We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could stay longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cedars Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedars Motel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I could stay longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great room and very cozy with fireplace! Coffee & breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaniegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

there is so much to say I don't know where to start. the room was adorable and clean. there was a refrigerator and microwave and coffee pot in our room. the owners also let us use their gas grill to cook on. there is a convenient store across the street that sells the best meats for grilling. they also sell a ton of pasta salad and side dishes, very reasonably priced, homemade and
fantastic. the motel is so nice and cozy. we enjoyed the horseshoes, picnic table, bon fires at night, and making smores.
the owners tim and kathy, are so helpful with directions and answering any of your questions you might have about where to go or what to do in or around
the area. The prices are more than reasonable. so remember to
leave a big tip. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling up north. I think I forgot to mention the awesome continental breakfast and free wifi.
The only bad thing about our trip was we had to come home. Wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

A comfortable motel: not only in the physical sense, but because Kathy and Tim do some little 'extras'. A campfire at night, s'mores and great company! Kathy had some great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. Kathy is very friendly and just plain down to earth! Our room had a little sitting area with 2 chairs, 2 tables and the TV. It was a very relaxing stay. Located at the north end of town and away from the tourists walking the sidewalks of town, so it was quiet. We enjoyed sitting out at night visiting with our neighbors.
We hope Kathy and Tim will be a great success in this business ( they are on the right track!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runningingoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at this great little family owned motel in July, and found it to be a great value. The motel was close to the casino and still close to town;very easy to get to from the interstate. The woners Tim and Kathy were very friendly and personable, and gave us great recommendations on places to eat. We really liked St Ignace for it's small town feel nad the great fireworks they have over the bay every Saturday all summer long.
Our room was very clean and included a small fridge to store dinner leftovers. The owners also provided a nice breakfast each morning in the office as well as a campfire in the evening complete with s'mores. And the price was great as well. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyvan457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARQUETTE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

As an international traveler you can imagine how wonderful it is to find this gem of a place! St. Ignace is my home town and although I do not live here anymore the Cedar's is my home away from home every time I visit. The friendly owners Kathy and Tim are the best! The rooms are super clean, the price is very reasonable, the Casino is just around the corner, yes-complimentary breakfast, and they conveniently have Wi-Fi. It's cozy.....brings back the ambiance of yesteryear before the "big" motels took over. Over the years I have traveled quite extensively, have stayed on every strata of the chain from 1 (dumps) to 10 (castles, Grand Hotel-5 times) and I would give the Cedar's a big 10! Maybe I'll see you there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Azaharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Wonderful stay! First this has been the cleanest "mom and pop" motel we have ever stayed in! Our room was spotless, the sheets smelled freshly washed no dust or cobwebs! They are a 11 room motel away from the hustle and bustle of town but still within close range to go where ever your destination is. Beach, Mackinac Island, or locally in St Ignace. Our room was perfect for us, we felt like we were in a little cabin- it had cedar walls and log like headboard/footboards and chair. There was a coffee pot, microwave, refridge and tv of course ( I think we only had it on once so busy sightseeing). They have a cute lobby/breakfast area and serve breakfast every morning. They have french toast, bagels, cereal, different breads to toast, milk coffee and orange juice. Tim and Kathy (the owners) are supper nice and very helpful if you have any questions. They also provide a bonfire every evening with smores mmmm! They even come out and sit around the fire and visit with their guests. There is a convienence store across the street, we bought hot dogs and roasted them over the fire too. Our daughter enjoyed going to see them at breakfast and sharing with them the things she did and bought while we were out and about in the local town and surrounding area. She had colored a picture to give them of what we see around our house (a barn) and they even put it in a frame and hung it up in the breakfast area. How sweet is that! There were pretty flowers and the lawn was well kept too. You can see the pride they have in their motel! We would recommend this wonderful motel to anyone who wants a nice quiet get away! We plan on staying here again if we are lucky to get back to northern Michigan. Thank you Tim and Kathy for helping make our trip wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmkp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell,Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We have been going to Cedars motel for many years. And the new owners Tim and Cathy are just as great as the previous owners. It's our pleasure to know them. They go out of their way to please everyone. we think it's the best out there. Very friendly people with great personalities. And clean motel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandylee550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
#20 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.1 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Motel

Property: The Cedars Motel
Address: 2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a stone's throw away from the Kewadin Casino. Whether you want to stroll down the mile long boardwalk in downtown St Ignace, or travel one of the ferry's to Mackinac Island, we are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing