We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable, but barely.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Passable, but barely.....”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in early August 2013 in a two queen bed room on the first floor. I didn't even go to the first room they assigned as I discovered it was right next to the pool and the vending machine. Why assign anyone there if the hotel is not full? There is also tile with significant grout lines in front of about six rooms near the pool. Listening to people pulling suitcases on that tile would be terrible. The walls are thin, the hotel older and kept up only to passable standards. The place feels more like a budget inn than a Comfort Inn. I expect Comfort Inn to be mid-level and this place has a cheap budget feel. The breakfast was pretty bad with one waffle maker, packaged type muffins and rolls and round egg patties that may well have been powdered. The breakfast room is also up a small hill in the front desk building. If it is raining, it wouldn't be fun getting there. The room itself was mostly clean, but tired and well worn. I think the rates reflect the Comfort Inn name and not the quality of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    99
    78
    40
    34
See reviews for
136
125
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very disappointed. Would never stay here again. First room was musty & switched to another. This room doesn't smell but the hotel needs some maintenance. Most rooms require using stairs. Door locks require slamming the door. Bathroom doorknob almost falling out. (I fixed it.) Ultra-thin doors, walls and ceilings means we're listening to every action in the rooms around us. Walking. Washing. Water running. Sneezing. Really. I can hear the neighbor sneeze. That's bad! We upgraded to a larger room and other than more floor space, the upgrade is not worth it. Fogged up door-wall with a broken lock doesn't allow a clear view of waterfront. Don't be fooled by the "beach". It's a bird park. Gulls and geese all over the place. I wouldn't walk out there on a dare.

Room Tip: My best advice? Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorCityChuckLHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

nothing made it special, except the price....top floor worked well, extra stairs no problem...
Breakfast good...Good value...Wrong coffee provided for the pot, I improvised, and it worked!

girl at the desk, very nice...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Rented a 2 queen bed room July 11-15, they were average rooms, not modern. We did not accept the first floor room assigned to us, smelled moldy. Bed cover very dirty. Changed to a 2nd floor room. Employees were very helpful and courteous. Only a few rooms in the center of the building are on the same floor as the elevator. We always had to carry bags and cooler up and down stairs. This was a big negative factor for us. Great view of the water. Beach was small, bring your own chairs. Not designed for swimming. Watch where you step, goose droppings are everywhere. Next time I would not rent there if avoidable. Strictly good for short stay and make sure you get a room in the center on same floor as elevator. Big plus is it’s next door to Java Joe’s.

Room Tip: Strictly good for short stay and make sure you get a room in the center on same floor as elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeManMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here one night while vacationing in the U.P. I was warmly welcomed by the front desk staff member (sans name tag) in the office near the street. I then drove down near the main hotel building, walked past the inviting indoor pool (which I didn't take advantage of) and took the elevator to my room. There are a few stairs to walk down if you have a room on the wings but this was no problem for me. I entered my room and found it clean, new and wonderful. I wish they had left the AC on, during this sweltering day but the view more than made up for it.

You should always request a beach view. Gazing out at Lake Huron from the fourth floor was truly relaxing. The room had a dorm size refrigerator that I didn't expect so that was nice. The bed was comfortable, the linens clean an new looking. I would have preferred a chair without arm rails, but I simply slid the table easily toward the bed and sat on it for all of my computer and internet travails. The older model AC eventually cooled the room and with the blackout curtains I easily slept in til 9:30 a.m.

After I awoke and swept back the curtains the bright sun filled the room and along with the view filled my soul. They literally are beach side, as about 20 yards from the exit is a 10 yard strip of sandy beach and beyond that the lapping shores of Lake Huron.

If you are vacationing in the U.P. or planning to go to Mackinac Island, this is definitely the hotel to stay with.

Room Tip: Request a lake view or you'll end up with a lovely view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JokerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel staff was very nice and welcoming, rooms were clean. End of the hall rooms did require a few steps down from the elevator, keep in mind if hauling lots of bags! Side entryways were infested with bugs and mosquitos, front desk and breakfast area in a separate building from the guest rooms. Breakfast was the usual but good, staff did an excellent job of keeping things cleaned and stocked. Rates were inflated for the 07/04 holiday, as were all properties in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of hallways require some steps up/down from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the best priced hotels for a summer stay in area. However, the hotel is older and could use some remodeling. We got a corner room which was very big. The sink is outside of the bathroom but around the corner so a bit awkward. The view was very pretty at sunrise. It says beachside in name but this isn't a beach to play and swim at. Pool was a good size but over chlorinated. The breakfast is a bit of a hike but the staff kept it well stocked and a better than average breakfast. We were mostly concerned with safety in hotel. Outside entrance doors do not have locks to them. Anyone could walk into the hotel at any hour of the day/night. There were lots of rooms that were left opened because they were unoccupied. Wondered if anyone could just walk into the hotel and go into one of the open rooms. This may not occur in this area of MI. However, most travelers prefer a safe and secure hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#16 of 29 in Saint Ignace
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 29 in Saint Ignace
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Property: Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing