We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
1 review
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

With a bit more cleaning effort by the staff it could have been a much better experience for us. Musty smell, broken lights, and crud on floor. Ten more minutes cleaning and some general maintenance would go along way to make it much better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnkrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    90
    76
    38
    34
See reviews for
127
117
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked in for one night and ended up staying four. The room was large, the water hot and the view from the balcony outstanding. At night the moon comes up, shines across the water and right into your room. A perfect place to stay if you want to visit MacKinaw Island or for a home away from home if you want to take a series of circle trips up into the UP or down to Alpena or over to Petosky to view fall colour. Quiet and convenient with the added benefit of the beach or in door pool. Room 318 with the jacuzzi is great.

Room Tip: Room 318 has a great jacuzzi and is a nice size. View from the balcony is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Well, it was cheaper in the off season! But the rain/fog messed up any chance of photography. As others have noted, the hotel layout is a little strange. The central elevator takes you up, but then only a half-dozen rooms are at that level, You have to go down 8 steps on either end of the building to get to the rest of the rooms. I've seen this in europe, but that was where adjacent properties had been joined into a makeshift hotel. No excuse for it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DayTripDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was the first (and last) time that I have stayed on the Saint Ignace side of the bridge. I have always stayed in Mackinaw City. I am used to a bounty of things to do and a variety of restaurants, I missed that in Saint Ignace.
And the Comfort Inn?? I won't stay here again. Yes, I was in a room with a view, but it was not worth the price.
The office is up the hill from the Motel so it is a bit of a hike to back and forth. Our door key, or the door lock didn't work well, we had to try repeatedly to get the door to unlock. The room was large, I think at one time it may have been a double king...so there was a very large open space totally devoid of furnishings.
We went to the casino (drove our own car) and when we returned, there were no parking spaces left in the lot, so we made our own and got away with it.
I have no idea what the breakfast offering was as it was up the hill in a small dining area off of the check-in desk, and the place was packed....many guests did not have the opportunity to eat and just left.
The pool closed too early for us to have a chance to enjoy it.
I recommend that you stay in Mackinaw City, and if it is the casino that attracts you, be aware that they will reimburse your bridge toll....both ways.

Room Tip: I paid extra for an upgraded room with a view, I was very disappointed. Don't waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japetek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent one night here after our day visit to Mackinac Island. This hotel has an unusual set up as the office is at the top of the hill and away from the motel which is at the bottom of the hill. It makes it a bit awkward as there is no place for parking near the office except for one car under the car port. Also it means walking to the office for their breakfast and since it was raining that was not pleasant. The motel itself is multi-levels and we were three women traveling and had lots of luggage. We were assigned to the 2nd floor but discovered after exiting the elevator that we had to go down several steps to our room and we had everything loaded on a cart. We called the desk and they graciously moved us to a room on that level. We saw a lovely sunrise over Lake Huron.

Room Tip: The side next to the lake has beautiful view. Ask if you need to go down steps to your room on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen44Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Quiet, clean and comfortable. Nice continental breakfast is included with the room but was always too crowded and busy for us to try. We will definitely be returning to this place for the truck and tractor show next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel without knowing there was a rally over the weekend for tractors and big trucks. The town was crowded and, as one might expect, the hotel rates went up because of the crowds in the area. While big rigs and tractors are not events I would normally visit, it was impossible to ignore as it was the dominant feature during our stay. I was impressed with the time and money some of the drivers had spent to make the cabs comfortable for long drives with "touches of home" such as deer antlers hung over one of the beds in one cab along with leather interiors, chrome foot pedals and large chrome gear shifting mechanisms. We missed the parade of the trucks but did hear the multitude of loud horns as the parade went in front of the hotel about 10:30 in the evening.

The room was overpriced based on the quality of the accommodations. Obviously, we should have been more careful to inquire before making a reservation as to why it was so expensive. At the time, I assumed it was in an area with expensive hotels and the cost was high because it was the end of the summer season.

The room was fairly comfortable as the sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable.

Normally, in a hotel such as this, we would expect a desk for a computer, a TV that worked well, and functioning electrical outlets. In this case, there was no desk, the TV was an old color TV that did not work well (but would bring in some channels), and limited electrical outlets.

The decor was typical of hotel chains from the 1980's. Fortunately, the mattress, drapes and carpet had been updated.

The TV remote did not work on a regular basis. We tried new batteries and eventually got a new remote. The real problem was an old TV set that should have been replaced some time ago. Also, the door lock would sometime work and sometimes it would not. I developed a way to try to quickly unlock the door with the key card before it would lock the door again. We had less than 2 seconds to get into the room before the green light went out.

There was a decent view of the lake from our room. The building is dated, as indicated by the decor, and we could hear people taking showers, walking along the floor, etc.

The $149 per night fee included breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast room was not large enough to accommodate the number of guests. Most of these motel breakfasts are an insult to good health in any event so missing it was not a major disappointment. After viewing two rows of people congregating in front of the muffins and bagels to get their sugar high and watered down coffee, we found a breakfast place down the street with fresh eggs, coffee and toast and decided to live with having had to pay a premium price for an outdated hotel room.

St Ignace is reminiscent of an different era of travel. Many of the motels were probably constructed several decades ago and the restaurants in the area are largely lower priced ones that provide good value for decent quantities of comfort food. I felt like we were traveling in the 1960's as the people were friendly and the older motels provide an air of familiarity for those of us who traveled in that era and, of course, without knowing about cell phones, internet access, and flat screen TV's.

All in all, an interesting visit to a beautiful area of the country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#9 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#16 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Property: Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
#3 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing