We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of The Cedars Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedars Motel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on August 1st 2014 and found the Owners to be very friendly & accommodating. The room was clean, the bedding was clean, the towels were new and fluffy. The room had beautiful knotting pine wall, fireplace, frig, micro, newer tub & toilet. Very nice for the money!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cjvtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
35
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is not a 5 Star Motel in terms of amenities or modern touches, but our experience was definitely worth a 5 star rating. If you are looking for a chain hotel, this is not it. If you want a friendly, charming, "down-home" experience, this is a great choice. The price is amazing, the rooms are clean, the owners are friendly & helpful, and sitting around the campfire eating s'mores is a perfect way to end the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJay084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here years ago so when I needed a place to stay in the area for this vacation, it was a no brainer. You couldn't ask for cleaner rooms or better hosts. Rooms are just spotless, breakfast is great, had s'mores at the bonfire, and a great price. So great I got two rooms. It's nice staying at owner operated motels and keeping my money off Wall Street. One room for the kids and one for us. There is a special feeling about being in the U.P. and staying here just adds to it!!! Keep up the great work.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebeauc3067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This visit was just as nice as the last time. Room was clean, comfortable and Kathy & Tim make you feel welcome. I met some really nice people (other customers) too! It was neat to talk to them by the bonfire.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gottastartearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Cedars Motel and were more than pleased! Kathy and Tim go out of their way to make you feel very welcome. Very clean and has a cozy cabin feel! It was our first time in the UP and they gave us so many hints on where to go!! They didn't hesitate to sit down with you and have a cup of coffee or sit by the nightly bonfire and just relax. I LOVE THIS PLACE! We forgot our jackets there and they shipped them to us! Great people, great place, great vacation! The ONLY place I will stay in the UP! Thanks Kathy and Tim!! We will see you again, very soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHargis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

From far away, you don't know the hotels/motels in any area, and that is why TripAdvisor is so handy. Usually. "Ranked number 1 of 26" it says on this site. 57 reviews, no less.
The price wasn't bad, $49 I think, and the owners gave us coupons worth $10 each at the local Kewadin Casino. We would not have gone there without the coupons, however. So we won $13, and that knocked the price down some. And that was an "experience."
And yes, there is a campfire with supplies for S'mores. But to call this a 5 star motel makes one wonder who stayed here. Yes, the owners were nice. But...
1. It is a typical 1950s-1960s motorlodge. It probably has had new paint.
2. The floor in our room was uneven. I suspect termite damage.
3. The bathroom baseboard was peeling away and had been cleverly made of a thin baseboard that was meant to be glued directly to the wall instead glued to a spacer that held it a half-inch from the wall, with putty or caulk applied behind it.
4. The lack of electrical outlets was made up for by extension plugs enough to make any fire marshal shudder. But they did go to a small refrigerator in the room, and a microwave on top of it.
5. The shower had no light. Thank goodness the curtain was thin and let some light into the dinky area. No tub.
6. We went there on Sept 28th, 2013. While leaving the motel to get on the ferry, we drove by at least 10-15 hotels and motels, all in the same or cheaper price range, and all looking more modern. But they might not give out $10 coupons to the casino, and they aren't the closest one to it. This probably is. But if you want a lake view, or something closer to the ferries, go to Google earth and look along the street in downtown St. Ignace.... I snapped photos of some for future reference, and these included the K Royale, Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Inn, Wayside Motel, Budget Host Inn, San-Bar Motel, and others. Among those I would bet on the Holiday Inn and Comfort Inn if you want what looks closest to a modern hotel. The rest look dated.
7. The walls were thin. Very thin.
8. The orange juice was turned to wine. Now granted, there was free cereal and the milk was fresh. And there were Danish buns in plastic. No fresh pancakes, no fresh waffles.
Where am I going with this? Well, I just have to say that I'd not rule out staying there again ever, but I'd know what I was going to get. Oh, and the cedar rooms? Ours was stuccoed over and painted. But I saw no bugs.
Why the title? The next night we stayed at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. Both 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you want a real cedar room at the Cedars, you had better ask about that. I certify that I am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at The Cedars Motel and found it more than met our needs. We were in Room 5 and having the electric fireplace was a great bonus to take the chill off a cool night. Cathy who owns the motel with husband Tim was so pleasant and willing to answer questions. While the facility is older it is very clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
3.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#7 of 29 in Saint Ignace
232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Motel

Property: The Cedars Motel
Address: 2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a stone's throw away from the Kewadin Casino. Whether you want to stroll down the mile long boardwalk in downtown St Ignace, or travel one of the ferry's to Mackinac Island, we are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing