We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, Dated Decor but Good View and Comfortable Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel without knowing there was a rally over the weekend for tractors and big trucks. The town was crowded and, as one might expect, the hotel rates went up because of the crowds in the area. While big rigs and tractors are not events I would normally visit, it was impossible to ignore as it was the dominant feature during our stay. I was impressed with the time and money some of the drivers had spent to make the cabs comfortable for long drives with "touches of home" such as deer antlers hung over one of the beds in one cab along with leather interiors, chrome foot pedals and large chrome gear shifting mechanisms. We missed the parade of the trucks but did hear the multitude of loud horns as the parade went in front of the hotel about 10:30 in the evening.

The room was overpriced based on the quality of the accommodations. Obviously, we should have been more careful to inquire before making a reservation as to why it was so expensive. At the time, I assumed it was in an area with expensive hotels and the cost was high because it was the end of the summer season.

The room was fairly comfortable as the sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable.

Normally, in a hotel such as this, we would expect a desk for a computer, a TV that worked well, and functioning electrical outlets. In this case, there was no desk, the TV was an old color TV that did not work well (but would bring in some channels), and limited electrical outlets.

The decor was typical of hotel chains from the 1980's. Fortunately, the mattress, drapes and carpet had been updated.

The TV remote did not work on a regular basis. We tried new batteries and eventually got a new remote. The real problem was an old TV set that should have been replaced some time ago. Also, the door lock would sometime work and sometimes it would not. I developed a way to try to quickly unlock the door with the key card before it would lock the door again. We had less than 2 seconds to get into the room before the green light went out.

There was a decent view of the lake from our room. The building is dated, as indicated by the decor, and we could hear people taking showers, walking along the floor, etc.

The $149 per night fee included breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast room was not large enough to accommodate the number of guests. Most of these motel breakfasts are an insult to good health in any event so missing it was not a major disappointment. After viewing two rows of people congregating in front of the muffins and bagels to get their sugar high and watered down coffee, we found a breakfast place down the street with fresh eggs, coffee and toast and decided to live with having had to pay a premium price for an outdated hotel room.

St Ignace is reminiscent of an different era of travel. Many of the motels were probably constructed several decades ago and the restaurants in the area are largely lower priced ones that provide good value for decent quantities of comfort food. I felt like we were traveling in the 1960's as the people were friendly and the older motels provide an air of familiarity for those of us who traveled in that era and, of course, without knowing about cell phones, internet access, and flat screen TV's.

All in all, an interesting visit to a beautiful area of the country.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in early September. We booked a room online, but needed to change the location of the room due to my husband's physical problem with using stairs. The staff could not have been nicer about helping us find a room that better suited his needs. We had a clean, spacious room on the first floor near the indoor pool, and access to the beach. The hotel was quiet and had many amenities available. The Continental breakfast was fabulous! What a great selection of foods, fruits, and beverages to choose from. Altogether a very pleasant stay for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night while traveling through the U.P. One side of the hotel has nice views of Lake Huron. The other side (with a cheaper price) faces the parking lot. The price is good and you get an average room for what you pay. Bed was OK. The plus side: the hotel is right on the water and you can sit on the beach. You're close to downtown St. Ignace and can easily tour around. Next time, I would probably stay on the southern side of the bridge in Mackinaw City for more selection of hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pobrecito33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed only one night on our way to the island. The room was fine. We had a balcony with a view of the lake. We loved being able to leave the door open (there was a screen) during the night for fresh air and the sounds of the waves lapping the shore. Our biggest disappointment was not being able to see the bridge from the hotel. Breakfast was very good although in a different building so had to walk outside to get to it. We enjoyed using the pool (not heated) and hot tub. The room water was very hard so shampooing my hair was not up to my expectations.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a lake view with patio or balcony but a few do not and overlook the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gertrude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We picked this hotel because we were planning to go to Mackinac Island for a day and this hotel was convenient to the ferry boat operators. It also is on the water with a sand beach for part of the distance to the water and then a rocky shoreline. Not a beach you would swim off of.
Our room was clean, modern, large and the furniture was comfortable. There were rooms overlooking the water with balconys but we had booked a room without a water view. They had a nice hot breakfast in the morning with sausage,waffles,eggs,rolls with gravy. Also yogurt, fruit, and sweet rolls. The only downside was that the grounds had alot of geese droppings on the walkways to the beach, the lawn, and the areas of the beach. So, you really had to watch where you were stepping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of friends. We had a lovely view of the water from our room. The rooms are standard with two queen size beds with the sink and mirror near the door. The bathroom has a tub and shower with a toilet.

There is a nice sandy beach area for sitting and relaxing viewing the water. However I wouldn't recommend swimming in the water here as the shore is rocky and feels mushy and slimy. The hotel does have a very nice indoor pool which we all enjoyed including the quite large Jacuzzi.

This hotel does have an hallway that is level with the elevator for some of the rooms but the rooms toward the sides is reached by going down several stairs. So if you have problems with stairs make sure you ask for a room that is near the elevator.

The breakfast room is in a separate building by the road that also houses the check in office. Our room included breakfast which was a nice treat. You could make yourself fresh waffles, egg sausage breakfast sandwich, cereal etc. All was very good. Great way to say some money too.

If you want to visit the nearby Casino ask for the card that gives you $5.00 towards free casino play. For having my birthday that month and being my first time I got added money to play with. Very nice Casino at Kewadin. They have a bar with live entertainment. We all enjoyed getting up and dancing. The one down side is the cigarette smoke. It drove some of our group to sit outside of the casino. Too bad it is not a smoke free environment.

There are some great restaurants in town we tried The Galley (fantastic whitefish pate here, never would have thought to try this but others recommended it - so glad I did), Mackinac Grille Restaurant & Waterfront Patio Bar was a great place to eat and then go for a walk to the light house. If you are there after dark on a Saturday night you can view the fireworks from the outside patio.

It is just a short drive to the ferry. We were able to pick up coupons at nearby restaurants. There are also coupon books in Makinaw to get discounts off of stores, restaurants etc. We had a beautiful day on Mackinac Island. it is such a pleasure to just walk around and enjoy the shore, view of the houses and shopping area. Some of our group enjoyed renting bikes to circle around the Island. Enjoyed this trip so much hope to go back soon.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others

Room Tip: I believe most of the rooms are lake front with balconies. Lots of seagulls on the grounds at certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We always stay in Choice Hotels. We don't look for fancy, but good value. This hotel was one of the best Choice Hotels.

The staff was helpful. Our room was not ready, we were a little early. She gave us another room. This one was on the second floor with a better view of the lake.

The room was clean. A nice patio to watch the sunrise. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast included eggs and sausage, waffles, fruit, ect. The staff encouraged us to get breakfast even though we were early.

We will go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MESClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#16 of 29 in Saint Ignace
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $46 - $1,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing