We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedars Motel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during Mini Over the Mack rally. The owners go out of their way to make sure your stay is enoyable. Rooms are in knotty pine, kept very clean. We felt like we were in a cabin in the woods. Gave us a $5 credit to use at casino and ended up winning some money. Smores over the nightly bonfire were fun to make. Donut holes in morning are delicious too. We would return if we ever get up that way again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've stayed at the Cedars for only one night in August 2013. The owners are really nice and are doing a great job at keeping the place spotless. Wi-fi is included as well as a very descent breakfast for a motel (not usual for this kind of price), it always nice to start the day with something in your stomach rather than having to go straight to a restaurant. If you are looking for a place to stay during your next stay in the UP, whether it is to visit Mackinac Island or the UP itself, the Cedars is a great place!

Room Tip: We were told by the owners that rooms 1,3 & 5 were the best. We got room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our room had a rustic cabin feel. Well maintained, extremely comfortable and clean. If you're looking for luxury accommodations, go elsewhere, but I am here to say that this place beats out any of the "name brand" places I've stayed!

In the mornings, they provide a continental breakfast of varied selections but the donut holes alone were worth getting up early for, not sure why but they were so addicting. Each morning, we were greeted with kind hellos and smiles.

Kathy and Tim go out of their way to make this a pleasant place for their guests and it's obvious. We enjoyed sitting around their campfire the nights we were there. She provides s'mores and kind conversation and he provides good stories that make ya laugh! They are also awesome to give information about activities in the UP, really helpful if you aren't familiar with the area. The nicest people ever. You can't find that kind of hospitality anywhere! We were a little sad to have to check out.

Thanks for such an awesome 3 nights, guys! Enjoy Florida!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyLacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We drove up to the U.P. so we can go to Mackinac Island. St Ignace was our departure point.
The location was great by the way.....It was right off the interstate. You drive about a 1/4 mile and you reach the city limits which immediately leads into downtown where all the ferry docks are at.
The area is gorgeous and quiet. The motel is very clean, pleasantly rustic, and every night the owners get a fire going so the guests, if they choose to, can make smores (they provide everything you need for the smores of course..the ingredients, sticks, plates ,etc)
The motel offers a simple but satisfying breakfast, wifi, and a good assortment of cable channels.
The rooms are great! They have a great outdoors cabin feel to them with all the comforts and amenities of a modern motel.
The owners are equally great. We stayed for three nights and two of the nights we sat around the fire with them, talked, and ate smores. You won't find this kind of hospitality and genuine friendliness at most of the hotels you stay at. It was a truly enjoyable and memorable experience.
I highly recommend this place to anybody. Great place at a great rate. I believe we paid between 65 and 70 dollars a night. One of the better rates in the area.
Also, I'd like to congratulate the owners for out ranking most of the big hotel chains in the area. WOOHOO! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OHTravel_Junkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Cedars for a quick two day gettaway and weren't disappointed. We loved the warmth and friendliness we felt from Tim and Kathy and appreciated our well kept, clean, and adorable room. My wife loved the fluffy towels and our comfortable bed was appreciated after a long day of hiking and exploring.The commradarie of the evening campfire with s'mores was a highlight for us especially when Kathy busted out the jumbo marshmellows!. It's a great spot to use as a home base while you explore the UP. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our room was small no ceader walls they were old dingy plaster box spring had black mold on them host very nice cheap and not in town look at the map way out of town on past city limits very close to kewadin casino gives $5 credit at casino did not take pictures due to not having phone if you don't believe me book room 6

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here July 19 and 20th 2013. This is a nice little motel, VERY clean and cozy! The knotty pine room was very welcoming and comfortable. This is just what we needed for our visit to the area, very close to the casino, restaurants and area attractions. Thank you Tim and Kathy, we had a great stay and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
82 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Motel

Address: 2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a stone's throw away from the Kewadin Casino. Whether you want to stroll down the mile long boardwalk in downtown St Ignace, or travel one of the ferry's to Mackinac Island, we are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing