We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent one night at this motel and we sure were surprised. We had no reservation and got a 2 queen room with a view of the lake and balcony. Front desk is in a separate building but had no problem with parking. Our room rate was $100 and that included a breakfast buffet for each of us. The buffets included oatmeal, scrambled eggs, muffins, bagels,toast, sausage and a waffle iron. There were 4 of us. We decided to go to breakfast early and we were very happy we did. It got very crowded in the breakfast room right off the lobby. Yes you had to leave the motel building and walk just across the parking lot. They only had one girl restocking the food and man did she work hard but with a cheery attitude! She worked so hard we all gave her a $2 tip from each of us. Wi-Fi worked. The beach behind the motel had fire pits if you wanted to have a fire on the beach and roast marshmallows. Overall, it was a very good value and the front desk staff was very helpful with all of our questions.

Room Tip: We didn't need the A/C running, we just left the balcony door open. We were a group of menopausa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FERN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 386 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived to the hotel, tired from our trip and the location of the lobby is in a odd location and hard to find. Not only that but there WAS NO PARKING AVAILABLE! We had to park far away, on some random grassy location that probably wasn't even legal. The staff didn't seem concerned about it either. We get to our room after carting our luggage from a long distance and none of the lights were working! So searching in the dark, we find that all the lights were unplugged....you would think housekeeping would notice something like that. We lay down to sleep and there were long black hairs on the bed....GROSS. So after a disappointing night, we were once again disappointed when going to the "continental breakfast" where there was absolutely NOTHING LEFT! We were there on a Wednesday, not even a weekend. No staff seemed even slightly concerned that people weren't getting fed. It was ridiculous! We paid $150 for the worst stay of our lives. I have never left a hotel so pissed. The view is nice, but that is about it. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY! YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Room Tip: View is nice but not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was formerly known as a comfort inn. But don't mention that to the front desk staff - they get quite offended and snippy!! (What happened to the desk staff that was there for years?)

View is spectacular - the room was adequate. Housekeeping needs a lot of work - we stayed a week and some days they barely made an effort to "clean" our room. The head housekeeper was quick to let us know how short staffed they were...

The breakfast room was the biggest disappointment by far. Table layout is terrible. No fruit or yogurt or eggs available for days on end... Just cereal, stale bread items.

On the positive side, the new bed was very comfortable and my wife really liked the white furniture. Now if they had only fixed the lock on the door that fell off last summer.

We have stayed at this hotel (comfort inn) every summer for the past 10 years. Not sure if we will return... The price has increased but the level of service hasn't.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Gmerrill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed one night, arriving after a long day on the road from Canada. The price was high; the room was adequate at best. The toilet leaked around the base. The little refrigerator didn't keep our soft drinks cold overnight. The continental breakfast kept us going until we could find a McDonald's for a decent meal. We won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank MEB55304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staff is very friendly rooms are nice and clean. no place to keep your bike if you plan on going to the island had to leave them on my car the whole time. You will get fined of they are in the room. the nice beach front was all was covered in geese.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zombicon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just left Breakers Resort, the rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were soo Nice but the front desk Employees were so rude!! When you walked through the door they never even acknowledge us!! The Breakfast Bar was not as advertised, it's more of a continental breakfast! They do have a waffle maker which would have been great for my 2 year old but we got there at 9:30 and it was out of mix, so we went to the front desk to see if the could make more, they said yes. We waited 20 mins, still no waffle mix, went and asked again, she said it takes a really long time to make, I said ok, we waited another 30 mins and still no mix!!! In the mean time their were so many other people that came in with kids and could not feed them but only cereal because they were out of everything else and would not fill it. They were also out of every coffee, an older couple was very disappointed and left! For the price of the rooms we thought it would be cheaper to stay and not have to buy breakfast every morning but we were wrong. We still had to go out!! By the way they never maid the waffle mix that morning, they just kept pushing us off until everyone left. Mission accomplished, they saved money!!! The pool and hot tub are really nice but all the floors are tile and very slippery, we seen several people slip! Overall I would never stay here again, not for the price!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraVan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This place was horrible, especially the management. It is overpriced, not very clean, and there are no amenities. At the end of our stay, the manager wanted to charge us for spilling nail polish in the bathroom. What's worse, when we were there, they (the city/area) had a major bug/may fly problem. Because of a hole in our screen, we opened the door one night and the room flooded, I mean flooded, with bugs. When we requested a room change, the staff refused. The room was not inhabitable, but the staff refused! If it wasn't our last night there, I would've left. They eventually let us move rooms, and then tried to charge us for it when we checked out!! Horrible experience. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren_A_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $54 - $2,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing