people were left standing, waiting for tables, or eating in the lobby where guests check in and out.

As for the hotel room, the chairs were noticably stained. When I mentioned it upon checking out, the staff did say it's being replaced this winter. Everything else in the room was clean, from the bedding to the bathroom.

If you stop to take in the room's view overlooking the lake, it makes up for the minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marquette Mi
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We will never again stay at a Comfort inn...the rooms were disgusting, mold in the bathrooms. when we pulled out the couch bed there were dead insects, candy wrappers, and a whole mess of other things, beds had crumbs in them, hallways and rooms were filled with bugs and spiders. The hotel staff didn't seem to care about anything, and were almost down right rude at check out when we said the price we were charged was not was we were quoted when we called.
over all horrible hotel experience

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Great heart shaped whirlpool suite with walk out to patio/beachfront! Great pool!

Office/breakfast room located in detached building up the hill from hotel would be inconvenient in bad weather or for handicapped.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyadventures6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Went by the reviews here and wanted to try the St Ignace side of the bridge. Stayed on the north wing 2nd floor larger end room(62.99 mature trav rate by Choice)(both good recommendations)which was spacious and good view of Mack Island. Balcony small,beds ok,bath avg with sink outside of bath.Pull out couch(did't use)
Typical cont breakfast but waffle maker as most are now offering this.Pool looked nice but di not use.Don't go for the beach as has been mentioned.
Quiet town as compared to Mackinaw city and would try another hotel.Holiday Inn adjacent.Just a one night stay on way to Wawa Ont.

  • Liked — large room with lakeview
  • Disliked — avg,nothing wrong
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seescokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#15 of 29 in Saint Ignace
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Property: Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing