We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, pretty nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for two nights during a recent vacation to the Mackinaw area. We booked a non-smoking room with two queen beds, and a sleeper sofa and beach front. The room was located at the end of the hallway, and was a nice size, larger than your average room.

On the upside, the hotel looked nice. The gal at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub area looked nice, although we did not take advantage of them. The room was VERY clean, and well stocked with pillows and towels. The bed was VERY comfortable. The chairs on the balcony were a larger size than you have at most hotels. Nice. There was a refrigerator in the room, along with a coffee maker, iron & ironing board. The view was nice, although we were on the south end of the hotel and there was a huge weeping willow tree blocking much of the advertised 'Island view'. (If the view is important to you, request a room on the north side of the hotel.) The beach was very quiet and grassy in part, and sandy in others. There were plenty of chairs and lounge chairs for hotel guests to relax in on the beach.

The continental breakfast was more than adequate. The food was well stocked and the gal working there was pleasant. It included waffles, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, apples, oranges, two types of cereal (fruit loops and raisin bran) assorted danish & muffins, bagels, toast, juice, water, milk & coffee.

On the downside, is the hotel's design. The office and breakfast room are not connected to the hotel itself. They are across the parking lot and up a small hill from the hotel. For those with walking problems (especially up & down hill), wanting to take advantage of the free breakfast, this might pose a bit of a problem. (There are no parking spots, up the hill, by the breakfast room itself).

Ice machines are located on two of the four floors.

The other design flaw would be that each floor has a series of eight steps that you will have to go down, depending on the location of your room. The elevator is located in the center of the hotel and if you look at the picture of the hotel you can see that the hotel has a center section, with two wings that angle off. Those two wings are where you encounter the series of eight steps. If maneuvering the steps poses an issue for you, (physically or with your luggage) be sure to request a room in the center section, because those rooms are accessible without using any steps.

All in all, it is a nice hotel with a friendly staff and the price makes crossing the bridge from Mackinaw City worth the drive over.

We would certainly stay here again, although probably in the center section, just for the convenience of moving our luggage without steps, and for a better view.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Blaze123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed at two hotels in the area, this one and the Hamilton Inn Select in Mackinaw City. After the Hamilton Inn, this was a let down. On the plus side, the price was good and the room was clean. Another plus was the soothing sound of waves lapping onto the quiet beach outside.
The downside to this property started with the design. The lobby and breakfast room are seperate and up a small hill, across the parking lot. Not good if you have independent children. On rainy, snowy, and slushy days, housekeeping staff must have problems wheeling over linens and keeping them clean - they were out in the open air near the lobby building. There were also carts of dirty linens left in the elevator both days - or perhaps the same cart?
Another architectural feature which was puzzling and unwelcome were the half sets of stairs on each floor between my room and the elevator. Not handy with luggage.
The desk personnel were busy talking to others and on the phone every time I tried to ask for directions. The breakfast room attendant ignored my question about where to find silverware and stood in a corner glowering at all the guests - she never smiled or said a word to anyone in the time I was breakfasting. I certainly did not feel welcome.
In all, it was a fair value, but if I had my choice again, I would fork over the extra money and stay at the Hamilton.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSciGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Very attractive from the road. Our room was a little outdated (mauve and gray decor). The room was very clean, but needed a few minor repairs (torn wallpaper, loose tiles on back-splash surrounding Jacuzzi, outside door handle for patio door was broken off). The beach was not the gorgeous sandy beach I imagined, but I hadn't come for that so it wasn't that big of a deal (I wanted to stay there for the view of Mackinac Island).

Pool and hot tub were nice. Very clean. Breakfast was great. Everything was fresh, very large selection (make your own waffles, fruit, pastries, coffee, juice, etc).

If you plan to travel to Mackinac Island, we used Star Line ferry (cheapest). There are two docks in St. Ignace. We recommend the railroad dock. We left from the Main dock, our ferry drove 5 minutes over to the railroad dock, loaded more passengers and then left for the island. On the return trip, the Railroad dock passengers were the first ones off. Not a big deal but would have saved a little time
to depart from there.

Mackinac Grille is the best restaurant in our opinion. If you ask the front desk clerk, s/he will give you a preferred seating card which means no waiting in line....your party will be given the next available table.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smidgen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

had a great time in St. Ignace. Our room was a hot tub room with a cozy heart shapped tub, very cute. Room was very clean, and cleaned everyday, even if we left after 11a (check out time). Enjoyed the view and balconey. The beach was a little dirty, but still nice. Had great service, only once was someone rude to us, in our 4 night stay. Very close to attractions, nice downtown. Good places to eat near by, but expensive. We took full advantage of the mini-fridge and bought lunch stuff, snacks, and pop to keep in our room. There were alot of seagulls, but everywhere we went, water or not you seen seagulls. Very much enjoyed our stay and will return to comfort inn.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fowler421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Beach was unclean. Duck poop all around. Have to walk up hill to office for breakfast. Breakfast was hard micro muffins. Desk people not friendly. Better places to stay in area.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank TravelwithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Given that St. Ignace is a resort area, this hotel was nice for the price but the experience was only average. The staff was very nice and responded to all requests to the extent they could. Our room was supposed to be non smoking but there were ash trays in the room. The breakfast area was very crowded for the size of the hotel.
Suggest getting a lakeview room

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Our family goes to the St. Ignace Comfort Inn every year. It is always very clean and the rooms are comfortable, (the corner rooms are more spacious). The staff has always been nice and kind and will help you with whatever you need. I enjoy our time here and so does my family.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zajko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $40 - $2,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing