We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been almost perfect”

The Galley Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Rochester, mi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It could have been almost perfect”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Almost everything was excellent: my whitefish, my wife's trout, our sides of sauteed mushrooms (fresh, not canned), and my wife's appetizer portion of whitefish livers!

The service, after a little gap at the beginning, was quick, friendly, courteous and attentive.

What wasn't excellent? One of the sides was a tossed salad. It was quite large and contained a decent mix of vegetables, but the lettuce was approximately 70 percent iceberg. One of my sides was sauteed green beans, wax beans and "baby" carrots. I think the beans were canned. If they had been fresh, the cook killed them. Upon request, my waitress quickly replaced this sad effort with a side of cole slaw.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank effell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    178
    102
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Love this restaurant!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food is great and the price is right. They always have fresh catch of the day and breakfast is wonderful too. Service is awesome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great - Must try!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great fish! Fern was a great waitress! Lots of food almost too much! Great value! Nothing we didn't like.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HudnHudn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Galley Restaurant St Ignace, Mich”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Decided to eat here after reading positive reviews.

Soft square rolls were brought to the table, which I found tasteless, rather like ones you can buy in a grocery store. The rolls are served warm, though. Not being from this area, yellow perch and walleye are new to me, so I ordered the grilled walleye, mushrooms and vegetables. My companion chose the fried perch, mashed potatoes and coleslaw. The first bite of the walleye tasted fishy, but I learned that was because I ate some of the skin which they keep on so it doesn't fall apart while grilling. Thought the rest was good, enjoyed the grilled mushrooms, but the baby carrots served with the string beans in my vegetable dish were hard to stab with my fork. My companion enjoyed his fried perch dinner.

The wait staff were very nice. I found the bathroom clean, but thought a change of stall doors would be
nice, as the lock didn't work and the doors themselves are short. I am 5'5" and when standing up could look right over the top.

We visited this restaurant May 11, 2013

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Waterside dining”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food was great. But it was the staff that made it so pleasant. You could sit and dine in the back deck and watch all of the ferries come and go from the island

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank theresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Restaurant also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Galley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing