We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellenct value and near ferry to Mackinac Island.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful views of Mackinac Island.

Modern, clean, comfortable, large indoor swimming pool, beachfront, hot breakfast all for $63.

If you plan to go to Mackinac Island and you're in doubt whether to catch a ferry from Mackinaw City or St Ignace, I'd recommend this hotel near ferry in a quaint beautiful town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here for Labor Day weekend and booked room the day before we checked in. This was the cheapest room I could find on short notice, but would not my first choice in a different situation. You can tell they attempted to update the room, but overlooked basic craftsmanship which made it feel cheap. The lady at the front desk was EXTREMELY rude to the people that checked in before us. I did have a great experience with the agent that checked us out though, she was plenty helpful. The beach was so-so; they let the grass go and there was some sort of geese/duck poop ALL OVER. Overall it was a decent location, close to the main strip of businesses, marina, and little pier. Not a terrible choice, but I'd check out a different place next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaR517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We went to the Upper Peninsula to meet my sister who was coming from Iowa. This was the first of three hotels in three days and then three more hotels when we took our own family trip at the beginning of August 2011. Two years ago when we were in St. Ignace we stayed at the Budget Host Inn. I was planning on staying there again on that Friday and was trying to talk my sister into staying there as well on that Sunday, but when we saw the "gfriendly" (as it's called if you hover over it) rainbow flag on their site we decided to stay elsewhere. The breakfast is in a separate building from where our room was (as was the Best Western that we stayed in that Sunday night) which could have been an inconvenience in bad weather, but it was fine. As is usually the case (5 out of the 6 hotels in less than a month), the breakfast area was too small but I've come to expect that. People need to realize the breakfast area doesn't produce revenue for a hotel and will therefore be too small in most cases. The funky up and down steps to the different floor levels made me realize that an "accessible" room means there is access to an elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GangOfSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Hotel looks modern from outside and rooms have nice view of Straits of Mackinac. Entered room which had strong musty odor. My husband removed front cover to room air conditioner, and water was not draining and was collecting at bottom. Filter was filthy, needed to be cleaned. This is a health hazard to breathe musty, bacteria air. Room needs updating

Room Tip: Ask to see room before officially checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asimple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stay was very good, nice clean room with beach balcony. Pool kept clean and warm, used it every day. Breakfast was good. Location very good. Get $5. credit coupon for casino at front desk and you get additional $10 at casino as new member.

Room Tip: King size bed room with waterfront balcony as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzielin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent a couple of days at this site and found the site to be quite comfortable. Yes there are sea gulls outside the windows - other vacationers were feeding them which caused quite a ruckus.The room was comfortable, the internet was in and out and the tv worked. Our stay was quite a bargain for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gramps3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel was on the water & EVERY room looks out over the water & you can see Mackinaw Island (which was nice). The room was nice & clean on our stay. The breakfast was fantastic, best breakfast for the price of the hotel. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, you name it. The pool was very clean and nice also. The only thing people might complain about is that the beach was very dirty as there were seagulls and geese everywhere. Since we are a family with small children, this was fantastic! She loved feeding the gulls! :) If you want to swim, do it in the pool. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidMichiganMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
#20 of 29 in Saint Ignace
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
1.6 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $53 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing