We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice views and nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice views and nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Overall I was quite impressed with this hotel and will likely stay here again. The hotel staff were friendly and the beds were comfortable. I also loved having the Lakeside view. The hotel is also conveniently located just north (but within walking distance) of the hubbub of the waterfront business distract.

The reasons I gave this venue four rather than five stars:
1. The hotel uses styrofoam everything at breakfast. This is a major detractor in my book. It makes me somewhat ill thinking of all of the chemicals consumed by hotel guests as well as the waste produced every single day.
2. Our room was not quiet. Guests above sounded like elephants up until 11:30 pm and again starting at 5:30 am.
3. The waterfront area is covered in goose poo, which detracts from its appeal for an evening stroll.

Room Tip: It is worth springing the extra money to get a room facing the water rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brookecrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    79
    72
    34
    31
See reviews for
111
104
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family and I stayed here recently. The view is nice and the rooms are clean, however management and the owner are awful! The owner is a lawyer, author, and hotel owner, so good luck if you have any issues because he is "too busy" to deal with it. The pool area is very dangerous. While we were there, many occurrences of slips and falls happened. My son fell as well, one lady fell and hit her head and 911 had to come, another boy was hospitalized. We called the front desk to ask them to mop up the pool area but the manager refused and said that there was a sign to use caution so they did not have to do anything. I actually went and video taped the area. While I was doing so, 3 people slipped! He was extremely rude and abusive. If you read reviews on other sites, many others had the same issue. I have filed with the Chamber of Commerce, the BBB. This owner and manager are also affiliated with the Holiday Inn next door. I would not recommend either. One more thing, beware if you shower there. The temps are not regulated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean but very basic, mini-mini fridge and no microwave. Breakfast was hot and stocked but there enough chairs or seating. The shower went from warm to cold to extremely hot. The pool deck was extremely slippery, I'm not sure how it ever passed an inspection. I saw several kids fall and a woman fall and hit the back of her head. Seems like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Very spotty wi-fi, it went in and out during our entire stay. I think I would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia MI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Found old food in the fridge, lights burnt out and missing in bathroom. Also, no extra toilet paper and no facial tissues. Kitchenette has only spoons, no other cutlery.
Next day, returned to find that housekeeping left our used coffee cups on night table, did not empty trash containers or replenish the coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmhk1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Overall ok, but not memorable. Crowded so-so breakfast. Good location and excellent views from rooms. Chocolate store just up the road easy walking distance was good. Overall, you could probably do better elsewhere, but if others are full, Breakers was ok.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent one night at this motel and we sure were surprised. We had no reservation and got a 2 queen room with a view of the lake and balcony. Front desk is in a separate building but had no problem with parking. Our room rate was $100 and that included a breakfast buffet for each of us. The buffets included oatmeal, scrambled eggs, muffins, bagels,toast, sausage and a waffle iron. There were 4 of us. We decided to go to breakfast early and we were very happy we did. It got very crowded in the breakfast room right off the lobby. Yes you had to leave the motel building and walk just across the parking lot. They only had one girl restocking the food and man did she work hard but with a cheery attitude! She worked so hard we all gave her a $2 tip from each of us. Wi-Fi worked. The beach behind the motel had fire pits if you wanted to have a fire on the beach and roast marshmallows. Overall, it was a very good value and the front desk staff was very helpful with all of our questions.

Room Tip: We didn't need the A/C running, we just left the balcony door open. We were a group of menopausa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FERN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived to the hotel, tired from our trip and the location of the lobby is in a odd location and hard to find. Not only that but there WAS NO PARKING AVAILABLE! We had to park far away, on some random grassy location that probably wasn't even legal. The staff didn't seem concerned about it either. We get to our room after carting our luggage from a long distance and none of the lights were working! So searching in the dark, we find that all the lights were unplugged....you would think housekeeping would notice something like that. We lay down to sleep and there were long black hairs on the bed....GROSS. So after a disappointing night, we were once again disappointed when going to the "continental breakfast" where there was absolutely NOTHING LEFT! We were there on a Wednesday, not even a weekend. No staff seemed even slightly concerned that people weren't getting fed. It was ridiculous! We paid $150 for the worst stay of our lives. I have never left a hotel so pissed. The view is nice, but that is about it. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY! YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Room Tip: View is nice but not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#7 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Property: Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Address: 927 North State Street, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing